Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I did it!

• 22-02-2009 11:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭

Hey. I bought a bike (second hand) on Christmas eve and being honest I haven't been out in it much at all. I decided yesterday to get my ass down to Joe Daly's Cycles to buy a helmet and cycling tights and then to hit the road. They were very nice in the shop and very motivating so I said 'feck it' i'm going to take a spin out to Enniskerry.

Bein honest by the time I had reached the top of Sandyford road I felt like turning around :eek:, I thought my lungs where going to pop out. Anyways I kept at it and made it!! I am so happy I did it [apart from my ass is killing me today].

I am 26, Female and I used to love cycling when I was young, in fact myself and my mountian bike used to go everywhere together! I think i'v fallen in love again. :)

Congrats and, eh, welcome :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭uturnin6weeks

Cheers Myth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Go for it girl! :) Well done. It only gets easyer. :)

EDIT: get some cycling shorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Well done! I was just showing this post to my girlfriend to motivate her! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭rughdh

Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

yes, unsurprisingly for a poster on this forum I think bikes are great. You should come out on a boards spin sometime. I went for the first time yesterday and it was challenging but fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Well done! I was just showing this post to my girlfriend to motivate her! :D

I'd say she liked that:

"Why can't you be more like her??"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭paddy's hill

Well done, keep it up, as Caroline said it only gets easier.

Hey all,

Thanks a mill for the nice words! I would love to come out for a spin with ye crew (however, I think I will need to get a little more fit before that do that). I bought the padded pants but still in a bit of pain today! Feck it, it will pass! :pac:

Oh by the way-do you know where I could by a ladies jersey?

Cheers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Oh by the way-do you know where I could by a ladies jersey?

www.wiggle.co.uk has a women section with women specilfic gear, so does chainreactioncycles.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I am 26, Female and I used to love cycling when I was young

Stop that. I had a nightmare last night that I was halfway to fifty. I woke up and it was true. And I only started counting at 20.

Age is no excuse with cycling. Start working on some better ones :pac:

Lumen wrote: »
    Stop that. I had a nightmare last night that I was halfway to fifty. I woke up and it was true. And I only started counting at 20.

lol... I re-read by post and I did sound a bit like an auld one 'when I was young' - maybe I should have said a few said a few years ago :p.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I'd say she liked that:

"Why can't you be more like her??"

hahaha if i had said that i wouldn't be writing now :D Nah, we were browsing together today looking for a bike for her (you ll see a thread coming soon :D)

AstraMonti wrote: »
    hahaha if i had said that i wouldn't be writing now :D Nah, we were browsing together today looking for a bike for her (you ll see a thread coming soon :D)

:) - If its any use - I bought my bike on adverts.ie for €200 quid its a good bike it is second hand buy you'd think it was new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

I'm completely new to cycling. but decided recently to give it a go. so dove in head first trawled adverts for a decent deal. picked her up today. the guy i bought her from hasn't been on her in a bit so the brakes are loose, gears are very finiky, seat is too low and there is a whole load of stuff on the handlears that kept getting in the way. it'll take a bit of work but must say "AWESOME" can't wait to get on it again. props to the cyclists!
    J

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Bein honest by the time I had reached the top of Sandyford road I felt like turning around :eek:, I thought my lungs where going to pop out.

No harm is stopping for a few minutes to "check" that the front wheel is still there. ;)

Congratulations. It's all uphill from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

Húrin wrote: »
    You should come out on a boards spin sometime. I went for the first time yesterday and it was challenging but fun.

Ah here now, she's only just getting back up on the bike after a long absence. The boards spins arent exactly for beginners, I couldnt keep up with the pace at all the one time I went out, and felt a bit intimidated (sorry, just being honest) when everyone else had clipless pedals, lyrca shorts, bike computers, cycling jerseys etc, when I was just in normal clothes with a bag on my back (with sandwiches and crisps if we stopped somewhere :D).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Lumen wrote: »

Give up with the "when I was young" sh%&!!! Speaking as someone who only took to cycling in a meaningful way three years on the right side of forty, this is making me think that I should be scoping out carbon-fibre zimmer frames not bikes!!!