Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OLYMPIC AIRSOFT

• 14-02-2009 2:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭

OK this may seem MAD with a capital M

Airsoft as an OLYMPIC SPORT ,

now its common knowledge that the IOC work off a cash in hand scheme for certain privileges hosting the olympics the odd bling medal or 12,
    so working off DeVore's post that airsoft is high speed table tennis,an olympic sport, and another post on here supports the idea,

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Fyr.Fytr
    He may get a bit of slagging but the boy sure knows how to make a point, couldnt agree more doc, fair play to all concerned, onwards and upwards i say.

Now anychance of getting airsoft into the olympics?

I wouldn't mind some bling ;D

so how bout we start lobbying for AIRSOFT to be at the next OLYMPIC GAMES or the one after it,

heck we may even win some gold medal for our great nation ,

so whos up for it all teams please apply here

all cash donations will be gratefully accepted and passed on to the IOC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭johnboysligo

HARRUMPH!

Me: [pointing to You] : I didn't get a "harrumph" out of that guy!
    Me: Give Gatling a harrumph!
    You: Harrumph!
    Me: You watch your ass.

blazing saddles & Gatling ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Think the US Army are doing this in Iraq with Contractors for around the world ! not gold but CASH........

Back to topic , MAD idea go for it

David

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭big dan

If airsoft was in the Olympics then you'd have loads of properly trained soldiers and the like wuppin ass so you'd have to have 'amateurs' only. Great idea though. would be class to watch too. I'm all for it just as long as rugby 7's gets in first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

Sounds really good! How would ye go about selecting the official Irish olympic team? loads of contests me'thinks! :D
    Would there be a cap of 1 joule accross the board or would we need to go abroad for training? just to even up the odds of power/range if ye get me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

nice idea but would just turn into speed ball with airsoft devices :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

big dan wrote: »
    If airsoft was in the Olympics then you'd have loads of properly trained soldiers and the like wuppin ass so you'd have to have 'amateurs' only. Great idea though. would be class to watch too. I'm all for it just as long as rugby 7's gets in first though.

Real world military tactics do NOT work in airsoft:rolleyes:, they were not developed to go up against an enemy which isnt afraid to be hit, who has time to stick his head back in even after he has been shot at, who has a gun that can fire off hundreds of rounds, with no recoil...on one occasion, a group of army blokes tried a contact drill, they were buthered, its too slow for airosft, its impossible to supress someone when you are out in the open....

So we could win against army people:D sure would be great to ahve it in the olympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

To actually become an olypmpic sport, not only does the sport have be played a significant amount of people world wide, there has to be a currently setup competitive body( ie leagues, tournaments) etc in most countries.

Imo, airsoft isnt a competitive sport. There is no national leagues running weekly even monthly ( granted i consider the take aim cup, which is running once starting next month, ipal needs captains of their asses) But there is no international competitions or leagues either.

Also I've made the point to a number of people and the anwser i get is" I dont agree with competitive airsoft, its for fun and comeptitve gaming ruins the spirirt"

Dontsee it happening.

G3-Nut wrote: »
    Real world military tactics do NOT work in airsoft:rolleyes:, they were not developed to go up against an enemy which isnt afraid to be hit, who has time to stick his head back in even after he has been shot at, who has a gun that can fire off hundreds of rounds, with no recoil...on one occasion, a group of army blokes tried a contact drill, they were buthered, its too slow for airosft, its impossible to supress someone when you are out in the open....

So we could win against army people:D sure would be great to ahve it in the olympics

Surely they'd have the cop on to adapt their skills to suit airsoft. not every enemy is the same so if the military just train to fight one type of enemy then they'll lose.

you misunderstood my post, the military is not trained to go up against AEGs and guys who are not afraid to be shot at....

let me put it like this, it would be like throwing a professional footballer, against the indoor soccer guys in brazil, he would get rings made around him...because indoor soccer, altthough similar or b ased off of soccer, is different

Theres plenty of ex-army and current army personal that play airsoft, and they stand out too much to be honest. They have have fancy hand signals, and be a bit quicker deciding tactics on the fly, but aim wise, its a level playing field really.

G3-Nut wrote: »
    you misunderstood my post, the military is not trained to go up against AEGs and guys who are not afraid to be shot at....

let me put it like this, it would be like throwing a professional footballer, against the indoor soccer guys in brazil, he would get rings made around him...because indoor soccer, altthough similar or b ased off of soccer, is different

I understood. What I meant was that it couldn't be to hard for them to adjust to airsoft and adapt their skills and train for airsoft.

yep thats what i meant by saying they have advantages, they are good working in teams, they do communicate very well, and even at their very 1st airsoft game they seem as iff they played a couple of times already....but that never seemed to affect weather they win or not, 3 of the 4 i play with are PDF, and half the time they dont even stick together lol only 3 of s stay together the other two go gung ho lol

the gung ho lads from the PDF never get to shoot anyone so they're probably just happy to be able to blast everyone out of it!! no ball and chain!

not the best way of putting it, but, yeah, they play for fun, and enjoy it, as do us all, thats what its about:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Ha i make a smart remark and this happens.

Not going to happen but it would be a laugh and a half, irelands only chance of gold anytime soon also (with doping scandal to follow :P)

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Ha i make a smart remark and this happens.

Not going to happen but it would be a laugh and a half, irelands only chance of gold anytime soon also (with doping scandal to follow :P)

yeah lol

" The anti doping panel agreed that Daniel O'Connors consumption of 14 red bulls during his event was considered, a severe boosting enhancement, and has been subsequently banned from airsoft"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

you laugh but redbull is know to have trigger a positive test during drug testing before :) but that's for a different thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

14 red bulls

Pffft, light weight :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

You're more likely to see olympic sewing or carpentry than airsoft.

Its not competitive and based on an honor system.

"How'd you win the gold?"

"Oi ignored me hits woh woh!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

so much for a laugh ,

but for the correction there are leagues and cups played worldwide considering the worldwide players make up 100's of thousands of players if not more,

isnt syncronised swimmimg an olympic sport dont know of any leaguses here thank god but i get the feeeling sonmebody will correct this,

but here some ideas for events

the full metal D.EAGLE throw

the 100 metres dash with full tac gear while being chased by somebody with a lipo modded aeg,

the syncronised room clearing to ballet music team event

the high dive into cover

the 24 non stop maraton skirmish

add more to the list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

Puding wrote: »
    you laugh but redbull is know to have trigger a positive test during drug testing before :) but that's for a different thread :)

pffft cannabis also is on the list of "performance enhancers" YEAH MY ARSE would love to see doped up olimpians lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

At least it would be more tv friendly than some sports, i'd say it would get great viewing figures. Wonder can we get tv3 to do an airsoft factor? :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

tonyj_mc wrote: »
    At least it would be more tv friendly than some sports, i'd say it would get great viewing figures. Wonder can we get tv3 to do an airsoft factor? :-)

well considering theres feirm factor on tg4 which is basically xfactor for farmers:p...well your chances are quite high:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Sorry to rain on the parade, but it would never happen. In the last few years the IPSC attemped to get IPSC shooting put on the olympic programme. It did not go well. They approached the IOC, and were told that all shooting events in the Olympics with the exception of Modern Pentathlon are under the auspices of the ISSF (who didn't want to give up any of their events to let IPSC in, nor to give up their authority over olympic shooting). Things got particularly nasty - go google it if you want the politics. Airsoft would be probably be seen as "IPSC without real firearms". It just wouldn't do airsoft any good at all, even if you had the international organisation to push for it.

pffft cannabis also is on the list of "performance enhancers" YEAH MY ARSE would love to see doped up olimpians lmao
    It was at one point tested for target shooting. The idea was, your sense of time dilates so instead of seeing the sights wobbling as you try to hold on target, you'd see them slowly move about the target and could pick your firing point more easily. In practise, that did happen; but it also affected your sense of motivation and your judgement so not only were you stoned with a firearm in your hands ( :eek: ) but you also didn't care if you won or lost, so you didn't try hard enough to win.

Americans. They'll try anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

HAS NO BODY A SENSE OF HUMOR ,:p:p:p

ITS A BIT OF A LAUGH:D:D

Gatling wrote: »
    HAS NO BODY A SENSE OF HUMOR
    No. Weren't you here for the first few months of this forum?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

someones been on the cat nip...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭johnboysligo

Gatling wrote: »
    add more to the list

the high cap speed winding contest
    the battery toss
    the search the field event (looking for that lost GBB mag)
    the scandle event (drama queens need only)
    the bb spitting event (anyone found spitting at over 1j are out)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭HarryHirsch

As far as I know, airsoft is an official sport in Italy, where they have the same 1 Joule limit.So the should have a league. Btw. it also should be possible to get sporting goods from there, the postage should be less than from Hong Kong and they are definitely 1 Joule or less.

Look here, Italian airsoft shops:

CampoBase