Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

car accident-what to do

• 18-02-2009 5:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭

I was involved in a minor bump during the icey weather a while back.The other guy bumped into the back of me,damaging my bumper.He suggested I take his number and we could sort out the costs , I stupidly trusted him,as he semed genuine and I was late for a meeting.I rang him up after this a told him that Id get a quote,and he said that was fine and he'd pay for it.today I rang him and his number has changed, I called to what I thought was his address(maybe it is) but there was no answer.

Is there anything I can do,can I get the guards involved, I have his workplace,number plate and car details.

Or should I just forget about, and never trust anyone again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

No, you should go to the Gardai and inform your insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

but i didnt report the accident at the time, so surly he could deny the whole thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

Of course he can deny it but nonetheless contact your local Garda station and insurance company. Believe it or not but there is a lot of evidence weighted in your favour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭happyhappy

at the scene of a minor road collision both parties are obliged to give 'appropriate information, this is name, address, reg number of the vehicle and the insurance policy number and insurance company. most people don't relaise that gardai don't investigate minor collisions once these details are exchanged - it is then a matter for the insurance companies to sort out.

in this instance as this didn't fully happen, report what has happended to the local garda station and give them the reg of his vehicle. you may need to go to court to give evidence of him driving if the gardai are to prosecute the him for any road traffic offences

tell your insurance company and they can pursue the matter through the motor insurance bureau if necessary or his insurance company if one can be established.