Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rdf application?

• 19-02-2009 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

rang for an application form 4 weeks ago and still havent got 1 out, how can i get one in a hurry anyone know? in galway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

They won't actually send an application.

KOTJ will be back later I assume he knows when what is on in Galway.

But you will HAVE to go up to the Barracks and sign up in person, ASAP, because otherwise you won't be in in time for Summer Camp.

So go up next week, depending which unit you want to go to, and sign up.

Is Renmore your Nearest training center??? If so, then you have a choice of; Medic's, Engineers, Transport or Infantry Spt Coy's.

I know the medic's in Galway are on Thursday night. I don't know about the rest. As I said, KOTJ may know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 conor46

cheers, ya renmore! didnt know there was a choice, what would the difference in training weeks etc betwwen transport and infantry?? do you know what time would be best to call in? i called before and was given the number i rang to be told an application form would be in the post!

745 on whatever night the respective training is on.

It's all basically the same until you are a 3* anyway. So that won't matter right now.

KOTJ would know more than me about the kind of people in the units in Renmore, if they had been based there I would have advised you join the 54 FAR, but they aren't!

Transport eventually learn to drive. Infantry do more "soldiering". That's all I can really say on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What is the age limit for the RDF again?

I was in it for 5+ years, due to college I left it, got an active discharge. I never got any papers for it though. Since I am in Dublin I would like to join up again in the not so distant future. Has much changed in the last 7 years?

27 is the age limit. (actually I could be wrong here, as I was talking to a female member from Drogheda a few months ago who told me she joined when she was 30, She is now an officer, she joined 6 years ago.)

I was not in it 7 years ago, but apparently, according to the minister, we are now a more Capable, better equipped, etc.

So yes we are probably better, trained and equipped, but apparently all the craic is gone. (i.e. Camps are not just piss-ups, work is done)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

What is the age limit for the RDF again?

I was in it for 5+ years, due to college I left it, got an active discharge. I never got any papers for it though. Since I am in Dublin I would like to join up again in the not so distant future. Has much changed in the last 7 years?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

So yes we are probably better, trained and equipped, but apparently all the craic is gone. (i.e. Camps are not just piss-ups, work is done)

Some of us think the work is the craic but anyway...

Rew wrote: »
    Some of us think the work is the craic but anyway...

I happen to be one of those, I was just quoting the oldies.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

I happen to be one of those, I was just quoting the oldies.

Sorry, lost in translation.

Rew wrote: »
    Sorry, lost in translation.

My fault, I put in no Quote indicators. I apologise!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

In the "old days" in my "old Unit" we did the work THEN went on the piss THEN did more more work then went on the piss THEN did more work etc etc

We we just harder b***tards than your normal run of the mill FCA man ;) we could do both equally as well :)

In the "old days" in my "old Unit" we did the work THEN went on the piss THEN did more more work then went on the piss THEN did more work etc etc

We we just harder b***tards than your normal run of the mill FCA man ;) we could do both equally as well :)

Former 23 Bn???? You come across there as one of "THOSE" lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Former 23 Bn???? You come across there as one of "THOSE" lads.

Aw Jasus noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!

Feck sake !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No I wasn't...............hate heights...........could never jump out of a plane without a parachute :)

Oh the humilation of this thinking I was 23rd Bn :(

13th Bn I was, and in my heart always will be :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 matty888

Could someone tell me where to go if im looking to join the reserves? im in the wexford area??it seems to be all further up the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I'm not in the RDF but going off their unit locator

http://www.military.ie/reserves/locator/index.htm

it seems the only unit is the 33 Infantry Battalion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

matty888 wrote: »
    Could someone tell me where to go if im looking to join the reserves? im in the wexford area??it seems to be all further up the country?

There is a unit in wexford, call down to them some day.

Think its wednesdays at 8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭greenarrow

I think there is an RDF unit based in Gorey.
    But I am not 100% on that because I am PDF myself.

matty888 wrote: »

Wexford have both the Bn HQ and HQ Coy of 33 Infantry Bn. They train on wednesdays in the military Barracks in Wexford.

Head up on Wednesday at 745. I don't actually know anything about this unit but here is their page on the RDF Bde website.

http://www.1bderdf.com/33infbn.htm

if i went to renmore barracks tomorrow at around 12 would i be able fill out an application there?

conor46 wrote: »
    if i went to renmore barracks tomorrow at around 12 would i be able fill out an application there?

No, not for RDF. You have to go up to the Unit you want to join.

i do want to join in renmore tho! im living in galway!

conor46 wrote: »
    i do want to join in renmore tho! im living in galway!

Yes, but you will have to go up to Renmore barracks on a Parade night. I don't know when the Units in Renmore parade, except for their medics, which is Thursday at 745.

If you want medic's then go up then. If you don't want them, find out when the other units parade. Just check which unit you want to join. There are 4 in Renmore.

Check here http://military.ie/reserves/locator/index.htm

and get the number, (Click the unit Flash), and ring tomorrow morning at 10 am. This is the perfect time to catch Cadre staff, both in a good mood, and usually in the office. So ring then.

Ask them are they recruiting, then ask them when they Parade and when you can come up to join.

I cannot make this any simpler. There is no way to sign up during the day.

Yes, but you will have to go up to Renmore barracks on a Parade night. I don't know when the Units in Renmore parade, except for their medics, which is Thursday at 745.

If you want medic's then go up then. If you don't want them, find out when the other units parade. Just check which unit you want to join. There are 4 in Renmore.

Check here http://military.ie/reserves/locator/index.htm

and get the number, (Click the unit Flash), and ring tomorrow morning at 10 am. This is the perfect time to catch Cadre staff, both in a good mood, and usually in the office. So ring then.

Ask them are they recruiting, then ask them when they Parade and when you can come up to join.

I cannot make this any simpler. There is no way to sign up during the day.

yup thats spot on info, cheers for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

I'm looking to join the RDF at my local barracks in Rathmines and I know you have to drop down during training, which in the case of 62 Inf Bn is on Wednesday evenings. But they reccommend you e-mail them beforehand as you won't be allowed in without a military escort. I e-mailed them yesterday but haven't gotten a reply today, if I don't receive one by tomorrow does anyone know if it would still be ok to just show up to enlist?

Jim236 wrote: »
    I'm looking to join the RDF at my local barracks in Rathmines and I know you have to drop down during training, which in the case of 62 Inf Bn(B Company) is on Wednesday evenings. But they reccommend you e-mail them beforehand as you won't be allowed in without a military escort. I e-mailed them yesterday but haven't gotten a reply today, if I don't receive one by tomorrow does anyone know if it would still be ok to just show up to enlist?

Ya, just go up and say to the Guard that you would like to join the RDF. Be respectful and nice, don't go up looking like a Scumbag, or they might decide to not let you past the gate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

I'm looking to join the RDF at my local barracks in Rathmines and I know you have to drop down during training, which in the case of 62 Inf Bn is on Wednesday evenings. But they reccommend you e-mail them beforehand as you won't be allowed in without a military escort. I e-mailed them yesterday but haven't gotten a reply today, if I don't receive one by tomorrow does anyone know if it would still be ok to just show up to enlist?

Theres a guy from BCoy 62 Inf Bn thats post here sometimes.

Convieniently his username is Bcoy62bn

He left some info in this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055264876

If you are turning up without contacting them make sure you get the Parade night right and ask the Army NCO on the gate if he could get in touch with someone from the unit. If you show up around the 1930 mark there should be RDF troops going in so the Gate Policeman could grab one of them for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Thanks for the replies lads. I've sent a text to the number given in that topic, hopefully I'll hear something from them. If not I'll just drop down tomorrow and do as yeh said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭steyr fan

D & Sp Coy's parade every Tues night, in CBB Rathmines; there are RDF at the gate that will escort you to the office to sign. Anytime between 7.30 & 8pm.