Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Affordable, fun car??

• 19-02-2009 9:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭

Hi guys,

I had a thread the last day about buying an Alfa GT. Instead of spending all my money and having nothing left I've decided to wait and get the GT at a later date.

I'm going to be needing a car in the coming weeks for a mix of motorway and windy stuff! I'm a 21 yr old student but I'm finished this year and starting work in August. I have a full licence and have factured in the insurance cost (approx 1800 :mad:) and after this I'll have about 10k to spend on a car.

I'm not set on any car so feel free to suggest anything!!! I'll be doing most of my travelling on my own so size isn't a major issue.

Thanks for your help guys, been savage so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Could you insure an MX-5?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭vinruane

I've been on a few insurance sites and I haven't been refused many cars, just checking what the limit is! Ya I can get insured on an MX - 5. I anticipated that one alright, been hearing great things about them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

These are nice cars - not too sure how your insurance would work tho -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1278467

Or try this either -
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1323611

Not that particular Civic but the type R are great fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

206 GTI for 7K, keep the other 3K for insurance.

vinruane wrote: »
    I've been on a few insurance sites and I haven't been refused many cars, just checking what the limit is! Ya I can get insured on an MX - 5. I anticipated that one alright, been hearing great things about them!
    MX-5s are great cars, they're a lot of fun to drive, cheap to run, and very reliable. Another great thing about them is that, unlike the average GTI, you can really enjoy the car without the need to get up to illegal speeds.

Anan1 wrote: »
    MX-5s are great cars, they're a lot of fun to drive, cheap to run, and very reliable. Another great thing about them is that, unlike the average GTI, you can really enjoy the car without the need to get up to illegal speeds.

Ya that is the problem with most new cars, they're all fast but some need to be driven very fast (illegally) to get any really enjoyment out of them. Is there any particular mx - 5 (year, model, etc?) that you would recommend? They come with a 1.6 and a 1.8 don't they?

I've only driven the 1.6, so I can't compare the two. The one I spent a bit of time driving was a fairly ratty 1990 Jap import, and it was still a blast. There's a guy on here called galwaytt who I think has one for years, i'd start by picking his brains. I'm sure a bit of a google will also throw up owners clubs with lots of information, comparisons, buying guides etc.

Thanks for the advice Anan1, just got a quote there off 123.ie. If I have my father as a named driver on the car, insurance on a 1.8 is 1,650. Very surprised!:eek:

Thanks Drummerboy08, the only problem with going with the civic, great fun I know!, is that the Gardai target them a lot, for good reason usually! I'm not really into the mod side of cars, just enjoy an exciting drive now and then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

Anything rear wheel drive is the best if you enjoy driving. Mazda MX5 is rear wheel drive but a bit girly. Some great deals on BMW's to be had. You will be surprised at the insurance quotes on them also. Buy a coupe as they hold their value better.

Which engine coupe would ya go for though? I love a bit of craic in a car but I don't want it to drink either! I'd love something bigger but at the moment the finances are in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

This car came up on another thread. It needs some tidying up apparently, but looks like very good value.

Clio 172 is a fun car too.

Top value.

172 bhp in a clio could be interesting alright :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Lotus Elise S1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

FWD you have Integra Type R for rawness, Celica for comfort and handling combined, Clio for excellent hot hatch.
    RWD you have MX5 for the best car you'll be able to afford. You also have E36 or E46 BMW coupe's, but you really need to be looking towards the 6 cylinder models before they start to make sense behind the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Probably not a runner, but I'd just thought I'd mention a mini (the original one). The cooper is just 1300cc, but great fun to drive. Not maintenance free by any means, though parts are cheap and readily available from the UK. Could be quite loud on the motorway though, as I think they are 4 speed.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mini/Cooper/1.3-Coop/200904191602762/advert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

Which engine coupe would ya go for though? I love a bit of craic in a car but I don't want it to drink either! I'd love something bigger but at the moment the finances are in charge.

Go for a 6 cylinder BM only. 4 pot engines aren't great. An E36 320i coupe has 150BHP which is a good balance. Will do about 35MPG. The 318is has 140BHP and is a 1.8 but you need to rev it higher and it uses more juice. Also very noisey and a bit rough. 6 pot BMW engines are very smooth.
    I think they only made the 320 coupe up to 95 though 323i came after which is a bit heavy on road tax. Not much goes wrong with them. I've had 4 E36's and never had to shell out too much apart from usual wear and tear. You could pick up a clean one for less than 3K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

2k more will get you a Mazda RX-8.

A mk1 Audi TT, Mini Cooper, and many more available inside your price range too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

MR2 MK1 SC? Decent mpg, feck all tax, 0-60 in sub 7sec, RWD, looks like a wedge of cheese. Whats not to like?

He's not going to get insured on an RX8, TT or Lotus etc.

The plan is to renovate an old mini in a couple of years as a bit of a project on the side for myself. BMW coupe could be an interesting option. I would love to go for the RX-8, think they look lovely, only problem is the 24mpg and the fact they drink oil!

Audi TT are just about in my price range alright so they could be an interesting option, I can just about afford an S2000 as well but that'd be getting on in years.

Anybody have any experience with the new mini, the S version? I know they look a bit girly but have heard they're a hoot to drive.

Would you believe I can actually get insured in a TT, when I buy the car I'll have two years experience, have the full licence two years and have the auld lad as a named driver. Sub 2k as well !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Ive seen s2000s going for €10k recently.. and less in the uk.

How reliable would the s2000 be as they get older? I can prob afford a good '99 or an alright '00

I hear they are meant to be quite reliable but dont hold me to that. Honda seem to have a decent reputation though.

Ya they seem to be good but still, a ten year old car is getting on slightly. There's a lovely one in the "mad for s2000" thread

But what a 10 year old car.. ;)

Yea it is fairly old but theres plenty of good examples out there. Ive been pining after one for months!

Do you know what a mini s would be like on a long ish journey? I'll be travelling from Clonmel to Galway and it can be a pain of a journey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Get yourself a Peugeot 106 Rallye. They are simple, no nonsense fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

PM ned78 he has the works cooper S (such a weapon!) Im sure he's taken it on the odd long cruise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

The works is a savage car alright, but I don't know of any that would fit your budget. I do know one person selling a pristine 2004 model as they're now after being made redundant and need the cash, but it's closer to 16.5k - it's got the twin sunroofs, full leather, factory fitted navigation, grey with a black roof.

As a practical car, it can be ... I've fitted 2 4x12 speaker cabs, amp head, 3 guitars, and all the usual stands and leads in there. It's a very easy car to drive on longer journeys as it can easily cruise along at 60mph in 6th gear. Fuel consumption on the longer journeys will be close enough to 40mpg, but if you're driving hard it can go as low as 14/15.

As a bit of fun, it's very hard to match it. Handling is out of this world, and as a driver's car, every time you lift of the throttle, the exhaust pops and burbles - which is extremely enjoyable to listen too. Best of all, if you are planning to hoon around the odd time, if you did it in any other car you'd be labelled a boy racer. Do it in a MINI, and even Granny Agnes with her blue rinse will smile.

Sounds good, a friend of mine has one and he loves it. Wat is the power difference between the normal mini s and the works? I don't know much about them!

For all cars up to 2007
    MINI One 90Bhp
    MINI Cooper 115Bhp
    MINI Cooper S 170Bhp
    MINI Cooper S Works 210Bhp

It's very very easy to take the works and push it to 240Bhp with teeny mods. A good manifold, remap and supercharger pulley will do that for less than 1k.

Using the mods mentioned could ya take a standard s up to 200 bhp?

Easily. With a pulley, remap and just a cat-back exhaust, you can easily break 200Bhp.

Sweet! :D:D They're a small car, with that much power in them, fun times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

You'd want to get some insurance quotes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

insurance company won't like engine mods and it can wreck the resale value. You could look for

Ford (Racing) Puma (1.7)
    Ford Focus ST
    Fiat Coupe
    Suziki Cauppuccino
    Honda Beat
    Smart Roadster
    Alfa GTV
    VW Corrado VR6

The engine mods will have absolutely no effect on re-sale. 99% of Cooper S owners fit smaller pulleys and remap. It's the done thing.

Definitely try the Insurance companies for quotes, you'll be pleasantly surprised. I've mine insured fully comp at 30 years old for 480 Euro - and that's for the works. It'd be less for the standard S.

Depending on when I buy it (will be 22 soon, and will have licence two years and experience 2 yrs), if i have my father as a named driver, fully compy is 1550 euro. Not half bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Skyline / Sylvia out of the question?:D

Absolutely nothing is out of the question but i'd say the engine in either would be too big for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Both are certainly well known for being "fun" anyway :D and the Sylvia's are a favourite amongst drifters...

Oh I know don't worry!, they go round a bit too easy sometimes though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Both are certainly well known for being "fun" anyway :D and the Sylvia's are a favourite amongst drifters...

Drifting.................soooooo last year....