Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please help don't know if pregnant or not

• 19-02-2009 10:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭

hi all,

just like to know has anyone else has this problem other then me..

i have missed quite a few pills already this month and having a very active sex life on top of this
    i have had some very light bleeding lasting a a few days now more of drops rather than a flow, and when i wipe its like a darkish brown

i have 2 children already and my tummy has got larger and is beginning to shape like im pregnant like i was with my other 2 (all to the fronth)

i have done tests and was negivate
    ive went to doc who done test also neg..
    said it cud be because of irragular pill taken or possible pregnant

please help as both my boyfriend and me is going of our heads wondering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

could be your imagination playing tricks on you. or you could be. how far gone would you be?it's not that uncommon for women to get false positives early on,even in the docs.perhaps ask him to do bloodwork?it would be more sensitive to hormone levels than urine. or get an internal examination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

get a 2nd opinion, go see another GP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

Do another test....

Its very irresponsible of you to miss 'a few' pills and continue to have regular sex if you dont want to get pregnant....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Alan Noir

As far as i'm aware your body can have a 'phantom pregnancy' brought on by stress or something. your body thinks and acts lke you're pregnant but you are not.

Go see a doctor, something seems wrong anyway.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

At the risk of repeating everyone else on this thread.........go see another doctor. There's such a thing as a false negative in pregnancy tests, or it could have been too early to test. Either way, nobody on the internet is going to be able to tell you if you are pregnant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Exactly as other posters said. Go see your doctor again.

If test is still showing negetive show the doctor your bump, get him to do all his doctor type "hands on" tests. If youre still not convinced, ask for a scan. Im sure they wont refuse it.

As for you skipping the pill, if you dont want to be pregnant take it responsibily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

The spotting could be down to missing your pill..are you due your period? your rounded tummy could be bloatedness.

As you have already seen the doc, Id relax and wait a week and do another test.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭sardineta

The colour is shedding of the inner lining of the uterus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If by chance you're not pregnant, then please cop the f*ck on in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Tipsygypsy

When was you last proper period?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 biddy3

I used to get spotting when on microlight because the level/dose was not strong enough. because you forgot to take pill a few times the pill isn't working properly and your hormone levels have dropped resulting in the spotting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭puglover

OP go see your GP again, ask to have bloods taken to test HCG levels. If it's very early they may not be high enough to register on a urine test. That's the only definite answer you are going to get. If it's only this month it would proabably be much too early to show on a scan and a bump generally wouldn't be showing either(not unheard of though).

As for those of you reprimanding her... who do you think you are? Girl has asked for advice not your opinion on her sex life & contraception!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Seriously like... Boards needs a USB pregnancy key or something. WE DON'T KNOW. But yes you could be. Go to the doctor and read 'how pregnancy happens' stickie on this board.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Seriously like... Boards needs a USB pregnancy key or something. WE DON'T KNOW. But yes you could be. Go to the doctor and read 'how pregnancy happens' stickie on this board.

Pee on the mouse, if it goes on fire you're pregnant. ;)

I think somebody's already mentioned it, but a blood test should tell for sure either way. If you're missing pills and still having unprotected sex, maybe you should consider an alternative form of contraception like the coil or implanon if having a child is not an option. Otherwise, don't have sex if you miss a pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭sardineta

Of course, if you find yourself missing pills, vaginal sex is not the only option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

glezo wrote: »
    hi all,

just like to know has anyone else has this problem other then me..

i have missed quite a few pills already this month and having a very active sex life on top of this
    i have had some very light bleeding lasting a a few days now more of drops rather than a flow, and when i wipe its like a darkish brown

i have 2 children already and my tummy has got larger and is beginning to shape like im pregnant like i was with my other 2 (all to the fronth)

i have done tests and was negivate
    ive went to doc who done test also neg..
    said it cud be because of irragular pill taken or possible pregnant

please help as both my boyfriend and me is going of our heads wondering

I really, really hope you're not.

Spotting could be a sign of implantation bleeding or could be a result of the missed pills.

If you are pregnant, the doctor will calculate you as being 4 weeks gone as of the date of your missed period so, if you haven't missed a period yet, you're probably far too early to start to "show".
    If you're not sue your period for another 4+ days, it's far too early for a home test to give an accurate result.

And for god's sake, stop having unprotected sex if you and your boyfriend aren't prepared to have another child. If you're not good at remembering to take your pill, there's Implanon, the coil, contraceptive injections and patches and even sterilisation to consider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭glezo

thanks for all your POSSITIVE responsives..
    but for starters i didnt ask ye to tell me if i was pregnant or not but just to see has anyone else this problem before happen them ???

as for the fact of been irrsponsible not taken pill and to cop on, we do want a baby but just haven taught about when we do just yet so saying that being pregnant would not be a bad thing for us

Stop taking the pill then.

thanks for all your POSSITIVE responsives..
    but for starters i didnt ask ye to tell me if i was pregnant or not but just to see has anyone else this problem before happen them ???

TBH, there's a fairly limited amount of advice people can give you in that regard, in case it's construed as giving medical advice.

thanks toots i know not many people can give me big advice on this topic but it was just incase any one else was foolish enough like me to keep having sex even though i know i was in risk..

but as ive said even doh if i am pregant its not the end of the world, im still only young (29) and love my 2 kids to bits and always wanted more..

i just went on this to ask advice thats all not to get bulled out of it by people saying how stupid i was..
    im old enough to know whats right or wrong and wat i want at this stage of my life

but thanks for all who posted replys negivate and posative :rolleyes:
    its really helped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭MadelineNYC

The big question is have you actually missed your period? If you did the test *after* your period was due, then much more likely to be correct.

When you do the test, use the first urine of the morning...Any hormones would be more concentrated. I also find it easier to pee in the cup and then dip the test in per the intructions...Less room for error than trying to pee directly on the stick.

Finally, until you find out for sure, you should probably live as if you were pregnant (no alchohol etc...) because it sounds like you would keep the baby if you were pregnant.

If it were me I'd wait until after my period was due and do one more home test. Then give it a week and if you still feel strange, go back to the doctor. It could be all sorts of reasons...bloating, stress, gastrointestinal problems, missing the pills, other gyno issues besides being pregnant etc etc.

The big question is have you actually missed your period? If you did the test *after* your period was due, then much more likely to be correct.

When you do the test, use the first urine of the morning...Any hormones would be more concentrated. I also find it easier to pee in the cup and then dip the test in per the intructions...Less room for error than trying to pee directly on the stick.

Finally, until you find out for sure, you should probably live as if you were pregnant (no alchohol etc...) because it sounds like you would keep the baby if you were pregnant.

If it were me I'd wait until after my period was due and do one more home test. Then give it a week and if you still feel strange, go back to the doctor. It could be all sorts of reasons...bloating, stress, gastrointestinal problems, missing the pills, other gyno issues besides being pregnant etc etc.

no period due on tueday so i have to wait untill then to know for sure, even doh some people still have peroids while been pregnant so even if i do get it i be still iffy, as my tummy is the main concern with me now
    been honest im doing weight watchers at the moment and since i stared i have been putting on weigh few lbs every wk even doh im eating right and walking??

oh ya i would def be keeping it, secertly when i done the test and the result was neg.. my heart sank
    silly i know

but ya have to wait till i see will the period come next wk

cheers madeline

hi back again, just to ask
    something else happened 2day hard to explain but, my tummy feels very sore (not pain)all day 2day and heavy feeling

any advice

something else happened 2day hard to explain but, my tummy feels very sore (not pain)all day 2day and heavy feeling

any advice
    Yep, go to a doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

any advice

that sounds like mild period pains??maybe your period is arriving.i'd say your system is fecked around from missing pills.

Yep, go to a doctor.

im a bit weary bout going to the doctor as she was
    very off putting the last day i went down to ask advice

i think i just wait and see at this stage stop the pack 2day so only a wk to wait

What about going to one of the well woman centres? Or maybe finding another GP, it's not worth getting stressed out over. It's really annoying when Doc's put you off when you ask for medical advice, that's what they're there for!!

Toots85 wrote: »
    What about going to one of the well woman centres? Or maybe finding another GP, it's not worth getting stressed out over. It's really annoying when Doc's put you off when you ask for medical advice, that's what they're there for!!

thanks toots, your prob only one of very little who actually has been nice to me relating to this topic,

i dont know where or even who these well woman centres are i never heard of them before..

i couldn belive when i went into her to explain my suitation and how arrogonant she was towards me, its not as if im a child thats possibly having a child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

oh ya i would def be keeping it, secertly when i done the test and the result was neg.. my heart sank
    silly i know

It's not silly, once your partner knows you feel like this. So ye can make a decision together whether or not it is the right time for a baby. Missing pills etc and the above comment makes it sound like you want to be pregnant and your partner doesn't have much say in it.

registerun wrote: »
    It's not silly, once your partner knows you feel like this. So ye can make a decision together whether or not it is the right time for a baby. Missing pills etc and the above comment makes it sound like you want to be pregnant and your partner doesn't have much say in it.

been honest i prefer him having a say in it,
    the mother of his little girl just used him to have a child and broke up as soon as she found out she was pregnant, then got back with her ex

so for that case im afraid he thinks its round 2 again (same all over again)

What county do you live in? Here's a link to the Golden Pages page for the well woman clinics in dublin. AFAIK 'Well Woman' group only have clinics in Dublin, but if you're elsewhere your local family planning clinic would be the ideal place to go. I'd imagine they'd be much more approachable as this is their area of expertise and see people who are unsure whether or not they're pregnant every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

we do want a baby but just haven taught about when we do just yet so saying that being pregnant would not be a bad thing for us

Aren't you the same poster that said that she "hadn't a hope of making a decent monthly payment" in relation to bills that you currently owe in another PI thread?

If you can't afford to pay your bills at the moment having another child would not be a responsible and/or wise decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

been honest i prefer him having a say in it,
    the mother of his little girl just used him to have a child and broke up as soon as she found out she was pregnant, then got back with her ex

so for that case im afraid he thinks its round 2 again (same all over again)

If you want a baby come off the pill or dice with fire like you are so doing and just continue to keep missing them.....coming off it is preferable, you are messing with your body by not taking it consistently.

If you don't want to become pregnant than I advise you take the pill as instructed.

It's hardly rocket science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Some pregnancy tests will now give a positive result up to six days before your period is due.

Get a test tomorrow, and whilst your at it, make an appointment with your doctor. No one here can tell you why you're having symptoms X, Y and Z.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Aren't you the same poster that said that she "hadn't a hope of making a decent monthly payment" in relation to bills that you currently owe in another PI thread?

If you can't afford to pay your bills at the moment having another child would not be a responsible and/or wise decision.

nope that was'nt me thank god, financelly im in a gud paying job, and well able to provide for my kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

im a bit weary bout going to the doctor as she was
    very off putting the last day i went down to ask advice

i think i just wait and see at this stage stop the pack 2day so only a wk to wait

Go to another doctor.
    Some doctors lately seem not bothered with problems and concerns of patients. so move to another doctor your confortable with

Go to another doctor.
    Some doctors lately seem not bothered with problems and concerns of patients. so move to another doctor your confortable with

ya it looks that way, as long as their getting paid at the end of wk..

well im going to doc in 45 minutes as the bleeding has started up again today, brownish very little bleed
    not a period doh as i only came of the pill yesterday

so get her to do another test and see