Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Thumb Putter Grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Graeme1982 wrote: »

Yeah messed around with one but never actually considered using it. Feels like holding a SuperNintendo controller. Can't see any reason it would be technically better or worse than a traditional method but if it instills belief into someone who's struggled with a normal grip then could really work for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I'm intrigued by it, i have to say. I did that most scientific of experiments last night in the house with a smarties tube (not the average one, the big beastly Xmas one!) and it seemd to me that my stroke was much more balanced. I did it with both thumbs parallel, therefore my shoulders were bang in line. I felt as though my stroke was much smoother.

Obviously i'd need to have a proper go of a grip attached to a putter instead of a smarties tube.:D

I'm half thinking of ordering one and giving it a bash on my putter. Although i'm a bit concious of the fact that i'm going to have a massive grip on a 30 inch putter...

Although i'm a bit concious of the fact that i'm going to have a massive grip on a 30 inch putter...

Haha, it'll look like a thumb-tak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

A grip that size must be a hoor to get in and out of a golf bag.
    Also I'd expect the weight of the grip to have as much effect as the size, isn't it about 100g heavier than a standard grip?

kagni wrote: »
    A grip that size must be a hoor to get in and out of a golf bag.
    Also I'd expect the weight of the grip to have as much effect as the size, isn't it about 100g heavier than a standard grip?

They do seem to have brought in a light version of it, although i haven't seen it for sale anywhere other than the website. Must try get a shot of one over the weekend in a golf shop somewhere. If anyone knows where, let me know.

Do you not have an old putter you could try it on? Or pick up and old Anser or whatever somewhere? I think you'd be mad to order it online and put it straight onto your own putter (even if you did try it with a Smarties tube first ;)). At least try find somewhere you could demo one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

You lads have me interested in this.
    I'm going to get some of this pipe insulation, tape it over the grip and see how it feels.
    PipeInsulation_289%20no%20background.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I tried one out for a while and to be honest it was a real pain. On short (6ft and in) putts there was no problem. No advantage either. However on longer puts and especially on those monster 30ft+ putts the two thumb grip forced me to either cock my wrists or to let my shoulders go loose during the swing. As I'm one of those 'Pelz' putters, all angles and straight lines and very little feel, I found the putter to be terrible to use. My whole swing had to change to accomidate the club rather then the club being an aid to my swing.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Spent 2- or so minutes putting with one of these at the weekend. I actually found it ok to use, although it obviously required me to change my putting grip. Probably not linked, but i went out yesterday with my normal putter and putted really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭chud1234

anybody playing one of these and what's your thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Lot more options than the 2 thumb grip now. I use one it's a big wave but the surestroke is nice as well. Really depends what u want i just like a big grip and don't use it with the 2 thumbs on the grip.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

I've been using something similar (an over sized odyessy grip, like this one http://www.golfsmith.com/product/30045328/odyssey-odyssey-jumbo-590-putter-grip-1-8-) on my my backstryke putter for the past couple of months. I've been using the thumbs together putting style for the about a year and the oversize grip is great as it makes the grip alot more comfortable, and I would guess it would help a good bit if you're breaking the wrists during you're stroke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Have been using the same putter for 28 years. Very happy with it (obviously) last year noticed I was 'pushing' putts. On one of my better days I won a putter in a society comp. Lads were all laughing 'sure yer man has a putter nearly as old as himself' and telling me I'd get the value of it at Golfstyle.

After one round ruined by pushing putts I took the new lad out with me.
    It's a Taylormade Rossa Daytona 1 with a 2 Thumb grip.
    Holed a mile of putts, couldn't miss from inside 12'.

On returning to my regular putter I found that I was no longer 'pushing'.

I'd recommend trying the grip. If your regular putter has a standard, easily replaceable grip, then try it out.

thanks for the input people going to give one of them ago .
    were is the best place to try out the different types of grips ?
    how are ye finding the grips for very long lag putting from what I've read
    there great inside 12 foot but a disadvantage from over 30 .
    and last what type of money should I be paying for one .
    thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Halpenny usually have a good selection but they are usually €20+ fitted. Problem is none of them are attached to a club so it is a bit hit and miss.
    Mike

mike12 wrote: »
    Halpenny usually have a good selection but they are usually €20+ fitted. Problem is none of them are attached to a club so it is a bit hit and miss.
    Mike
    cheers mike ill pay them a visit tomorrow :)