Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a first time car?

• 19-02-2009 7:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭

Just wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a cheap first time car. Im 23 guy and have started a new job and need to get in and out, im the middle of getting a full licence, so have started to consider what car to get, I want to spend less than 4k but I don't want to get anythin that is particularly associated with boy racers or considered girly, quite the feat i know, I was thinking a 1.6 astra maybe in around 2000. You guys have any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

astra are a grand yoke. What about a focus. Great car them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

I've a 1.4 Astra at the moment, have it 3 years now and its solid as a rock. I started with a Polo myself, two of them actually, and I'd highly recommend one to a beginner. There not synonymous with boy racers and i think they just about escape the "hairdressers" tag! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭mac_attack

seanybiker wrote: »
    astra are a grand yoke. What about a focus. Great car them.

Yeah had a few of my friends suggest the focus, seems like a nice car alrite, still a bit more partial to the astra tho..

dceire wrote: »
    I've a 1.4 Astra at the moment, have it 3 years now and its solid as a rock. I started with a Polo myself, two of them actually, and I'd highly recommend one to a beginner. There not synonymous with boy racers and i think they just about escape the "hairdressers" tag! :D

A golf probably would be the most sensible choice for a begginer's car, probably explains why there is two of them parked in next door belonging to my similarly aged cousins and they are long shot from being hairdressers haha.:rolleyes: Also all my driving experinece so far has been in Golf's aswell come to think of it. What's the astra like? My dad has a Vectra and thing hasn't given any trouble yet and its a 99, so Im somewhat biased towards the astra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Tbh, start of with something like a 99 Polo, without powersteering. Learn to drive that, and you will be able to drive anything.

Minimal cost of repairs, nothing to go wrong. I really couldn't reccomend one any more. Have your few scrapes and bumps and sell it on again.

Tbh, start of with something like a 99 Polo, without powersteering. Learn to drive that, and you will be able to drive anything.

Minimal cost of repairs, nothing to go wrong. I really couldn't reccomend one any more. Have your few scrapes and bumps and sell it on again.

Thats a fair point, especially about the bumps and scrapes, just as long as it is to my own car haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

mac_attack wrote: »
    Thats a fair point, especially about the bumps and scrapes, just as long as it is to my own car haha

Exactly. The likes of scraping it off the wall coming into your driveway, kurbing the wheels etc. Minimal costs to run as well, low tax, low insurance, low everything:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

A golf probably would be the most sensible choice for a begginer's car

a golf from 98 to 02 are known to have reliability issues mainly electronic as I found out myself. Polo, astra or focus sound like good choices like all the previous posters have pointed out.

If it was me I would go for the focus. Just checked carzone for a 3dr. a bit expensive at 4500. Should get cheaper than that.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/3-Door-H/200906191744252/advert

A golf probably would be the most sensible choice for a begginer's car, probably explains why there is two of them parked in next door belonging to my similarly aged cousins and they are long shot from being hairdressers haha.:rolleyes: Also all my driving experinece so far has been in Golf's aswell come to think of it. What's the astra like? My dad has a Vectra and thing hasn't given any trouble yet and its a 99, so Im somewhat biased towards the astra.

The astra's a decent all rounder a bit sluggish at times but nothing you wouldn't expect from a 1.4. One of my mates had a golf of the same year (00) and i found it even more sluggish than the astra.

As for the Focus, I haven't driven one for more than a few minutes but I've heard that there a nice car to drive especially the 1.6

+ 1
    Having had 2 98' Polo's there solid in every sense of the word. My first one was written off by a knacker in a Starlet & I walked away unscratched, my Polo was hit head on.

Neither of them had power-steering but the car is so small that it doesnt make much of a difference as the steering isn't that heavy. Any car with PS is a doddle after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 MITSIRULES

Hmm, Ive been told the Golf 1.4 burn alot of oil and could end up causing you a fortune. Opel well i need i say anymore!!!
    You need something reliable that wont cost you an arm and a leg.
    Check this out no picture yet but sounds like a good buy one that would be hard to find???
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mitsubishi/Lancer/1.3-GLX-/200908191877069/advert

Only a 1.3 and not molested !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I would recommend the Ford Fiesta 1.25 litre, sweet little car and alot of 2000 to 2002 models were really well equipped with things like cd player, alloy wheels and air conditioning. 1.25 litre Zetec engine is very peppy too and the Fiesta is a nice car to drive.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

Can't go wrong with a Seat Ibiza. Similar to a polo without looking like a box :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭draycottgirlz

start small, as you will have lots to get used to. Lots of bargains out there for small motors too. If you feel confident enough after awhile you can always get something bigger.

But I would recommend starting small and slow, and graduating, it will help in terms of costs too!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

peugeot 405. or something else without power steering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

If its your first time insured your gonna get screwed on insurance on anything over 1.3