Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soccer match Poker Forum v Boxing Forum date and venue TBC.

• 23-02-2009 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭

Ok lads as I mentioned in the other thread the Poker Forum have a soccer team that has already played and beat the Soccer Forum. I am in the early stages of arranging a match against the Boxing Forum and was just wondering who would be interested? I can do all the organizing but if others want to help they are more the welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

Im on for it anyway (assuming that it's held on a sunday and not too early in the day). Im a RB. The last 2 matches were held in Leister Celtics ground, the pitch has it's drawbacks but it's easy to find and nowhere near as hard on the legs as some other pitches so it's a good option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Yeah, I'll play. Right back or right/centre midfield.

Yeah, if this goes ahead Leicester Celtics pitch is probably best.

You can get the details here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭bobbyg

Colly10 as you have already played them I am hoping you will be able to help tactically.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

depending on the date count me in.

So interested people so far are Me, TKO, Menoscemo, Colly10 and MBC. Any more takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

yea depending on the date - am near Leicester's astro ground

is that the Astro pitch or grass you're on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

if the date suited i'd be on..centre mid :)

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Yep id be on also........play anywhere.........utility man :D except goalie ;)

If need numbers id have a few mates who would also be interested. 2 more for defo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭adamburke83

MBC wrote: »
    Yep id be on also........play anywhere.........utility man :D except goalie ;)

If need numbers id have a few mates who would also be interested. 2 more for defo.

depending on the date i will be interested and anytime after the 18th of march i could get a few boxers to actually play too, really get the boxing forum going

Super, would any of the Highlands be interested? I know Paddy use to play for Ballycragh, I played for the 2 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

impress us all and get the Hyland brothers down! :D

If the game was in Leicester City instead of Leicester Road then I'd put my name down for right wing!

bobbyg wrote: »
    Super, would any of the Highlands be interested? I know Paddy use to play for Ballycragh, I played for the 2 years ago.

yeah i know for a fact they would but its all depending on the date as pajo and eddie are in new york in training camp for their fights in march and paulie is training for his fight on friday, but any time after their fights and i can garentee them to play :D:D

joker77 wrote: »
    yea depending on the date - am near Leicester's astro ground

is that the Astro pitch or grass you're on about?

I am not sure if it's astro or grass, Colly10 might be able to answer this one. I think they have played on astro the last two times but if the weather is good they would probably prefer grass.

Ok so interested people so far

Bobbyg
    Colly10
    Menoscemo
    TKO
    Joker77
    Cowzerp
    MBC + a couple of ringers if needed
    Adamburke83 + a couple of ringers if needed

8 players so far. I think the priority should be to try get 11 people that post on the forum, but if we can't manage this I am sure the poker forum won't mind us playing a couple of ringers. The Poker forum have a couple of other possible matches lined up so I am not sure of the date yet. It will definitely be a Sunday anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

I am not sure if it's astro or grass, Colly10 might be able to answer this one. I think they have played on astro the last two times but if the weather is good they would probably prefer grass.

It's an astro pitch, probably the safest option cause ye never know what the weathers going to be like on the day. It would be difficult to get a grass pitch both because of insurance reasons and because no team would be likely to be willing to have their pitch wrecked by a team not involved with their club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

GL with this guys....i heard one of my fellow poker team mates Kayroo was calling you a bunch of sissys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Sugerraysarah

i can be a cheer leader im pretty hot and could bring my friends to cheer for the boxing lads goooooooo boxing forum he he !!!!

Pics please;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Pics please;)

You heard the man Sugarraysarah :p

Lads Sunday the 29th of March has been suggested as a possible date for the match, how does this suit people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Lads Sunday the 29th of March has been suggested as a possible date for the match, how does this suit people?

what time? I'm in Dublin for the fight that weekend - I could show ye me silky silks

maybe SRS could show us her silky silks as well! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

sound grand, hope we can get the numbers together....

ALL COOL HERE, LET ME KNOW IF YOU NEED THE RINGERS TOO:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

yeah sure count me in if im available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭mits2006

This must b an omen 29th my birthday count me in,if space,mid r forward, post on poker also,love to stick it to them,venue i presume dublin r surrounding areas,pm r post dead on.Ps i kick ass.

SHIP,SHIP

Bobby get me in there

Updated list.

Bobbyg
    Colly10
    Menoscemo
    TKO
    Joker77
    Cowzerp
    Dr_MaSoN
    mits2006

So it looks like we have a possible 10 players from Boards if everyone can play + possible ringers. This match should definitely go ahead now. The time suggested is 2-4 or 4-6, I personally prefer 2-4 but I can play either time. I think we will sort out positions once everything has been confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

bump, any movement on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I'm out as i'm fighting on the 4th of april so cant risk playing just before it! :(

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

bump, any movement on this?

We will probably have a better idea next week so hopefully we can confirm the game then, I know you lot have a pretty hectic schedule.

Updated list.

Bobbyg
    Colly10
    Menoscemo
    TKO
    Joker77
    Dr_MaSoN
    mits2006

With cowzerp out we still have a posbbile 9 + ringers. Hopefully we can get this game arranged by next week for the end of the month.

Bump.

OK, we challenge you to a game etc etc on March 22nd. How would that suit everyone?

I can't do the 22nd I will be on a stags, but if it suits everyone else maybe someone else can organize the team and get this game on.

29th is an option also.