Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S03E16 VOL4 EP3 Building 26 ***Spoilers***

• 17-02-2009 10:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭

Building 26 VOL 4 E03

[us] 17/02/09

Well what did you think?

This thread may contain spoilers without spoiler tags. Dont say you have not been warned.

Syonpsis :
    As the President begins to investigate Nathan's activities, Sylar prepares to find his father. Hiro, Ando, and Matt travel to India to find a new ally, and Claire faces her father's wrath to protect a new friend.
    -tv.com

What did you think? 34 votes

Herotastic
    0% 0 votes
    Meh Not Bad
    14% 5 votes
    Alright
    23% 8 votes
    Vol 3 Bad
    26% 9 votes
    Clare Bennet - Bloody Awful
    35% 12 votes

Just finished watching it there, and it's seriously full of plotholes.

How the hell did Ando and Hiro get to India? They're hunted by the government, surely they would've been caught once they tried to enter passport control, and there was no mention of forged documents either. Hiro hasn't got his power anymore and Ando's is next to useless when he's with someone that doesn't have powers.

The groom gave up too easily. For someone who was above the law, and was willing to beat someone senseless with a saucepan, he gave up with barely a whimper.

.. it all seems to convenient. And Sylar. They ruined his character. He was so much more interesting when the only personality he had was a murderer. Now that they're trying to give him a soul, it just doesn't seem to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Did like the touch of the talking heads song "Psycho killer" on the radio when sylar is driving away with the new kid.

Clare is so bad now. She would be worse than Pat Kenny playing her character. She has three emotions and they all the same. It like,

You're in Danger,
    I hate you dad,
    I love you dad.

All the same.

Sylar had one last chance to redeem himself and he ruined it by going back for the kid.

Not too impressed tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

The India thing was extremely random. It felt like a pale imitation of one of Hiro's quests. Hiro has become a caricature of himself, how many sentences did he speak in that episode that didn't refer directly to "Destiny"? They tied it up all far too neatly with the groom just conceding defeat and giving back Ando. Laaaaaaaame.

I enjoyed all of the Sylar/Luke scenes, I think what they're doing with Sylar is a nice compromise between Volume 1/2's cold blooded killer and Volume 3's wanky "wants to change" ****.

Claire must simply die. It's incredible how she basically has the same dialogue and actions in every single episode now.

New guy's power is extremely shít. Can't see him lasting long.

I was ready to throw in the towel when I thought they were going to randomly decide Tracey had super-strength now. Thank God it was otherwise.

I'm thinking Micah is gonna make a comeback quite soon. He'l obviously be one of the handiest characters to have in the "rebellion". (Side note: I'm hating the use of that word. It just doesn't stir me in this context the way "rebel" or "rebellion" should. I dunno. Seems a bit like they're forcing it.)

Bennet family drama is boring as fúck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Its ****, really really ****.

Only reason im still watchin it is because ive watched from the start. Ive nearly lost all hope of it redeming its self.

I dont think the big fat cancelled button is to far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Only reason im still watchin it is because ive watched from the start. Ive nearly lost all hope of it redeming its self.

Its utter rubbish and how a show goes from the heights of season one to this crap is beyond me. A five year old could take these characters and come up with far better ideas. Its hard to convey just how bad i think this episode was.

Edit - Watch the acting from the guy after Hiro punches him. At least i got a good laugh out of this !

Opr

Its like someones already said:

How the hell they get to India when the US government is hunting them, ffs Sylar only stopped on the hard shoulder and they found him lol?

What was the actual point of going?

How they gonna get back to America?

How did someone know where to send the Fax?

The Indian guy above the Law was pathetic!

Again what the hell was the point of going to India?

Seriously, Noah couldn't hear Claire in the shop when she's stood 6 foot away from him?

Microwave kid's acting is crap!

3 sessions and Hiro still using the same script they gave him on day 1!

arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Its not just the contradictions and mistakes in each episode that annoy me. It has none of the complexity or depth of season one. I remember getting to the end of episodes in season one that made you think,question things,wonder and then long for more.

I now find myself watching something that is nothing like that anymore. Its just a bunch of people running around with super powers that happened to be filmed doing crazy stuff. They have no rhyme or reason to most of the stuff thats going on and maybe this could be forgiven if at least it was good TV but its not and as i said a five year old could do better.

The story arc is rubbish and lacks any imagination. They also now have no regard to any character development and just move along at break-neck speed from one random scene to another.

/sigh

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

I enjoyed the episode , I think that you can tear apart any episode and find flaws in them. It was enjoyable TV. If your watching heroes just to criticize the writing then maybe you should stop ? I watched the spoiler for next week here http://www.heroestelevision.com/ looks good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Definitely one of the most boring episode of Heroes I've seen, I found the plot slow moving and in the whole show we didn't move any step forward. Claires story is still the same, Hiro still trying to be the hero, Nathan still doesn't know weather he's good or bad. I'm a big fan of Heroes but can see a big cancel at the end of this series as it appears to have jumped the shark after series 1
    Sarge wrote: »
    I watched the spoiler for next week here http://www.heroestelevision.com/ looks good

I'm sorry but it doesn't inspire me, an episode with HRG being interrogated by Matt and what's your man's name,,,, yea Peter.

The voiceover on those ads is hilariously OTT though.

EDIT:
    How the hell they get to India when the US government is hunting them, ffs Sylar only stopped on the hard shoulder and they found him lol
    Peter flew them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Talking heads references and songs in Chuck AND Heroes this week?

Epic amounts of win for me :)

I HOPE, PRAY, that this new fella isnt another Claire love interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

This made me laugh;

abbae9cb1091b23103eceb6985425f4d.png

And as you may have guessed I thought this episode was alright.;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Poll needs another option because this episode was a piece of ****. The level of ****iness of this episode as a whole far exceeds the level of ****iness of Claire's acting.

They could have made that scene in the Diner a hell of a lot better by letting Sylar go ape shít on the swat team. He throws one guy away and then jumps out a window. He's got eleventy billion super powers, he should have killed them in a more evil and impressive way. It's not like they can kill you so get all artisitc and explore and experiment with your powers.

Is it just me or are they lining fish boy up to be Claire's new love interest? I hope not.

Hiro - "I'm a hero again. I don't need my powers. YATTTAAAA!" - Shut the fúck up and do something interesting. I think they don't know what to do with hiro now and are just creating stupid scenarios for him and Ando to have a purpose.

Why did Tracy freeze yer man. She knew yer wan (can't remember her name so she'll be referred to as yer wan from here on) was pissed with Nathan and was trying to get him shut down. Yer wan was even screaming that their human or something like that. Surely she would have thought that if she kills someone (especially using her power) yer wan might be more likely to side with Nathan or at least make her more wary of people with super powers. What did she thing killing him would accomplish? There was no way she could escape, yer wan was her only hope and then she just proves how dangerous people with super powers are. *slow clap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭cosgrove80

It's depressing how far the show has fallen. Terrible episode. I keep giving it a chance to improve but it's getting worse week on week.

I wonder if Bryan Fuller's return will improve things? You can't polish a turd though

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

I actually had to double check that the episode was a full length one. It seemed that so very little actually happened. Sadly, I think I've used up all the patience I have with this show and it's just turning into another Stargate Atlantis. I'll give it another few episodes to turn around but after that I think I'll just stop watching, tuning in occassionally when an episode gets a particularly high rating on boards or for season finales. Which is a shame really, since there is a real shortage on shows that pique my interest :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

Couldn't agree more with most here - complete and utter sh*te... All the plot holes with Hiro & Ando are so annoying and who gives a f*ck about them going to India? I like how Tim Kring was going on about how the "Fugitives" volume would see the characters attempt to return to their regular lives and jobs, etc. Yeah, that lasted for like what, 10 minutes in the first episode? FFS, how is taking Hiro to India any different than taking him to 1600s Japan or his own past or all that crap? Oh, but he doesn't have powers now, big deal...

And of course everything else in the episode centered around whiny Claire... Absolutely terrible episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Ivan wrote: »
    I think I'll just stop watching, tuning in occassionally when an episode gets a particularly high rating on boards or for season finales. :(

Heroes writers never have had a great series finale, all just a damp squid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

yes it was complete rubbish and just full of too many plot holes (ignoring the whole super powers)
    But even ignoring that, I think this show was just a victim of its own success. Hiro and Claire clearly never had a proper storyline after series 1/mid series 2, yet as they are the most popular characters (one due mainly to her hotness), they still get most of the screen time.
    Also the show just cant seem to find who they want to be as their "bad guy". The first series was brillant when it was noah and the unknown company he worked for and sylar cutting open heads left, right and centre. Three years later and its just a rehash of the same thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

not absolute crap but something very close to it. The series has lost any sense of anticipation, parkman suddenly developing Isaac's power (which he got from an african who somehow had it too) is hte only way they have of creating a sense of foreshadow but even this isnt as good as series one where people tried to get glimpses of the paintings and work out what they meant. I just find that I dont really care.

Hiro losing his powers: fair enough, time travel was sort of messing things up but give him teleportation or evolve him into hard-man Hiro from the future with the katana. right now, he and Ando are just annoying at this stage and as already said, Ando is pretty much useless without another hero to boost.

Only continuing to watch because I've watched it so far but getting very close to not bothering anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

The whole India story was very very lame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Only continuing to watch because I've watched it so far but getting very close to not bothering anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Not as bad as it was.

Not in the least bit interesting either, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Derek Coleman

It bugs me that Hiro and Ando only went to India because they followed what the painting showed them. Thats not drawing the future its drawing instructions for them.

Did anyone think the cafe in India was very similar to the little cafe place in every other series of Heroes? Infact they use the same 3 or 4 sets in every season.

And whoever thinks that munchkin and her munchkin body is hot is sick. I hate her face and her wigs and her acting. It's so ironic that the one character I want dead CANT die. Fuk sake.

If I acted on this show I would seriously tell my agent I want 'out' as soon as possible. Its the worst show on tv to be associated with.

It bugs me that Hiro and Ando only went to India because they followed what the painting showed them. Thats not drawing the future its drawing instructions for them.

Did anyone think the cafe in India was very similar to the little cafe place in every other series of Heroes? Infact they use the same 3 or 4 sets in every season.

And whoever thinks that munchkin and her munchkin body is hot is sick. I hate her face and her wigs and her acting. It's so ironic that the one character I want dead CANT die. Fuk sake.

If I acted on this show I would seriously tell my agent I want 'out' as soon as possible. Its the worst show on tv to be associated with.

U like the fact that the 2 comic book shops are identical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭GunScope

U like the fact that the 2 comic book shops are identical.

I was just about to mention the comic book shop set .... I thought it was an okay episode, it has caught my attention more than the last volume, but at the same time it is all very "Days of Future Past" from the X-Men universe, when one moment triggers anti-mutant craziness, specifically Tracy's decision to shatter the dude in the corridor in front of DHS woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Just finished watching it there, and it's seriously full of plotholes.

How the hell did Ando and Hiro get to India? They're hunted by the government, surely they would've been caught once they tried to enter passport control, and there was no mention of forged documents either. Hiro hasn't got his power anymore and Ando's is next to useless when he's with someone that doesn't have powers.

The groom gave up too easily. For someone who was above the law, and was willing to beat someone senseless with a saucepan, he gave up with barely a whimper.

.. it all seems to convenient. And Sylar. They ruined his character. He was so much more interesting when the only personality he had was a murderer. Now that they're trying to give him a soul, it just doesn't seem to work.

I agre with all the points except the last one.

Along is good, i get that however there is nothing wrong with having an aly, if someone saves your life twice or if someone even helps you twice you dont kill them even if they have something you want.

Sylar has goals - he is not a mindless murder/pyshopath
    cautioner wrote: »
    I enjoyed all of the Sylar/Luke scenes, I think what they're doing with Sylar is a nice compromise between Volume 1/2's cold blooded killer and Volume 3's wanky "wants to change" ****.

Claire must simply die. It's incredible how she basically has the same dialogue and actions in every single episode now.

I'm thinking Micah is gonna make a comeback quite soon. He'l obviously be one of the handiest characters to have in the "rebellion". (Side note: I'm hating the use of that word. It just doesn't stir me in this context the way "rebel" or "rebellion" should. I dunno. Seems a bit like they're forcing it.)

Bennet family drama is boring as fúck.

+ 1 all over

I agree but dont forget - next episode we get to the that writer from pushing daisies - whats his face
    P

Why did Tracy freeze yer man. She knew yer wan (can't remember her name so she'll be referred to as yer wan from here on) was pissed with Nathan and was trying to get him shut down. Yer wan was even screaming that their human or something like that. Surely she would have thought that if she kills someone (especially using her power) yer wan might be more likely to side with Nathan or at least make her more wary of people with super powers. What did she thing killing him would accomplish? There was no way she could escape, yer wan was her only hope and then she just proves how dangerous people with super powers are. *slow clap*

ye didnt quite understand that myself
    Ivan wrote: »
    Which is a shame really, since there is a real shortage on shows that pique my interest :(

Whats on the list? ill be looking for a new show after i finish the wire
    LoLth wrote: »
    Only continuing to watch because I've watched it so far but getting very close to not bothering anymore.

ill watch it till the end tbh i just wont think about it during the day or stay up till am to watch it (havent done that since season 1) i also wont be in a rush to watch it the day its out and im worried that even if it does get better it will be hard to get people into it, they will like season 1 but allot of fans will have dropped off especially with this season making so little sense

The only thing that can save heroes now and get people watching again is a guest appearance of william shatner

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Life, House, Battlestar Galactica. I'll start watching Sarah Conor Chronicles again since Heroes will most likely be getting my own personal chop. After that then there is catching up on Lost from like 2 seasons ago and near a full season of Chuck :)

I had to prioritorise my time and sadly Heroes took one of the spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

i only watched the first season of chuck might play catchup on that myself. House and BSg have never - ever dissapointed me. i mean out of 5 i can only remember voting 3 once or twice for each show the rest of the time its 4's and 5's all the way.

Actually....

Lets have a look back

Season 1 Ep 13 - no votes below 3 out of 5...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055049039

same for episode 15, 3, 20
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/poll.php?do=showresults&pollid=7509
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/poll.php?do=showresults&pollid=7627

Ep 21 has 1 vote 2 our of 5
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055089473

season 2
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055166216
    2 votes are 2 out of 5
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055186392
    5 votes are 2 our of 5 or worse
    5 votes again
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055155311

i just did a each for old topics and opened a bunch at random but the longer heroes has been running the worse replies the episodes have been getting

people over use the term "jump the shark" and this is the first time ive used it because its 100% clear it cant be a difference of opinion its just fact - rating down, votes down, replies are more critical.

Heroes has most definatly jumped the shark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

To be fair, Hiro and Ando could easily have flown to India on one of Hiro's company's private jets... Yep, Hiro's a millionaire, remember? Yikes...... :/

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,129 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Meh, another poor-to-middling episode. Bryan Fuller may be able to improve things when he makes his influence felt, but to be honest they need to cull a good half-a-dozen characters from the show (they could just remove the focus from them if they don't want to outright kill them): but seriously, Claire Bennet, Hiro Nakamura, Peter Petrelli, and Matt Parkman? They are boring at this point. They may have useful contributions at a plot level, but at a dramatic level we know these characters well enough that any significant changes will seem forced and contrived (especially since they've already had 2 series worth of forced and contrived character "development"). New characters are a good idea but the lesson learnt from series 2 seems to have been "people won't accept new characters", rather than "people won't accept crap new characters".

I'm giving it 2 more episodes to improve before deciding whether to drop it.

To be fair, Hiro and Ando could easily have flown to India on one of Hiro's company's private jets... Yep, Hiro's a millionaire, remember? Yikes...... :/

Still requires passport control etc. And Peter could fly one of them to India but not both has he doesnt have super strength.

Ah, but if Ando zapped him, he'd.... fly... gooder...?

You see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I missed this on monday, but given the responses and poll, i think i was better off just watching Knight Rider. Which is saing a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

cautioner wrote: »
    Ah, but if Ando zapped him, he'd.... fly... gooder...?

You see?

But if he touched Ando he'd lose the power of flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Derek Coleman

iguana wrote: »
    But if he touched Ando he'd lose the power of flight.

hahahahahahaha brilliant.

Reminds me of a Ricky Gervais podcast.

Ricky - Would you get a full body transplant Karl?
    Karl - Yeah if I had to.
    Ricky - Would it be weird when you play with yourself that you'd be touching another mans penis?
    Karl - Well if its a full body transplant then they wouldn't be my hands!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Big pile of poo

Thats is all I am saying.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I haven't watched this episode, and given the discussion here, I don't think I will. I'm only watching for Sylar anyway. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I've watched all three episodes of Volume IV tonight and I found each one poorer than the last. This one was a real disappointment. The India stuff was like a bad episode of Coronation Street. Hiro and Ando have become really lame. I used to like Claire but she's irritating as hell at this stage. Nathan used to be my favourite character. I felt there was a lot of depth to his character and I had high hopes after the season one finale where he saved the day but I really think the character has gone to sh*t. Too much 'I'm doing this for the greater good' bollocks. As was mentioned by AlmightyCushion, why did Tracy freeze the guy and cause a big scene when she heard Abby (think that's her name) say that she was shutting things down? It was so stupid. I'm surprised too they had Sylar go back for the kid as I thought it was cool he left him there. Oh but Sylar is good deep down isn't that what we're supposed to believe? Zzzzz.

I find it unbelievable how this show can continue to disappoint. I mean it should work, most of the original cast is there after all, plus there's lots of cool stuff you can do with powers, and yet it just isn't cutting it any more.

I've been thinking a bit about how this show compares to Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I really liked Buffy but I felt after the gang left high school and went to college that the show had gone past its peak. I still watched it though and generally liked the seasons to some extent even though I didn't expect the show to reach its peak years. I think now in hindsight the main reason for that was the strength of the writing. Joss Whedon knew his characters so well and could make you care about them enough. I don't believe Heroes has had this capacity over the seasons. The characters seem to annoy us now rather than actually make us sympathise with them. It's a shame but it goes to show the value of good writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

pretty poor episode. have been enjoying the volume IV as really had lost interest before the break...that may happen again if it keeps going like this episode :(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I'm also in the "watching 'coz I started" boat. It's just stupid at this point - Hiro in India being a standout for example. I'm also sick of them using bloody prophetic pictures all the time to advance the plot - I'd love to break Matt's hand when he tries to draw them. It's a terrible plot device at this point.

Claire - you suck. You're a whining, moaning, selfish cow capable of displaying one emotion (screwing up your face isn't acting Hayden).

Anyone else afraid "the Rebel" is Micah? Makes sense as we'll go "oh my gawd, it's Micah!" when we see him and he's using technology to communicate.

If I were Fuller now, I'd just have Sylar go in and butcher every single other character. That'd be worth seeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

ixoy wrote: »
    Anyone else afraid "the Rebel" is Micah? Makes sense as we'll go "oh my gawd, it's Micah!" when we see him and he's using technology to communicate.

Seems the likeliest option yeah.... I'm thinking (hoping) it'll be The Haitian though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Sonic_exyouth

err.. just watched it on BBC HD.. is there someone is claires wardrobe?