Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hope some day we kop ourselves on.

• 22-02-2009 10:56pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

I've just been reading about the 11 year old that shot dead his fathers pregnant girlfriend. The poor woman then being found by her 4 year daughter.
    (Story here)

As a father of a child of four years I find such incidents strike too close to home. Very sad.
    Who on earth designed a shotgun for kids? Madness.

Will we (as a species) ever learn! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Biggins wrote: »

That sounds like absolute bull from sky that it was designed for kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Very sad tragic story .

Makes me gald we dont have access to firearms ,legal or otherwise as much as they do in America .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Will Americans ever learn! :(

Fixed your post for you, Americans thinking they have the right to have guns and stuff like this happening all the time its crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

I can't remember if it was the state prosecutor or the local police spokesman - but he mentioned that the child could look forward to spending the rest of his life behind bars..

I take it he meant the rest of his childhood?
    Vain wrote: »
    Fixed your post for you, Americans thinking they have the right to have guns and stuff like this happening all the time its crazy.

Because Ireland has no child shooters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

<fps-mode>

Ns.

</end fps-mode>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Tragic, but why post it in After Hours?! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I think it's the attitude that "I can kill someone I don't like" that needs addressing rather than the chosen method of exectuion, tbh.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭gandhi123

...kop..

Come on the 'Pool..

On topic:

How'd an 11 year old even get a gun??:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

That sounds like absolute bull from sky that it was designed for kids

Wanna bet?

Check here: Click

O' and we just can't blame one nation - Britain: Click here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I think it's the attitude that "I can kill someone I don't like" that needs addressing rather than the chosen method of exectuion, tbh.

Yes but more than likely its all done in the heat of the moment because they have such easy access to guys.

They charged him as an adult. Sounds good to me. We could learn from this type of stuff.

A la that little knacker in East Wall a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

It's not the first and it will not be the last time these happens, the world is filled with bad people...

The boy is a child but he will be tried as an adult, i see some people arguing that he shouldn't be. He's 11 and old enough to know what guns do...

Jeez, what's the world turning into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yes but more than likely its all done in the heat of the moment because they have such easy access to guys.

Excellent typo!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

No. Thats whats creates them in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm just glad that we don't have access to car's like them americans do, we'd all be running each other over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

latchyco wrote: »
    Very sad tragic story .

Makes me gald we dont have access to firearms ,legal or otherwise as much as they do in America .

yet, today someone was shot in the carpark of the Garda Sports and Social Club in broad daylight.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0222/westmanstown.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I've just been reading about the 11 year old that shot dead his fathers pregnant girlfriend. The poor woman then being found by her 4 year daughter.
    (Story here)

As a father of a child of four years I find such incidents strike too close to home. Very sad.

Will we (as Americans) ever learn! :(

FYP.

Doesn't happen here, except in Limerick.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

(Story here)

Worry not. In the future, we will spend our lives wrapped in bullet proof bubble-wrap, and will hop to the Garda station to have our meat cut for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

"The 20-gauge shotgun used in the shooting is designed specifically for children, and such weapons do not have to be registered."

What the flying fúck.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    They charged him as an adult. Sounds good to me. We could learn from this type of stuff.
    The headline should have been corrected to read "Eleven year old man charged with murder"?

Raises the issue: At what age should a child be charged as an adult to face trial for murder? A grand poll item? What's the magic number?

Should the father be charged too as an accessory to murder? If this was a street crime by age 17 or older adults in Ireland and someone was supplying guns to aid in the commission of a crime, would they also be charged?

Another issue: If this 11 year old boy is now ruled an "adult" and (if by some trick of fate or solicitor magic) he is not convicted, then should he be allowed to sign legal contracts and drink in a pub like any other "adult?"

EDIT: In the States you can sign legal contracts at 18 and can enlist in the military and die for your country. But you cannot drink a beer until 21. So you are "adult" enough to drive a tank blowing things up, or get into debt up to your earlobes, but can't have a cool one while watching a football game?

The headline should have been corrected to read "Eleven year old man charged with murder"?

Raises the issue: At what age should a child be charged as an adult to face trial for murder? A grand poll item? What's the magic number?

Incorrect. The question is - 'What temperature does the lynch mob have to reach so that we can charge children as adults?'. In America, depending on the state, it can be fairly low. However even the Brits have been known to get all fired up.....the two in the Jamie Bulger case were charged as adults, as I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

In the States you can sign legal contracts at 18 and can enlist in the military and die for your country. But you cannot drink a beer until 21. So you are "adult" enough to drive a tank blowing things up, or get into debt up to your earlobes, but can't have a cool one while watching a football game?
    Old enough to defend it, not old enough to enjoy it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Nodin wrote: »
    Incorrect. The question is - 'What temperature does the lynch mob have to reach so that we can charge children as adults?'. In America, depending on the state, it can be fairly low. However even the Brits have been known to get all fired up.....the two in the Jamie Bulger case were charged as adults, as I recall.
    Do they get an entry in the Guinness World Book of Records if they sentence this 11-year old "adult" to death? They will certainly beat former Governor Jeb Bush's State of Florida, where they sentenced a 13-year old to death.

Was it last week in the States that a 1 1/2 year old pushed a button on a washing machine with her older sister inside, resulting in her sister's death? Should she be tried as an adult? If not, then what's the magic age?

I know a lad in his twenties that I think is terribly immature. A college graduate too. If I were a judge in the States, could I rule him to be tried as a child?

I've always been fascinated with how people come up with the age magic number, beyond which you can do this and that, and be held accountable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Was it last week in the States that a 1 1/2 year old pushed a button on a washing machine with her older sister inside, resulting in her sister's death? Should she be tried as an adult? If not, then what's the magic age?

I think it's safe to say you'll never be tried as an adult.

O theres other ones he can play. For instance the 'Clearly Sane' game where people with life long histories of mental illness are judged to have been in full command of their faculties during some crime or other.....All becoming another notch in the belt of thrice elected DA Mr Hang M High....

Of course the other question is why the fvck a shotgun and ammunition was left around without being secured.....Clear negligence there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

(Story here)

first thing i thought when i opened that link....

is that kid a bit like the one who killed that jamie boy at a train tracks years ago

yeah i loved terminator 2 too

john:we're not going to make it are we
    arnie: bing bong syntax error in line 7
    john: humans i mean
    arnie: its in your nature to destroy yourselves
    john: cool man
    arnie: BSOD
    arnie: creating dump file
    arnie: heeeevve
    arnie: plop
    john: eeeeew

right i better go to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

latchyco wrote: »

You might be surprised to know that there is a large enough group of people in Ireland that own legally held pistols....

they even have a forum on boards, the law got relaxed around 2004 and there was a worrisome explosion in demand

And they are extremely protective of their 'sport' the minister tried to change the law a few months ago, and they went ape****

Only a matter of time if you ask me before we see a similar accident or worse....

delop wrote: »
    You (.....)matter of time if you ask me before we see a similar accident or worse....

Responsible adults with licensed firearms? O NOES!!!!!!!!!

Seeing as most car crashes involve men under 30, will we stop them from driving, or is that "different"?

Stekelly wrote: »
    I think it's safe to say you'll never be tried as an adult.
    Or you as a comedian?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Screw those crazy Americans, let them kill eachother off as far as I'm concerned.