Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GRA Statement and Probationers

• 18-02-2009 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭

Sorry lads I'm just a bit miffed about this one. GRA announces a proposed protest but have advised students and probationers not to attend. Students I can understand, but then what's the point of probationers paying their subs every week to the GRA if they can't be afforded the same protection as every other member. They really don't believe that Garda management are going to sack every one of them, can they? Especially when we're all in the same boat or are AGSI and Assoc of Supt members etc. not going to be joining us (Sorry opening a wound from Blue Flu). Are they not all going to be hit with this levy, even more so because of higher earnings? Surely probationers can join the protest with the knowledge that their job is not in jeopardy for attending, after all it's not industrial action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

daithip wrote: »
    Sorry lads I'm just a bit miffed about this one. GRA announces a proposed protest but have advised students and probationers not to attend. Students I can understand, but then what's the point of probationers paying their subs every week to the GRA if they can't be afforded the same protection as every other member. They really don't believe that Garda management are going to sack every one of them, can they? Especially when we're all in the same boat or are AGSI and Assoc of Supt members etc. not going to be joining us (Sorry opening a wound from Blue Flu). Are they not all going to be hit with this levy, even more so because of higher earnings? Surely probationers can join the protest with the knowledge that their job is not in jeopardy for attending, after all it's not industrial action.

I'd say they are only advising this as probationers can be easily blocked or sacked if they engaged in any activities such as a "go slow" or refusing to perform certain tasks that were introduced as part of the pay increases like working with the reserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Probationers can be sacked without reason by their Chief and thus, the GRA advise you not attend.

Its the opposite of not caring about you, they are protecting you as best they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Eru wrote: »
    Probationers can be sacked without reason by their Chief and thus, the GRA advise you not attend.

Its the opposite of not caring about you, they are protecting you as best they can.

Point taken Eru, but all I'm saying is that its not like the day of the blue flu when it was only Gardai that were protesting, without any other rank. Every rank is being effected by the levy including Chiefs, so surely the GRA will have their RB backing as well as AGSI, would this not mean then probies would be safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭opti76

Point taken Eru, but all I'm saying is that its not like the day of the blue flu when it was only Gardai that were protesting, without any other rank. Every rank is being effected by the levy including Chiefs, so surely the GRA will have their RB backing as well as AGSI, would this not mean then probies would be safe?

no ..

afaik its only gra organising this.. agsi will support it but the supers union have remained eerily quiet about the whole thing..

as eru said probies and students can be sacked for little reason so my advise would be to stay away.
    no one will think less of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

I personnally will be in attendance at this march! I will march alongside my colleagues, i will not be missing work to attend, i will work as per normal when i return to work. I dont see what they can do in response to me attending a legal protest!

I am a probationer but i still believe that every members opinion counts on this!

The reason I put this here lads was I went through the same situation during the blue flu when I was on probation and it really makes my blood boil, the fact that we don't all pull together during a crisis. It's almost like a them and us between the rank and file members and management. As I said are we not all in this together?

opti76 wrote: »
    no ..

afaik its only gra organising this.. agsi will support it but the supers union have remained eerily quiet about the whole thing..

A supers job is about politics not policing. And thats why they remain quiet

The reason I put this here lads was I went through the same situation during the blue flu when I was on probation and it really makes my blood boil, the fact that we don't all pull together during a crisis. It's almost like a them and us between the rank and file members and management. As I said are we not all in this together?

No, they arent in it with ye, whatever made you think management give a damn about the Garda on the street? :confused:
    If you are a probationer you`d be well advised not to attend. Listen to the GRA this isnt about not being in it together. Its about covering yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭fermoyboy

What about people working the early and late shifts next Wednesday?? Is there gonna be an un-official blue flu where members go sick just to attend this march??

If not then I can't imagine there being a massive turn out for this march at all.

fermoyboy wrote: »
    What about people working the early and late shifts next Wednesday?? Is there gonna be an un-official blue flu where members go sick just to attend this march??

If not then I can't imagine there being a massive turn out for this march at all.

No, they've only asked for those who are off and can attend. They've also asked for those who are off, if the station's civil service picket the station in the future, to turn up in civies and show you're support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Hey all,

Rang gra hq yesterday asking about the stance on the march on wednesday. They said there is no problem in students/probationers attending the march provided that they are no missing work to attend.

They are advising students/probationers not to get involved in any of the pickets by the civilian staff from the stations ON THE THURSDAY!

They are ACTIVELY ENCOURAGING ALL TO ATTEND MARCH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

From what I've been told, civil servants aren't going to picket the stations. They're going to do the dept and/or other government buildings instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

cushtac wrote: »
    From what I've been told, civil servants aren't going to picket the stations. They're going to do the dept and/or other government buildings instead.

It depends on the centre of course. Some towns would not have another dept to picket outside, while others will need extra protesters to fill up the space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I shredded my letter from the GRA, but I also thought they advised students and probationers not to attend - maybe someone can post a quote.

I would suggest that students and probationers not attend - no point bringing attention to yourself, but they could do something far more substantial. Why not fill in for other members who want to attend? This would facilitate as many members as possible. The hours worked could be returned by arrangement.

This way, everyone contributes in a meaningful way. I can't travel, but have made myself available to cover others. Luckily, I do the work of 5 men anyway:p.

While I respect any workers right, and desire, to march and to be seen to voice their opposition, we, as Gardai, are not in a democracy. The GRA have only the interests of those individuals in mind when they suggest they stay away. By allowing other members to go, you'd be making a real effort and acheive something for the greater good, rather than using the opportunity to vent your individual spleens.

deadwood wrote: »
    I shredded my letter from the GRA, but I also thought they advised students and probationers not to attend - maybe someone can post a quote.

On the GRA letter it has one section about the protest on Wednesday and all can attend. Its in the section about pickets being put on the stations that they are advising that only members rostered for station duties pass the pickets and other members do their best not to pass them. It asks that members who are not working to support our civilian collegues by joining in with the pickets. It advises in this section that students and probationers do not get involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

deadwood wrote: »
    While I respect any workers right, and desire, to march and to be seen to voice their opposition, we, as Gardai, are not in a democracy. The GRA have only the interests of those individuals in mind when they suggest they stay away. By allowing other members to go, you'd be making a real effort and acheive something for the greater good, rather than using the opportunity to vent your individual spleens.

Couldn't have put it any better myself (and I tried!).

Probationers pay their subs to the association and while they're not perfect the least you should do is listen to their advice. I say stay away. I have little doubt but that you will get your turn some day!!!;)