Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl gear

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Sterling, more like...
    RobFowl wrote: »
    Do they count as Euro ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Appears to be UK only, Ireland have gardening equipment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

the shoes didnt appear in my local lidl last time, got some in scotland great light use (as in not trudging through mud) shoes the aldi clothing seems better quality the jackets are good though got 3 (live in donegal rains a lot)
    no bikes at the mo though so just sitting here getting fat waiting for new road wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭stuf

Aldi seem to synchronise their offers with the UK but not Lidl - would imagine the cycling offer will land here in the next fortnight though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Correct me if I'm wring but Aldi's bike wear is called Crane, right? Have found the Crane wear to better quality than the Lidl stuff.

Suspect the Irish Aldi summer gear to quickly follow the UK, maybe a week later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

gear from Lidl....hmmmmm?

Would anyone buy a helmet from here or Aldi? I'm not sure I would.

If I go over the handlebars I don't my thoughts to be focused on the 10 euro lid protecting my head.

otherwise their gear has always seemed to provided good value for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wring but Aldi's bike wear is called Crane, right? Have found the Crane wear to better quality than the Lidl stuff.

I find Aldi gear better than Lidl as well. Got some shorts from both last year and have hardly worn the lild ones ... where as the aldi ones have got me through the winter so far without any issues and are still going strong .. wouldn't recommend for long training rides as the padding is a bit ..... stiff & big .. :o ... but decent for a couple of hours.

But the long sleeve jerseys from Lild have lasted me for a year now ... no worries there
    Jawgap wrote: »
    gear from Lidl....hmmmmm?

Would anyone buy a helmet from here or Aldi? I'm not sure I would.

If I go over the handlebars I don't my thoughts to be focused on the 10 euro lid protecting my head.

otherwise their gear has always seemed to provided good value for money.

I don't see why not ... unless you want to throw away money on an Assos shorts or jersey for commuting gear.

As for the helmet .. I am sure they are all tested to the same standards .. i have never seen a 100 euro helmet advertised for extra safety .. its always been on weight and ventilation. If you are buying a car for safety .. would you not buy a cheaper Kia Ceed with 5 star NCAP over an Audi A3 which is only 4 star ... or would you think expensive is better. Now if the Aldi/Lidl helmets were not tested at all ... that would be a different matter .. but considering they would sell the same across Europe .. I am thinking that they have to be following stringent rules on safety equipment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I'm becoming a cycling snob. So no more of this gear again. I rarely wear anything I bought before.

I don't see why not ... unless you want to throw away money on an Assos shorts or jersey for commuting gear.

As for the helmet .. I am sure they are all tested to the same standards .. i have never seen a 100 euro helmet advertised for extra safety .. its always been on weight and ventilation. If you are buying a car for safety .. would you not buy a cheaper Kia Ceed with 5 star NCAP over an Audi A3 which is only 4 star ... or would you think expensive is better. Now if the Aldi/Lidl helmets were not tested at all ... that would be a different matter .. but considering they would sell the same across Europe .. I am thinking that they have to be following stringent rules on safety equipment

I've found the majority of their gear (aldi and lidl) to be of more than acceptable quality for commutes and commuting.

All I'm saying is I'd rather have the "comfort" of a recognised quality brand for my bonce.

Yes, I am probably paying a premium for the brand and while your testing argument holds up, it does so only to a point. Some products (cars especially) are designed to the test - in other words they are designed to pass or perform well in testing. The critical factor is how reflective the test is of real life and NCAP has certainly been well criticised for testing that bears no or only limited resemblance to real life.

Anyway, while I'm sure both helmets pass the required product safety tests, I'd also be skeptical that the Aldi / Lidl helmet would pass to the same degree that branded helmet might pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I'm with Jawgap on the helmet thing if I'm honest... I don't know why, as I know that the safety ratings are there, but I wouldn't be keen on trusting a lidl helmet (or lidl contraception for that matter!). call me a snob, but that's just how I see it!

The clothes are grand though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I'm with Jawgap on the helmet thing if I'm honest... I don't know why, as I know that the safety ratings are there, but I wouldn't be keen on trusting a lidl helmet (or lidl contraception for that matter!). call me a snob, but that's just how I see it!

Not sure bout that. I take the view, if their stuff isn't good enough for my head, then it is not good enough for my ass either.

or lidl contraception for that matter!.

So that's where I went wrong.

F&^K!!!! Now you tell me about the contraception!!!

I don't do many long spins, but for a commute of up to 90 minutes (sometimes, when I'm feeling energetic!!) I've found the clothes to be acceptable.

And certainly for the kids (thanks Lidl!!!) the clothes are great because the little feckers won't stop growing!

You have a strange way of putting things across .... i wouldn't have understood you on the helmet ... but once you brought contraception in ... is all laid out in black & white .... no more lidl helmet then ... :)

But I would still get some to cover my ass for the winter commute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

I have bought bit and pieces of sports related grear in Lidl/Aldi and you get what you pay for:

Overshoes: zip busted on 2nd use and they were not waterproof
    Track Pump: wasn't great and had to use a presta valve adapter to protect the valve on the tube - replaced the pump with a decent track pump (only cost €20/30 but the diffrence is amazing)
    bib shorts - wore them once and they were the most unconfortable pair of shorts I have ever worn, the padding just seemed to bunch together between my legs and saddle and cause pain (not nice when you are 50k from home)

on the positive side I buy sports socks there and find them great for the price, no blistering when marathon training last year and at they price they can be binned when they go off colour.

I have also bought some base layer items and they are OK but not as good as the branded products.

I have bought bit and pieces of sports related grear in Lidl/Aldi and you get what you pay for:

if its the aldi ones you shoulda read the packet they said water resistant not waterproof noticed that myself mine are fine zips n all but defo not waterproof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Big Bob

I took a chance and bought the cycling socks last year, i was plesently surprised how comfy they were on long rides

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭hynesie

I have bought bit and pieces of sports related gear in Lidl/Aldi and you get what you pay for:

Track Pump: wasn't great and had to use a presta valve adapter to protect the valve on the tube - replaced the pump with a decent track pump (only cost €20/30 but the difference is amazing)
    bib shorts - wore them once and they were the most uncomfortable pair of shorts I have ever worn, the padding just seemed to bunch together between my legs and saddle and cause pain (not nice when you are 50k from home)

on the positive side I buy sports socks there and find them great for the price, no blistering when marathon training last year and at they price they can be binned when they go off colour.

I have also bought some base layer items and they are OK but not as good as the branded products.
    I had pretty much the exact same experience with the items you mentioned.
    * Overs have 2 busted zips, but I got about 5 months use from them.
    * I was really annoyed with the pump, complete rubbish.
    * The bib shorts are fairly comfortable but either they have the wrong sizing's or I have a disproportionately large arse because they are fairly transparent.
    I completely agree about the socks, they're great.
    I also think the tights are good value, and the rain jacket is fine for sticking in the back pocket just in case. I got a saddle bag, ss & ls jersey which are still going strong.
    I was a cycling Aldi advertisment to begin with but not so much now. I will probably pick up a few bits and pieces though whenever they come in stock, but I'll be a bit more selective as they're stuff is a bit hit and miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Stephen_C

I've bought most of my gear from either lidl or aldi and find most of it fine, The crane jacket are very good. Even bought the track pump the last time and have had no problem with it so far.

Though most of my biking up till know has been mountain biking or commuting. Never saw the point in buying expensive gear for mountain biking ever since a friend of mine spent over €100 on a pair of bib tights and ripped the arse out of them crashing the first day he had them out. Had to keep in front of him for the rest of the spin as he wasn't wearing anything under them:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Few things are worse than being downwind of a man with a hole in his shorts...
    Stephen_C wrote: »
    Never saw the point in buying expensive gear for mountain biking ever since a friend of mine spent over €100 on a pair of bib tights and ripped the arse out of them crashing the first day he had them out. Had to keep in front of him for the rest of the spin as he wasn't wearing anything under them:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

i got some stuff from aldi that has been great, however, i got a two cylinder foot pump from lidl that was a disaster. it pumper great the first time, but when i used it the second time there was a huge POP:eek: and the gauge went whistling past my head. so, no more lidl muck!:mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

How are the shoes sizewise ?

I find that I need a smaller sized boot than runners even though it's the same sized feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

if its the aldi ones you shoulda read the packet they said water resistant not waterproof noticed that myself mine are fine zips n all but defo not waterproof

Bought numerous stuff from both Lidl and Aldi myself over the past while , as someone said you get what you pay for , mostly rubbish in both cases . Exceptions however , were some items purchased in Aldi , firstly a Bikemate speed and heart rate monitor system , the gel saddles are excellent too, and lastly I purchased a thermal top and bottom once ( they were actually with the motor bike gear ) ...excellent in the winter .
    The waterproof jackets in both cases though are trashy sweatmaking pieces of s***e ...keep away from 'em .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭daroadlescycled

Have the lidl helmet for 2 years now fits very well although never been tested thank God, mounted a small mirror on the helmet which I find excellent for commuting. Have there padded shorts and padded long pants wash every couple days and are still fitting fine and showing no sign of wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

personally I find the Aldi clothing better quality to the Lidl, and better fitting too, not to say that I havent bought the Lidl gear, use the Lidl and Aldi gear this time of year, in fact my winter jacket is from the last round of Aldi stock and has served me well this winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

Jawgap wrote: »
    F&^K!!!! Now you tell me about the contraception!!!

I don't do many long spins, but for a commute of up to 90 minutes (sometimes, when I'm feeling energetic!!) I've found the clothes to be acceptable.

And certainly for the kids (thanks Lidl!!!) the clothes are great because the little feckers won't stop growing!

Do not buy Ledl condoms! Those that have will know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Lidl giveth with one hand and taketh away with the other. I was in Lidl the other day and they seemed to be having a Bike Thieves' Special on - bloody *boltcutters* for sale for 14 euro!

I imagine every aspiring little bike thief knack in Ireland has been in to get his. Now's the time to upgrade that lock.

oflahero wrote: »
    Lidl giveth with one hand and taketh away with the other. I was in Lidl the other day and they seemed to be having a Bike Thieves' Special on - bloody *boltcutters* for sale for 14 euro!

I imagine every aspiring little bike thief knack in Ireland has been in to get his. Now's the time to upgrade that lock.

Hopefully, that way they won't have any money left for the portable air compressor and tools in aldi!!!

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/offers_week09sunday09.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭jimm

Lidl cycling gear available in Ireland from Thurs 5th March. Brochure not out yet, but saw the poster today in Lidl window. Some differences to the stuff on sale in UK.

Alright! Lidl opens at 8am not like that pesky Aldi opening at 9am.

just changed the date on the 2march link and voila heres your offers
    http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20090305.index
    no shoes (suprise suprise didnt have them last time even though they had the pedals) cant see the point of the footpump they are never any good for high pressure tyres
    vest might be useful though
    saddles ok until it comes away from the plastic (bought a selle italia transam now so that should last a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

... typical ... men stuff and smallest size is M ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Black cycling jacket again. Not much good for cycling in the dark evenings...

I wouldn't mind getting the cycling shorts though. Last ones I got made good cheap tri shorts as they had just a moderate amount of padding that you could run in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Stark wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind getting the cycling shorts though. Last ones I got made good cheap tri shorts as they had just a moderate amount of padding that you could run in.

Good for commuting and short week training sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

I got one of Lidl's cycle computers with the heart rate monitor. The heart rate bit gave up after about 650km in total, but the rest of it still works fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I got one of Lidl's cycle computers with the heart rate monitor. The heart rate bit gave up after about 650km in total, but the rest of it still works fine.

You sure you didn't become a zombie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Was in Lidl this morning - got 2 pairs of the shorts, socks, jersey and jacket - dunno why i got the jacket to be honest, will probably end up returning it this evening when i call in to pick up some groceries :D

The aluminium pump looks ok, pressure gauge on it as well. Not so sure on the repair kit - it's quite a heavy little bag - not suitable for those of you that are worried about adding any kind of weight onto your featherweight machines ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

bibshorts are quite big,sizing is more orthodox clothing size,I would normally go XL, but got large and they fit OK, padding is virtually non existent, will do for short summer spins, computer seems OK, set up on my commute bike, no doubt the batteries will give out in a fortnight, also got the MTB saddle for my commute bike, a little on the short side but at least it's flat and doesn't have that uncomfortable concave shape only do 20km round trip on commute, so a bargain,surprisingly firm for a gel saddle

Was probably the first person anywhere on Dublin on the roads with Lidl gear on .. lidl is 5 mins from home .. so was in for 8AM and trying out the shorts on the commute in to work. 2 pairs of shorts and 2 short sleeve jerseys + gloves.

Shorts would be better suitable for triathlons ... very little padding .. but wasn't too bad on the commute ... its a bit on the shorter side though (or maybe I just prefer longer legs ... still wondering if I should hang on to the other pair.

Haven't tried the jersey or the gloves yet ...

I reckon decent enough for commuting gear and should last the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Was probably the first person anywhere on Dublin on the roads with Lidl gear on .. lidl is 5 mins from home .. so was in for 8AM and trying out the shorts on the commute in to work. 2 pairs of shorts and 2 short sleeve jerseys + gloves.

Shorts would be better suitable for triathlons ... very little padding .. but wasn't too bad on the commute ... its a bit on the shorter side though (or maybe I just prefer longer legs ... still wondering if I should hang on to the other pair.

Haven't tried the jersey or the gloves yet ...

I reckon decent enough for commuting gear and should last the summer.

Might pick up a pair then.. how heavy is the material? Bought a pair maybe 2 years ago in aldi/lidl and they were slightly transparent..

mloc123 wrote: »
    Might pick up a pair then.. how heavy is the material? Bought a pair maybe 2 years ago in aldi/lidl and they were slightly transparent..

Very light .. hardly anything at all for the padding .. and very flexible at that .. unlike the aldi ones. You wouldn't want to go over a couple of hours on the bike with these though.

Was down in the Dolphin's Barn Lidl before work this morning and picked up a pair of bib shorts, the jacket, some rice and the computer.

Rice wasn't on special though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

got a jacket gray and yellow, white ss, shorts and also some bib shorts, just to see if id be into them. computer looks a bit too chunky for me

I got orange & lime tic-tacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭paddyb

got a computer, gloves and creme eggs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

c an any1 tell me where there's a lidl near UCD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

abcdggs wrote: »
    c an any1 tell me where there's a lidl near UCD?

There's one in Balinteer, opposite Marley Park. Maybe a 20 minute cycle from UCD Clonskeagh entrance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

thanks, will head over during college tomoro, any excuse not to go. first year is great...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Frankly, having looked at the cycling gear for about 5 seconds, my eye was stolen by this one instead...

http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20090305.p.BifinettRacletteStoneGrill

Think I'd look funny taking it home on the back of my bike? :)