Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting funny looks

• 14-02-2009 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭

Ok I know this random and I am not even sure AH is even the place for this! I just thought it was hilarious and want to know has anyone else ever gotten funny looks going down the street? I went to the shop today to buy a 6 pack of cans as the last part of my OH's Valentines day present but here is the funny bit I am overdue my baby so I have a pretty big bump. I have never laughed so much as when I walked down the road and everyone one I passed staring at me and giving me dirties! I should be offended that anyone would think I would drink a 6 pack while so heavily pregnant but i just couldnt stop laughing at the faces of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

you should have lit a fag too.. just for the full effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

I was wondering who that eejit with the 6 pack of cans was.!;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hilarious.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

You should have necked back a bottle of buckfast and puked all over them. Just think how funny the looks on their faces would be then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

You should have told them that it didnt do any harm to the other 9 of them and the 10th gets you double child care allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,979 ✭✭✭445279.ie

You should have staggered a bit as well. Make em think it was your second 6 pack of the day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A six pack for his valentine present?

Can you have a word with my wife?

Should have bought a packed of nappies and asprin as well... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I get funny looks when I inject heroin down the back of the 46A

people can be so rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

stovelid wrote: »
    A six pack for his valentine present?

Can you have a word with my wife?

Well lets face it what fella wants flowers and a mushy card, I got him cans and a sarcastic t-shirt and he's finishing his Dominos pizza I ordered now too:) I felt guilty that he felt he couldnt leave me alone to go meet the lads for a few weeks. So I went and got him his favourite.

Haha I just thought it was hilarious. I dont smoke so that wouldnt have worked.

There would be no need to buy nappies you couldnt miss my bump if you tried!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Should have bought a packed of nappies and asprin as well... ;)

Yeah,go to a large supermarket and get a few beers and nappies, when you get to the check out, say, feck, i don't have enough money for it all and make a big deal about returning the nappies .Priceless result in a crowded shop.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

phasers wrote: »

people can be so rude
    I was just looking.

Jeez, people are so inconsiderate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Waste of gear tbh. Why not inject yourself instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

So can anyone think of an occasion that they have been given funny looks and just thought to themselves, its not what it seems!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭acid.rain

you should have danced a jig while lighting a fag to get more stares:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Well lets face it what fella wants flowers and a mushy card, I got him cans and a sarcastic t-shirt and he's finishing his Dominos pizza I ordered now too:) I felt guilty that he felt he couldnt leave me alone to go meet the lads for a few weeks. So I went and got him his favourite.

that is pretty legendary tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Ewwww. Pregnant.

/flees thread screaming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Well... in Bruxelles on Thursday night, I went to the Duke Box, I put on Balls to the Wall by Accept. I got my balls out and put them on the wall.

Got funny looks then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

When my wife was pregnant with our last child (who is now stuck in Dublin which we can't see very often - thats another story!), the wife would wear a Carlsberg t-shirt because it was bit and loose on her due to her size with bump.
    As any pregnant person will know more so, wearing normal clothes goes out the window.
    So she wore this more comfortable t-shirt. Needless to say, the amounts of daily dirty looks she got was unreal.
    Why in all honestly I didn't know at first.

What did folk think she was doing? Going on a drink binge? It was a t-shirt for fcuks sake!
    (and no, she didn't drink AT ALL before, during and even now, after her pregnancy)

The stupidity and low mental process thinking of some Irish people astounds me daily.
    Complete morans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Biggins wrote: »
    When my wife was pregnant with our last child (who is now stuck in Dublin which we can't see very often - thats another story!), the wife would wear a Carlsberg t-shirt because it was bit and loose on her due to her size with bump.
    As any pregnany person will know more so, wearing normal clothes goes out the window.
    So she wore this more comfortable t-shirt. Needless to say, the amounts of daily dirty l;ooks she got was unreal.
    Why in all honestly I didn't know at first.

What did folk think she was doing? Going on a drink binge? It was a t-shirt for fcuks sake!
    (and no, she didn't drink AT ALL before during and even now, after her pregnancy)

The stupidity and low mental process thinking of some Irish people astounds me daily.
    Complete morans.

Wait a minute, so what you're saying is that your wife drank whilst pregnant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ok I know this random and I am not even sure AH is even the place for this! I just thought it was hilarious and want to know has anyone else ever gotten funny looks going down the street?

When you have a hook for a hand, it tends to be par for the course. They usually do it when I've gone past as oppossed to standing there obviously gawping though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Abigayle wrote: »
    Ewwww. Pregnant.

/flees thread screaming

:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

acid.rain wrote: »
    you should have danced a jig while lighting a fag to get more stares:cool:

No, no.....

'Sorry luv....I jus need a bottle a water....hav ta keep me works clean now I'm shootin up fer two....'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

stovelid wrote: »
    Waste of gear tbh. Why not inject yourself instead?

Are you kidding? That stuff could kill me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

people can be so rude

That's because it's weed at the back, heroin/crack at the front. Did you not read the etiquette notice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

People don't get funny looks in the street in countries where fire arms are legal :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

So can anyone think of an occasion that they have been given funny looks and just thought to themselves, its not what it seems!

yep, once my mam was minding a baby for the weekend for one of her friends, and i took her out in the pram for some fresh air. There was this one woman out walking with her small child, and the child came over to look at the baby. the mother ran over, picked up her child, and the look she gave me, would have curdled milk! she obviously thought it was my baby(i'm 16). People always just assume the worst straight away, don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

If you want a really funny look, go to your bank tomorrow morning with a business plan looking for a loan.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Used to get plenty of weird looks whenever me and my ex used to bring her niece and nephew to the park but then often you'd get some that smiled so happily seeing a young couple with kids, haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ok I know this random and I am not even sure AH is even the place for this! I just thought it was hilarious and want to know has anyone else ever gotten funny looks going down the street? I went to the shop today to buy a 6 pack of cans as the last part of my OH's Valentines day present but here is the funny bit I am overdue my baby so I have a pretty big bump. I have never laughed so much as when I walked down the road and everyone one I passed staring at me and giving me dirties! I should be offended that anyone would think I would drink a 6 pack while so heavily pregnant but i just couldnt stop laughing at the faces of people.

Maybe they thought you were from Roscommon.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Were you wearing pyjamas and slippers as well?

Also, Duke box...lol.