Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so what happened under the bridge this morning

• 23-02-2009 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭

Walking into the IT bldg at about 11:15, there were hundreds of students under the Quincentennial bridge, then there was a kid swimming downstream and a copper jumped in to rescue him.

what is gods name was happenin ? it looked awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

I believe what you witnessed was the start of RAG Week 2009.

Good Luck!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Did the garda strip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

According to a thread on the Sin Boards, he got out. Ridiculous carry on, as usual. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭KStaford

snubbleste wrote: »
    Did the garda strip?

no, he waded in up to his neck in more or less full uniform. We thought the kid was dead when they pulled him/her out as they just lay on the ground without moving for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭synacron trion

From what I saw, and I saw most of it. 2 lads were holding onto an inflatable boat. They let go of the boat and tried swimming to the Terryland edge of the river. One lad was ok, he was swimming fine but the other lad wasn't good at all. When they were somewhat close to the edge the bad swimmer was in real difficulty. At that point a Garda came down and another person and they both pulled the kid out. He was lying down for a while but that would of just been from lack of breath and shock.

Stupidity imo.

how did they get in the water itfp? did they jump from the bridge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭synacron trion

KStaford wrote: »
    how did they get in the water itfp? did they jump from the bridge?

Probably or else they got in the inflatable boat on the edge and paddled in and then fell out of the boat and couldn't get back in. We saw other people jump in before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

I heard they were sitting on the railings of the bridge drinking and one of them fell and pulled the other one with them.
    Probably just a rumour though.

I know the guy who jumped in to help out, he wasn't too pleased at getting soaked having to pull out a drunken eejit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dellboy2007

I know the guy who jumped in to help out, he wasn't too pleased at getting soaked having to pull out a drunken eejit!

He should have left him there so....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Jurphy1202

It was great craic.
    If ya wanna get a taste of the atmosphere there check out my videos on youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/user/GrittyMcCheese

Jurphy1202 wrote: »
    It was great craic.

yeah......the videos are literally unwatchable due to the absolutely awful quality, you can however just about make out the fact that you are watching a group of Neanderthal feral youngsters. So well done to you on both counts. The world is surely enriched by your very presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

It was great craic.

Would you have said the same thing if someone had drowned?

yeah......the videos are literally unwatchable due to the absolutely awful quality, you can however just about make out the fact that you are watching a group of Neanderthal feral youngsters. So well done to you on both counts. The world is surely enriched by your very presence.

Thanks. Ya, the quality is terrible it's just the camera on my phone... But at least you were able to make out what was going on.

"a group of Neanderthal feral youngsters" = Students.

snaps wrote: »
    Would you have said the same thing if someone had drowned?

Obviously not......

What a stupid thing to say.

A disgrace to rhetorical questions everywhere.

Thanks. Ya, the quality is terrible it's just the camera on my phone... But at least you were able to make out what was going on.

methinks you may have missed my sarcasm. so well done on three counts. I personally think you lot are a bunch of idiots. You made the campus an unpleasent place to be during the week.

So you are able to get drunk and shout abuse at me and other passers by whilst waving your mighty cans, well done you. I'd love to see any one of you behave like that if you were on your own as opposed to beng conjoined to your groups of "Neanderthal feral youngsters".

fcukin idiots

methinks you may have missed my sarcasm. so well done on three counts. I personally think you lot are a bunch of idiots. You made the campus an unpleasent place to be during the week.

So you are able to get drunk and shout abuse at me and other passers by whilst waving your mighty cans, well done you. I'd love to see any one of you behave like that if you were on your own.

fcukin idiots

No I'm afraid it's my own sarcasm which was lost through the medium of text.

You're entitled to your opinion. It's a sh!t one though, you sound like the kind of person that needs to loosen up big-time.

As for the shouting abuse and waving cans. I didnt witness any of that nevermind participate.

And WHHHHYYYY would someone behave like that on there own? That'd be no craic at all sure!
    An even more pressing question...Why would you love to see it??:confused:

Ya stuck-up Fcukhead.(There's some abuse for ya since you started it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

I'm a student, and to be honest I cringe when watching those videos.

Jumping up and down with your hands in the air all "singing" together? LOL.

You do realize how sad / stupid you look?

I'm a student, and to be honest I cringe when watching those videos.

Jumping up and down with your hands in the air all "singing" together? LOL.

You do realize how sad / stupid you look?

Do YOU realize how much fun every single one of those people were having, not giving a flying fcuk what sad bastards on boards.ie think?

In all honesty guy the videos you are referring to are of inside GPO monday afternoon of rag week so what else would you have expected to see in a video like that?

Another person that needs to loosen up.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Kieran, your on a college campus at rag week. Surely you of all people know exactly what goes on and should be expecting exactly this.

Jurphy1202 with your postcount how about you refrain dragging the "I dont care what people from boards.ie think" attitude around with you? You might last longer that way.

Do YOU realize how much fun every single one of those people were having, not giving a flying fcuk what sad bastards on boards.ie think?

In all honesty guy the videos you are referring to are of inside GPO monday afternoon of rag week so what else would you have expected to see in a video like that?

Another person that needs to loosen up.

Well, you must be extremely easily pleased if you find "fun" in the simple fact that you are drunk and shouting.

I'm plenty loose thank you.

Well, you must be extremely easily pleased if you find "fun" in the simple fact that you are drunk and shouting.

I'm plenty loose thank you.

You have no idea, man.

LOL, no I've a fair idea.

I've been in plenty of drunken situations where everyone around is jumping up and down singing without any backing music but no matter how drunk I am I just can't see the entertainment in it. The only word that comes to mind is "cringeworthy".

I don't mind people having fun, but I just don't understand how people find the mere fact that they are drunk something hilarious and mad. They go around with their shouting and general demeanor as if to say "LOOK at MEEE, I'm SOOO DRUNK!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Because they're 'adults' working within the confines of the limbic node due to alcohol and hence act like children.