Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He's Back!

• 19-02-2009 10:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭

The speculation is over. Tiger Woods has finally set the date -- he will return to the PGA TOUR next week to play the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship in Tucson, Ariz.

Woods made the announcement on his Web site Thursday afternoon.

It will be Tiger's first tournament since winning the U.S. Open last June at Torrey Pines.

Let the hype commence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Nice one, could be a good match between himself and McIlroy in the third round if the unnoficial draw was correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

excellent
    i suspect he'll be somewhat rusty next weekend but have laid some cash on him for a 2009 grandslam

what do ya think of that paddy?
    i hope hes signed long term deals with wilson, kartel etc

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I somehow don't feel that you calling him 'paddy' is a term of endearment.
    If your only purpose here is post (more) snide and spiteful comments about any particular golfer, let alone PH, you won't last much longer here.

Great to see Tiger back... and glad that he seems to have plenty of time to get ready ahead of The Masters

not gonna go down that route again licksy

my point is, and has been, that golf is tiger woods
    without tiger woods, the game means little and counts for little

most of the purists have simply discounted the last 9 months
    i'm not posting to downgrade any of paddys achievements last year, just bringing a touch of reality to them

anyways, lets leave it at that and simply look forward to a great wkend of golf next time round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

conno16 wrote: »

most of the purists have simply discounted the last 9 months

And the 200 years prior to Woods' birth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

And the 200 years prior to Woods' birth?

cant believe you guys are even justifying with this air head !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭BunkerMentality

For the PGA tour, the sponsors and the casual fans that might be true seeing as TV ratings and attendance is always higher when Woods is playing.

I've actually enjoyed watching the PGA tour with Tiger out just because you get to see a lot more of the other players, there's a bit to much time spent on Tiger Watch when he's around.

Don't get me wrong though, he's good to watch as well cause he's a brilliant, brilliant player

having to endure the likes of ian poulter etc over the last few months has been a struggle i'll admit

in modern day sports, i cant think of anyone who is so far superior to his peers than tiger (mick jordan was prob the last athlete to assume such a role/function)
    his control of the golf ball is beautiful to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

Don't feed the troll lads! Can't wait to see Tiger back in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

without tiger woods, the game means little and counts for little

Stupid statement if I ever saw one. Yeah I love the majors and love to see Woods play but I'm just as happy to watch a European Tour event every week over most of the crap coverage we get from the US.

obviously entitled to your own opinion f22

some people like watching college football as opposed to the nfl
    each to their own i say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

in modern day sports, i cant think of anyone who is so far superior to his peers than tiger (mick jordan was prob the last athlete to assume such a role/function)

Actually, if we take 'modern' as arbitrarily meaning the last 20 years, there have been all sorts of stars who dominated over their peers in all sorts of sports.

Michael Phelps, Michael Schumacher, Steven Hendry, Usain Bolt, Lance Armstrong, Martina Navratilova, Phil taylor.... I'm sure there's many more.

Michael Phelps - fair enough
    Michael Schumacher - surely you mean ferarri?
    Steven Hendry - c'mon! winning 4/5 world championships is like winning one golf grandslam
    Usain Bolt - c'mon! one olympics my friend??
    Lance Armstrong - ahem, not sure i want to comment on this
    Martina Navratilova - fair enough, but her domination was shortlived bigtime in comparison to tigers reign
    Phil taylor - barnie, anyone?

Have to laugh at "athlete" and "Phil Taylor" bit in the one discussion. :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Fantastic thats he's back and i think he picked the right tournament to return to because as we all know he's a demon at matchplay (excluding ryder cups of course). Ill never forget the hammering he imposed on stuart cink last year. I had a bet on cabrera to win it. Would love to see tiger face McIlroy next week, think rory would do the business.

Michael Schumacher - surely you mean ferarri?

No, I mean Michael Schumacher. Unless Ferrari won the 'driver's' championships and unless all prior and subsequent ferrari drivers have dominated like Schumacher.
    Steven Hendry - c'mon! winning 4/5 world championships is like winning one golf grandslam

Exactly ... an amazing feat ... and one that's never been achieved in golf.
    Usain Bolt - c'mon! one olympics my friend??

Try to remain on point; it being that there are people completely dominating particular sports. Bolt is completely dominating sprinting.
    Lance Armstrong - ahem, not sure i want to comment on this

Please do.
    Martina Navratilova - fair enough, but her domination was shortlived bigtime in comparison to tigers reign

You're surprisingly ignorant of sporting history. Navratilova won her first grand slam title in 1978 and her last in 1990. A twelve year reign in tennis is astounding given the physical nature of the sport. Woods, to date, has had a similar 11-year span of domination and may have more, but the sports are not comparable in terms of how long you can remain at the top due the difference in the physical reuirements. Actually an ESPN survey looking at degree of sporting difficulty based on endurance, strength, power, speed, agility, flexibility, nerve, durability, hand-eye coordination and analytic aptitude placed tennis as 7th most demanding. Golf was 51st, one place ahead of cheerleading!!!

Navratilova's domination was not by any criteria shortlived. I believe it to be more than comparable to Woods.
    Phil taylor - barnie, anyone?

Predictable. And by the way, no-one mentioned 'athlete' and domination. We were intereseted in people who dominated their sports. Darts is a sport - please do argue this point if you disagree.

Actually, like it or not, it is closer to golf than golf is to, say, soccer. It is based primarily on precise motor coordination and doesn't rely on brute force or serious cardiovascular fitness. All sorts of sports have or could have overweight people competing professionally unless snooker, archery, bowling, and (shock) golf are not sports.

You could add Sergey Bubka to that list...
    When Tiger was aged 1 and a half and probably picking up a club for the first time, Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson were having a not-too-shabby battle around Turnberry.
    To say that the game of Golf "is Tiger" and "without Tiger counts for little" goes down as the most moronic thing I've read in quite a while. To me, Tiger is the best I've seen and well on the way to being the best ever but I don't get the mentality where you basically discount the achievements of everyone else who's played the game ever and rubbish everyone else who is currently playing because they don't match up to the best.
    Why can't you just be glad that he's back, enjoy the fact that you are getting to see him play (how lucky are we).

Licksy wrote: »
    To say that the game of Golf "is Tiger" and "without Tiger counts for little" goes down as the most moronic thing I've read in quite a while.

Surely you've read some of his other posts?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

For the sake of not having to read his drivel and not having to explain to newcomers that he lives under a bridge, can we just ban him from the Golf forum please?

The trigger finger is itchy....
    He's had a warning about being snide and spiteful and now one for being moronic...
    We love a good debate here and nothing wrong with having your favourite golfer and also nothing wrong with not liking a particular sports-person... but when you add all that up into the mix you still have to justify yourself with some decent argument.
    I'm even prepared to ignore the "I'm not going down that road again..." and then off down the road he goes anyway...
    He has the chance to stick around and contribute. Whether he takes up that opportunity we'll see...

I'm getting very bored of him now too. I'm all for a bit of debate and banter but virtually every popst he's made (not just on golf) is for effect. You say black, he'll say white, with nothing constructive to back it up.

Is it really Ollieryanisold back from the dead? If not, they must be related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Not at all. I've made my feelings about Harrington pretty clear.

I admire his dedication, and all his achievements and my Irish pride will always want him to do well.

Having said that, I find the chap quite dull and his play doesn't excite me in a way that the play and carisma of other golfers, past and present does.

My personal opinion, which many would disagree with but doesn't offend or annoy others!

As above there is no issue with being 'critical' of any player. You can dislike Poulter because he wears union jack underpants (probably) or Boo Weekley because he's 'brash' or Harrington because he's dull or whatever your having yourself.
    The reason I said "let alone PH" is that 80% of his posts in here are trolling and flaming, claiming that a 3 time Major winner was previously obscure, a choker and lucky that tiger was injured since that meant he had 'nobody' to beat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Great news about Tiger,can't wait for next week now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

please get rid of that messer,
    its just a tedious boring run of drivel that interferes with some threads and takes them off on a tangent ......imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

+ 1 for this

Every thread he comments on he infects with his tripe and takes it off topic.
    Absolute Plank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭gerp

It will be so cool to see him in action yet again and match play i think is brilliant to watch.

Anyone remember last year Arron Bradley V Tiger one the best match play games of all time.

Roll on next week.

Had to bump this with this info ... Simon Barnes in The Times obviously reads this forum and this thread .... this today on Woods not even coming close to Ali as the Greatest sportsman ever including:

All the same, I am prepared to put Woods among the very highest that his kind of sport has to offer. Not as great as Muhammad Ali, no. But every bit as great as Stephen Hendry, every bit the equal of Phil “The Power” Taylor.