Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda confidential line

• 23-02-2009 7:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

Hi, I'm new here so please forgive me if this is in the wrong forum.

I need to know..is the garda confidential line ALWAYS confidential..even if someone is in immediate danger? and can it ever be brought up for legal reasons what you said in the call. I need reassurance about this.

Sorry,if its a ridiculous questions, I just really need to call them and soon. Thank you in advance.

Also..how do they act on this information..if lets say you are calling about sexual abuse or rape that happened years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I presume its confidential. Its not called the Garda Hot Line or anything similar.

If its really important. Then it shouldn't really matter if they know it was you or not.

Call them before what ever is about to happen does happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Jaysus, if someone is in danger will you call the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 boards.iemember

I meant the children,if you get the drift.

I'm a kid, my parents wouldn't believe me or allow me to call the gardai.

...and thank you rabies,.much appreciated x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Perhaps this should be moved to Emergency Services, as there's a few Gardaí there that might know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I meant the children,if you get the drift.

I'm a kid, my parents wouldn't believe me or allow me to call the gardai.
    Who's in trouble here? What kind of trouble?

If you dont feel comfortable calling the Gardai and it isnt life threatening try http://www.childline.ie

If someone is in immediate danger you should call the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

The Garda confidential line is not always answered. If you call a Garda station they can request your name but you are not obliged to provide your name. Its only for reporting purposes.

Thanks very much everyone..I'll call them now. and yes overheal its more the case of a predator than life threatening.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Moved to Emergency services. If this isn't the right place, I am not sure where is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭cpstears

Contact your local station and tell them whatever the problem is. If they ask for your name you can decline to give it and the call will just be reported anonomusly however you might be better talking to the Garda on the phone and explaining your situation he/she can give you the options relating to the case and you can still always decline to give your name if you wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

OP if there is someone in need of help and it is not life threatening & of a confidential nature then act on the advice in #7. If you can't speak to your parents & don't feel comfortable when talking to Gardai, then confide in a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Trojan911 wrote: »
    What a complete load of nonsense your post is.

OP if there is someone in need of help and it is not life threatening & of a confidential nature then act on the advice in #7. If you can't speak to your parents & don't feel comfortable when talking to Gardai, then confide in a teacher.

OP do consider talking with another adult if you feel you cannot talk to your parents such as teacher, aunt, uncle etc Anyone you can trust. You could call the Confidential Line of you wished as thats what it is there for or you could go to your local station and ask to speak to someone in confidence. You do not have to give your name but you can get advice.

If none of these appeal to you, Childline.ie could also be a good place to start.