Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pencil Bag - Too Early??

• 19-02-2009 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭

Lads,

I got out the pencil bag yesterday and carried my clubs for the first time this year.

It was grand, no soggy grips from being left on the ground or anything. I still reckon there'll be days where I have to revert back to the cart bag, but I just said feck it, maybe I'll encourage the weather gods to be good to us for the spring/summer.

Jaysus knows we're due some daycent weather:cool:

So, what do you reckon?
    Was I foolishly wrong to get it out so early?
    Will we all be punished for my eagerness with shite weather??
    Should I quickly put it away and pretend I never got it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

it's feb in the norhern hemisphere

could be the best month of the year ,who's to know:rolleyes:....ooh the balmy 10 degrees

when it doubt whip it out!!!!

was only looking at the pencil bags on tgw.com(good site by the way) the other day

$30......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I've used one of those little floppy pencil bags right through the winter this year. I found it good on two counts - mainly it saved me doing as much walking and faffing around, with all the greens fenced off etc.

The other thing i did was only carry between 8 and 10 clubs. It can be frustrating when you cream a drive and have a perfect 6 iron left and you're having to try a 3/4 four iron, but i think (hope) it's built my shot-making.

That said, i'm dying to get the full set back into my bag and on to my electric trolley. Don't think i'll bother til the ropes come down and the 18 holers start again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

I carry my bag all year round, dont know why i do this as I have a tour bag and trolley but I guess I just enjoy it. I think its a gift in the winter / wet months ( which seem to be every month) but saves u alot of time around the greens etc with ropes and stuff.

Does anyone think it takes away from your game ?? Added weight for you to drag about and not needed ?? I always get mixed reviews !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

soundsham wrote: »
    was only looking at the pencil bags on tgw.com(good site by the way) the other day

$30......

That's good if the postage isn't too much, you can get them for around €35 in most decent shops, well you could this time last year anyhow!!

Nice black Callaway one with the Ireland flag embroidered into it for about €50 I think, whatever floats your boat I suppose..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

You will be stung big style on delivery and customs charges from the US. Cheaper to buy here of from the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stephenoleary

I fear of asking a stupid question, but....

..is it possible to get a pencil back with a stand? As in spring-loaded legs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

whodini wrote: »

I've seen an Odyssey branded one, it had legs but they were different than those on a stand bag, not sure if they were spring loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

whodini wrote: »

Yeah, you can whodini. There's one you can get with a mini stand (think it could be a wilson) for about 50 euro. Not sure if it's spring loaded. McGuirks have them.

I'm fairly sure there are Titleist ones with stands too.