Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green woolen jumpers?!

• 22-02-2009 8:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭

just wondering is the old green woolen jumper synonymous with the F.C.A. still standard issue to the rdf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Tribunius

No it was supposed to be replaced by the norwegian shirt. Basically a green fleece that only has a zip from the neck to about a quarter the way down the front. People still wear it though.

Incidentally the norwegian shirt is up for replacement with a dpm fleece in the next year or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭-boris

Shame i was rather fond of those jumpers,I'll just have to make due with the norwegian so!I was already issued with the dpm's,how much service do you get the fleece after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

-boris wrote: »
    Shame i was rather fond of those jumpers,I'll just have to make due with the norwegian so!I was already issued with the dpm's,how much service do you get the fleece after?

The Fleece is no longer on the scale of issue, if anyone is getting them, it is simply to get them out of stores.

The norgie is great though, it will keep you warm and is rather comfortable.

The Fleece is no longer on the scale of issue, if anyone is getting them, it is simply to get them out of stores.

The norgie is great though, it will keep you warm and is rather comfortable.

I thought the norweigan and the fleece were the same thing,as in a norweigan fleece?

Wait, you haven't been issues a Norgie???? Get on to your Chain of Command. That is part of the initial issue.

(technically the norgie is not a fleece, Fleece is something made from some animal hair. Which is why I refer to the Jumper as a Fleece.)

Ask your Cpl about it, if they lie and say you will get it when you need it, say you need it now.

Norgie is inital issue, so get it.

http://www.rdfra.ie/Misc/scale.shtml#AR

This is what you are due. (anything without a letter after it.), Use your common sense though when asking for stuff. Do NOT Demand, or you will never get it. There is some stuff there that you will not actually get, such as Gloves, Wollen. But get yourself a better pair anyway, woolen gloves are fairly useless IMO.

Also, with regard to the bit that says 1 year and such. That does not mean that you get a new pair of pants every year. It means that if, after 1 year of having those pants they get damaged, that you get a new pair, and you RETURN the old pair, I advise though that if you are handed a new pant's, do not open your mouth, and don't return a pair unless asked for. If they need replacing within their Nominal life, (After 1 year), then you have to pay the cost of replacing.

This is how it was explained to me. May not be all true, but it's how I was told.

Wait, you haven't been issues a Norgie???? Get on to your Chain of Command. That is part of the initial issue.

(technically the norgie is not a fleece, Fleece is something made from some animal hair. Which is why I refer to the Jumper as a Fleece.)

Ask your Cpl about it, if they lie and say you will get it when you need it, say you need it now.

Norgie is inital issue, so get it.

Tried that route.Was told ,we should be thankful for the dpm'sicon11.gif(minus name tags i might add)

Your Cpl. said that??? he's a bollix, say it your your Cadre, they might help you out, if you have nice guys like I do!!!!

Your Cpl. has a duty of care, and by not fighting for what you are due, he is not doing his job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Gunny Hartman

Dazz, you don't know the whole story about it sure maybe the corporal is down kit too and can't get some himself. You know as well as I do that it's a nightmare trying to get anything from the army at the best of times because there is an attitude with the stores staff that they own everything in the stores...

"Hi CQ, Could I get a cap badge?"

"But then I will only have 873 left... Not today bud wait until we get in another delivery"

Seriously store staff need to realise that the stuff is there to be handed out to the troops it is not their own personal property what if the ration store staff were like that :P

Well that's my moan over.

GH

Dazz, you don't know the whole story about it sure maybe the corporal is down kit too and can't get some himself. You know as well as I do that it's a nightmare trying to get anything from the army at the best of times because there is an attitude with the stores staff that they own everything in the stores...

"But then I will only have 873 left... Not today bud wait until we get in another delivery"

Seriously store staff need to realise that the stuff is there to be handed out to the troops it is not their own personal property what if the ration store staff were like that :P

GH

In fairness, Cap-badges are actually deadly to get now anyway!!! apparently there are feck all in the country!!!

But this is a Norgie, a basic piece of kit, and that Cpl. is being a bollix, from what Boris said I gather the Cpl. didn't even enquire about it.

Therefore the Cpl. did not do his job.

I am lucky enough to have a good working relationship with my Cadre so I just tell them if I NEED something, and if they can get me it they will. I never ask if I just want something. But I would see a Norgie as something that is NEEDED. And in fairness, the nature of the RDF is for everyone to be down something, but a norgie is too important.

Gunny, I will assume you have done exercises? Just think you are on stag with no Norgie at 5 in the morning on some mountain in the Glen of Imaal, that is not OK and is a failure in the system.

This particular cpl certainly does not have a problem with sourcing kit!on the contrary overheard 2 sgt's bitching to each other "dunno were cpl x was but he got a full issue of new kit!"a few weeks ago!He even has 2 smocks!

GH

Stores are for storing, if it were for issuing, it would be called issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

We got our Norgies after about a year in.We never really needed it until we got them,but we where lucky with our camps having the best weather the whole summer!

I got mine before tactics and found it was great.I was never too warm or too cold,and that was with 3 layers on!

But keep hassleing your NCOs for essentials you are missing.Our Cadre staff have told us if you need something dont be afraid to keep asking them until they get it for you,and in fairness they always come through for us.

We got our Norgies after about a year in.We never really needed it until we got them,but we where lucky with our camps having the best weather the whole summer!

I got mine before tactics and found it was great.I was never too warm or too cold,and that was with 3 layers on!

But keep hassleing your NCOs for essentials you are missing.Our Cadre staff have told us if you need something dont be afraid to keep asking them until they get it for you,and in fairness they always come through for us.

I know people who have turned this into an Art. They ask enough for it to be on the mind of the Cadre, but without pestering them so that they hate you. And NEVER EVER Demand stuff unless it is a dire situation, and the fact of the matter is, if the situation is that bad, then maybe you should consider talking to your RDFRA rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I know people who have turned this into an Art. They ask enough for it to be on the mind of the Cadre, but without pestering them so that they hate you. And NEVER EVER Demand stuff unless it is a dire situation, and the fact of the matter is, if the situation is that bad, then maybe you should consider talking to your RDFRA rep.

Exactly.The Cadre staff have told us if we keep pestering them about pointless stuff we will be told;)

As they said aswell,sometimes they need reminding,but in our case they usually have things in order so there is no need to ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Can't be bothered reading the whole thread..p!ssed in charge of a PC:D Big fan of the woolies, I loved them..except when they got wet, by zuez they were hard work then! Funny I was handed one recently by a mate who is Ex PDF, he was clearing out some of his old gear...brought a smile to an ole gits face I tell ya. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Gunny, I will assume you have done exercises? Just think you are on stag with no Norgie at 5 in the morning on some mountain in the Glen of Imaal, that is not OK and is a failure in the system.

In fairness, if you're on stag well then the last thing you'd wanna be wearing is a norgie. They're absolutely ****e.

Poccington wrote: »
    In fairness, if you're on stag well then the last thing you'd wanna be wearing is a norgie. They're absolutely ****e.

I like them:(

In fact, I find them fantastic, I am naturally warm anyway, rarely get cold. But a Norgie kept me going during the summer at 5 am while freezing my Bollix off, and then a few days later at a festival that I was working a night shift!!!

I like them:(

In fact, I find them fantastic, I am naturally warm anyway, rarely get cold. But a Norgie kept me going during the summer at 5 am while freezing my Bollix off, and then a few days later at a festival that I was working a night shift!!!

Just wait till you're in a trench in the middle of winter with a nice bit of rain in the mix... You'll learn to hate them :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Ah things have changed. I remember having to buy a bottle green jumper in Dunne's Stores.

When I joined the FCA years ago. I was issued with a No 1 blouse, trousers with button flies, a pair of boots, a greatcoat, a beret that had been returned to stores and somehow or other a pair of infantry badges. That was it.

No shirts, ties, web equipment or combats needless to say. We had to buy our combats from Silvermans. I wore a nice ex British army Combat Jacket matched with an old US army paratroopers trousers. I bought my own web belt.

Ah those were the days! You young people don't know how lucky you are. Norwegians indeed, fleeces? What a luxury!:D

I heard that back in the day you had to carve your mess tin from rock and instead of boots you had to make slippers from bears fur... After you killed the bear with a piece of string of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Rubbish Poccy, we used china plates, we weren't completely uncivilised you know!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Gunny Hartman

Jaysus just wait for the influx of auld sweats "I remember when the fire station in the curragh was a bucket of sand" :P

Just going back to the guy with the kit problem looks like you have to get onto your cadre so!

I think the fleece is better than norgie just for the fact that it is easier to put it on and take it off I have one of the wollen jumpers and someone hit the nail on the head with the fact that they are grand in dry weather but when it rains forget about it.