Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Su President

• 19-02-2009 4:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭

So who is everyone here voting for? Might be a good preview of what to expect on election day..

Who will you vote for SU President? 24 votes

Simon Greene
    0% 0 votes
    Brian Murphy
    37% 9 votes
    John Shevlin
    45% 11 votes
    Ross Barratt
    4% 1 vote
    Don't Know
    0% 0 votes
    Re-open Nominations (i.e. none of these guys)
    0% 0 votes
    I won't vote
    12% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

The usual lineup....

They should make candidates publish their transcripts and work experience, awful waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

All the manifestos are pretty similar, but I've found Brian Murphy to be the most genuine and endearing of all the candidates I've spoken to tbh.

Also, nuimsu.com poll for all candidates HERE

banquo wrote: »
    All the manifestos are pretty similar, but I've found Brian Murphy to be the most genuine and endearing of all the candidates I've spoken to tbh.

Also, nuimsu.com poll for all candidates HERE

I may be cynical, but my expectations decline every year.

This year was the most uncritical I have seen, which given the scale of change facing us is astounding; the canteen employment issue, fees, senior administration pay, lecture sizes, tutorial elimination, admissions procedures and supports......

The spoke..... I remember making time to read it back in first year

With the exception of Natasha, I didnt see much capability on any of the other fronts

And the candidates..... A serious chunk of change goes into the sabattical positions and facilities every year; they should treat it no differently to any other paid position with responsibility - candidates CV's, transcripts, work experience should be completely disclosed to trim off the wasters.

If I could, I would give a vote to someone who could guarantee to return the union to an external critical voice, rather than a token seat on the various councils. I havent seen one since I started here.

An external review body for the SU is a really good idea. A real one, not a dummy one.

CVs, transcripts etc should also be made public. They give you a pretty good idea of what kind of person you're voting for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

As banjaxed as the Union of Students in Ireland is, it can only be fixed from within. Is it any wonder NUIM and DCU have undoubtably the weakest, and most pointless S.Us of the 'big colleges'.

you would have to wonder what the point of these elections even is, the manifestos are 90% the same and don't really offer concrete plans on anything. When you take the laughing stock 'on yer own' status of our SU into account, what are they even running for?

I'm against fees.
    So Am I.
    I'm also against fees.

I want more places to eat.
    Yeah, me too.
    Same here.

And so on and so forth.

They got Welfare right this year in fairness, plenty of great campaigns and a very visible presence, which impressed people I know from other colleges too. Beyond the Welfare role though, whats the S.Us presence/point in a college not even within the U.S.I? We brought the worst turnout of the NUIs to both national anti-fee demos, and as far as I'm aware were the only campus O' Keefe visited where the S.U didn't even hold a tokenistic protest.

I want a referendum on the USI. It costs FIVE EURO a student a year. If we're paying 1,500 to go to NUIM next year, whats the harm in another fiver? The article in the Spoke last year saying 'The USI is fecked' doesn't cut it for me. Agitate and organise within it, dont say 'we'll rejoin when it suits us'

Otherwise you're a tiny S.U, among a handful of other tiny S.Us, while the U.S.I debates real issues internally, like the idea of a one-day shutdown over cuts and fees.
    This year was the most uncritical I have seen, which given the scale of change facing us is astounding; the canteen employment issue, fees, senior administration pay, lecture sizes, tutorial elimination, admissions procedures and supports......

+1.
    I attended a UCD student council and spent some time in other colleges over the fees issue and time and time again you'd be asked what the fcuk they were at out in Maynooth.

I'd also second the praise for Natasha, did a sound job.

I think I could end up voting merely on welfare and comm. at this rate to be honest.

After giving it some thought, my wishlist is:

1) REFERENDUM TIME:A referendum on the issue of rejoining the Union of Students in Ireland.

2)A proper stance on fees: (Trinity SU, UL SU, UCD SU and others all organised protests against government TD's visiting campuses. It looks very dodgey when an S.U don't do this AND the college brings a bizarre low turnout to a national demonstration. If you pick up a copy of the UCD SU 'Semester Two' handbook, they pushed Feb. 4th like crazy, same on campus. There should have been an official S.U leaflet/campaign in the build-up to the day.

3) The Spoke Fixed Up: We all agree on this obviously.

4) An External Review Body: See above, must say I hadn't considered this before.

5) To quote Efla, the union moving back to becoming "an external critical voice", as opposed to whatever it currently is. I'd also agree in relation to CVs being released etc., and I also think candidates should have to state if they are members of political parties etc. I don't like the way you often hear "Its a FF SU" or a "FG SU" when talking about different colleges. We should know these things if they apply. So in my case I'd list: Mandate Trade Union, Workers Solidarity Movement, Free Education for Everyone. Why would anyone hide past political experience? Scared of a backlash maybe!

6) No more ****e tribute bands :pac:

This year was the most uncritical I have seen, which given the scale of change facing us is astounding;

This has to change. Careerist CV types out out out :)
    How hard is it for an S.U to organise a solidarity picket in the case of the workers, or print a few thousand leaflets in relation to fees?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭synd

To many careerists looking for CV material - its a joke. SUs - also the traditional training ground for future members of our glorious politburo. I think univercities should be run more on delegation as opposed to representation, also scrap the wage - anything that undermines the aims of self serving opportunists is good in my book.

Nice to see the left organzing on campus, it's no secret that the various left organizations have more (active) members than FF on campus - Maynooth was asleep for too long.;)

I don't like the way you often hear "Its a FF SU" or a "FG SU" when talking about different colleges.

Its true nonetheless - the apparent lack of effort with regards any issue pertaining to the current (situation) speaks for itself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

synd wrote: »
    also scrap the wage - anything that undermines the aims of self serving opportunists is good in my book.

I don't know many who'd do it because of the money. you'd want to be a bit hard up - it's minimum wage based on a 40hour week; in reality you're there more than that.

(though guess maybe these days that doesn't apply so much)

Forget the referendum on the USI, yer man Simon has baloons.

Thats it so.

Not for my girlfriend, she hates ballons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Gwan Simon!

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Forget the referendum on the USI, yer man Simon has baloons.

Thats it so.

Sadly, probably true

What are the odds we'll get a referendum on the U.S.I again?

Does N.U.I.M operate on a similar basis to U.C.D where you can get a referendum called if you collect a certain amount of names/student numbers?

I know in U.C.D that Free Education for Everyone have got a referendum called over the one day shutdown, but I think in N.U.I.M the issue of the U.S.I is critical. The other crowd (F.U.S.U) haven't even got a postal address, never mind any policy documents. It's embarrasing to be honest when people talk about the N.U.I.M S.U

What are the odds we'll get a referendum on the U.S.I again?

Does N.U.I.M operate on a similar basis to U.C.D where you can get a referendum called if you collect a certain amount of names/student numbers?

I know in U.C.D that Free Education for Everyone have got a referendum called over the one day shutdown, but I think in N.U.I.M the issue of the U.S.I is critical. The other crowd (F.U.S.U) haven't even got a postal address, never mind any policy documents. It's embarrasing to be honest when people talk about the N.U.I.M S.U

Not sure, I doubt the will is there in any case - either to vote or propose

The article in The Spoke last year was an absolute joke though (I'm only a first year, so read it online)

"We're not happy. There's our toys, all fcuked out of the pram. We're off lads. Bye. When you fix up we'll come back"

It doesn't work that way. The U.S.I is a broken union to say the least, but it can only be fixed by engaging with it from within. The F.U.S.U is an unknown entity of two incredibly week S.Us (D.C.U and us) one 'meh' S.U (U.L) and another everyone forgets. What's the purpose of that? Will the N.U.I.M S.U set up the Continuity F.U.S.U if they go the same way again?
    A referendum on rejoining, in light of the immediate threat posed by fees, is the only way to go.

***The structure of the N.U.I.M S.U pisses me off greatly to be honest. From being involved in politics and a union you get used to things running smoothly and in a certain way, and to see the state of the college union out on its own hugging D.C.U in the darkness
    D.K.I.T brought 10minibuses to the U.S.I demo on the 4th, and I'd be surprised if N.U.I.M managed to bring 45 students. The U.S.I has great potential at the minute, and they've just made a laughing stock out of the N.U.I.M S.U at a national level with this F.U.S.U business.

makes no sense whatsoever in my eyes. To the next President: Cop yerself on. ;) Referendum please.

http://www.nuimsu.com/spoke/april/usi-should-quit-clowning-around - a link to the bizarre article from last years Spoke mentioned above.

Just read the S.U constitution online, apparently a referendum can be called if you collect sigs/student numbers from '10% of the Student Union'

This would be the student body yes?

The S.U Pres. debate is waste of time anyway, its all painted apartment windows and nice t-shirts. It'd be interesting to push for a referendum as I'm genuienly curious if anyone would come out AGAINST the idea of rejoining the U.S.I?

The article in The Spoke last year was an absolute joke though (I'm only a first year, so read it online)

"We're not happy. There's our toys, all fcuked out of the pram. We're off lads. Bye. When you fix up we'll come back"

It doesn't work that way. The U.S.I is a broken union to say the least, but it can only be fixed by engaging with it from within. The F.U.S.U is an unknown entity of two incredibly week S.Us (D.C.U and us) one 'meh' S.U (U.L) and another everyone forgets. What's the purpose of that? Will the N.U.I.M S.U set up the Continuity F.U.S.U if they go the same way again?
    A referendum on rejoining, in light of the immediate threat posed by fees, is the only way to go.

***The structure of the N.U.I.M S.U pisses me off greatly to be honest. From being involved in politics and a union you get used to things running smoothly and in a certain way, and to see the state of the college union out on its own hugging D.C.U in the darkness
    D.K.I.T brought 10minibuses to the U.S.I demo on the 4th, and I'd be surprised if N.U.I.M managed to bring 45 students. The U.S.I has great potential at the minute, and they've just made a laughing stock out of the N.U.I.M S.U at a national level with this F.U.S.U business.

makes no sense whatsoever in my eyes. To the next President: Cop yerself on. ;) Referendum please.

http://www.nuimsu.com/spoke/april/usi-should-quit-clowning-around - a link to the bizarre article from last years Spoke mentioned above.

Might as well say it....

The previous statement concerning the balloons is probably not far from the truth. I doubt, and I dont consider this an overestimation, that 90% of the student body concerns itself with USI structural issues, much less informs themselves of its history.

Senate-seat voting :D

I would hold out for a no, but thats just me. Since I am warming to the idea of fees.

The F.U.S.U is an unknown entity of two incredibly week S.Us (D.C.U and us) one 'meh' S.U (U.L) and another everyone forgets. What's the purpose of that? Will the N.U.I.M S.U set up the Continuity F.U.S.U if they go the same way again?

Just to clear up the above:
    • FUSU isn't a political entity, it is a forum (Forum of University Students' Unions)
    • The purpose of it is discussion, an exchange of ideas between unions.
    • It isn't just made up of NUIM, UL & DCU
    • It's actually made up of TCD, UCD, DCU, UCC, NUIG, NUIM, UL, UU, QUB and more recently DIT (as they are recognised by the European Universities Association)
    • FUSU doesn't have a budget, an officer board, buildings, run campaigns etc, so nothing really can go against NUIMSU.
    Just read the S.U constitution online, apparently a referendum can be called if you collect sigs/student numbers from '10% of the Student Union'

This would be the student body yes?

Yes, 10% of the student body, which I guess is somewhere around 700/800 students at the minute. Or you can get a class rep to bring a motion to Union Council. A straight majroity in your favour at Union Council can require something to be brought to referendum.

It's actually made up of TCD, UCD, DCU, UCC, NUIG, NUIM, UL, UU, QUB and more recently DIT

Right. My mistake then, as I thought the FUSU was made up only of SUs that had LEFT the U.S.I.

So T.C.D, U.C.D, U.C.C and others are in both the FUSU and the USI?

The three I mentioned are the only three Unis outside the USI though.

You'd have to ask what we're doing outside the U.S.I at this stage to be honest, not just on the issue of fees but others too (They've solid positions and campaigns on LGBT rights for example)

The U.S.I has proven itself able to mobilise students (in a way non-U.S.I unions clearly can't!) and to get students actively involved. It has its faults but its far far better than what we have going in N.U.I.M at the minute. €5 a student, if it involves raising the registration fee another fiver (Remember its going to be €1,500 next year, €1,505 to have some kind of real union representation mightn't be any harm)

Right. My mistake then, as I thought the FUSU was made up only of SUs that had LEFT the U.S.I.

So T.C.D, U.C.D, U.C.C and others are in both the FUSU and the USI?

The three I mentioned are the only three Unis outside the USI though.

Easy mistake to make alright as the only people who seem to talk about FUSU are the Unis outside of USI! & there's not much info on FUSU - think that's because it's more of a information resource than a national union.
    You'd have to ask what we're doing outside the U.S.I at this stage to be honest, not just on the issue of fees but others too (They've solid positions and campaigns on LGBT rights for example)

The U.S.I has proven itself able to mobilise students (in a way non-U.S.I unions clearly can't!) and to get students actively involved. It has its faults but its far far better than what we have going in N.U.I.M at the minute.

But you have to remember that USI a few years ago was in an awful state of affairs. For a couple of years running there, they had half of their officer board resign because of the way things were being ran. I don't think it's in our best interests to run a referendum year in, year out on the subject - we need to think across years. I think the approach UCD (& I think UCC) have is the best - run a ref. every 5 years & then go with that decision until the next referendum comes around. Maybe now is a good time to reconsider it though.
    €5 a student, if it involves raising the registration fee another fiver (Remember its going to be €1,500 next year, €1,505 to have some kind of real union representation mightn't be any harm)

€5 per student is €40,000 though too. It's like taxes - I'm all for high income tax, but that's on the basis that the government spend the money properly. For awhile there USI were raking in the subscriptions & doing very little with it. There's a lot of improvements that students would like done here in Maynooth that could be achieved with a budget of €40,000 per year.

From talking to various candidates, I got the impression people think its a good time to have a referendum on the issue, given the current state of student politics and the immediate risk posed by the F word.

The USI was in an awful state of affairs, I agree. Its not exactly braggable a the minute either, but as I always say- it can only be fixed from within.

As for the 40grand. We pay 68 yoyos each a year (Thanks tro a helpful candidate for that piece of info!) for The Spoke, so 5 yoyos for a half (I emphasise the word half!) decent union representation can't do any harm.

****Was there a referendum to widthdraw from the U.S.I? What was the result?

From talking to various candidates, I got the impression people think its a good time to have a referendum on the issue, given the current state of student politics and the immediate risk posed by the F word.

The USI was in an awful state of affairs, I agree. Its not exactly braggable a the minute either, but as I always say- it can only be fixed from within.

Yeah, it probably is a good time to have another referendum on it, I agree. But which of the sabbatical candidates over the last number of years:

a) would you want to see running for a USI sabbat position or
    b) would decide to, after already taking a year out.

Correct me if I'm wrong on this, but afaik, 90% of the sabbatical officers of USI come as former sabbats in their own Unis. Change from within sounds great, but people have to get to influential positions & be up to making the changes.

As for the 40grand. We pay 68 yoyos each a year (Thanks tro a helpful candidate for that piece of info!) for The Spoke, so 5 yoyos for a half (I emphasise the word half!) decent union representation can't do any harm.

€68 each!? You must be joking?? Since when does The Spoke cost over half a million to run each year!!
    ****Was there a referendum to widthdraw from the U.S.I? What was the result?

It was years ago at this stage! But we went out one year, in the next & out the next after that, I think it was - that seems like more of a joke than sticking to your guns for awhile.

As I was saying above though, you're probably right in that it's about time to have another one.