Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early Early morning leaflet drops!!!!!

• 13-02-2009 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭

Has anyone else experienced these B4stards?:mad:
    We frequently receive leaflet drops before 6A.M (YES A.M.)
    They're normally clothing collection con jobs and they often wake the dogs who in turn wake my 2 year old as they bark like lunatics as they think someone's breaking in!!!!
    Then the Fvcker leaves the garden gate swinging open. We once had one at 4A.M.
    Surely this is illegal? Would I have the justification in shooting this person dead?
    I remember last year or the year before some Auld lad in Kerry getting off with chasing some bloke around his garden and shooting him! Surely this is a precident?
    What can be done about this? Is it only me that this happens to?

This morning's one was for Domino's Pizza as well as some other stuff. Gonna order 6 pizzas to a non existant address tonight for as many Domino's outlets as I can!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Make a note of the mobile number on the leaflet and call that number at 2am on private number of course and wake them up.

BTW those clothings collections are cons. Check the permit numbers. They begin WPC which means waste permit collection. They are considering, under law, that your clothing in a bin liner is waste.

The council are giving these people licenses. Talk to your councillor. On the pizza leaflets.......................there is nothing I like better than thinking of pizza at 7am when I get up and find a leaflet. The bins usually eats up those leaflets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

annoying bstards,but devious c**ts too. reckon its a scam for other things too,'ooh i was just dropping in a leaflet'.went home the other day,talking to me mam,she told me me dad went to work one morning at 5,she heard someone opening the porch door and assumed it was him after 4getting something,heard the front door handle go down but no one came in.she looked out the window and saw a guy who was delivering the leaflets walking out the drive way.he was checking to see if the door was left unlocked .

next morning same thing,same guy came around,she heard him do the same went upstairs n woke the two brothers ,they werent too pleased to b woken at 5am by some1 scaring the mam n both of em ran out side screamin n roarin at yer man ,**** ya doing etc n threatinin him with gbh lol he drove off pretty sharpish as both of them are big lads n covered in tattoos n martial artists lol .dont think hell b back again in a hurry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

anplaya wrote: »
    annoying bstards,but devious c**ts too. reckon its a scam for other things too,'ooh i was just dropping in a leaflet'.went home the other day,talking to me mam,she told me me dad went to work one morning at 5,she heard someone opening the porch door and assumed it was him after 4getting something,heard the front door handle go down but no one came in.she looked out the window and saw a guy who was delivering the leaflets walking out the drive way.he was checking to see if the door was left unlocked .

next morning same thing,same guy came around,she heard him do the same went upstairs n woke the two brothers ,they werent too pleased to b woken at 5am by some1 scaring the mam n both of em ran out side screamin n roarin at yer man ,**** ya doing etc n threatinin him with gbh lol he drove off pretty sharpish as both of them are big lads n covered in tattoos n martial artists lol .dont think hell b back again in a hurry.

In english?

Edit: Don't mine me I'm just hungover and grouchy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

The clothes bag fúckers. I haaate them. I get up quite early and its lovely and quiet. the amount of times Ive passed the hall door when one of these gets shoved through the letter box. It happened on Monday at bout 6ish and I nearly had a focking stroke.

This time I saw red and opened the door called him a wánker and focked it at him. He looked at me like I had snakes for hair.

BASTÁRDS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

There has been a lot of car theft going on around my area, And its actually the leaflet people going around and sussing the cars out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I work all hours and as such sometimes is only in bed when these schits snap my letter box real early.
    S I now have a A4 poster in my hall window.
    No junk mail!
    Ne šlamštas.
    沒有垃圾郵件.
    Нет нежелательной почты.

Works some of the time.
    Not as much crap now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭jarvis

My wife was convinced she heard the door handle being checked too. Might be paranoid but might have been true too.
    Surely this isn't legal. Is it? any experts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Door handle can sound very similar to the spring in your letter box cover.

Also in fairness , why the hell would someone leave their front unlocked at 4-5am anyway!

Prevention ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭jarvis

listermint wrote: »

Also in fairness , why the hell would someone leave their front unlocked at 4-5am anyway!

Because they're stupid?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I had considered connecting a battery to my door during the night and remove it in the morning so I wouldnt hurt the postman then reliased I would probably hurt myself many more times than the leaflet guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

listermint wrote: »
    Door handle can sound very similar to the spring in your letter box cover.

Prevention ffs!

porch door is opened which is quite loud,and parents room is downstairs next to the front door. then door handle on front door checked.obviously front door is locked so theyre chancing their arm.youd be surprised how many people forget to lock up id say,especially if they came home from a night on the lash etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

3 o'clock the other night the letter box went. Its a fúcking joke, can we not do something about this? I came down the other morning to find 5 leaflets on the mat. This is in Limerick BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

WD40?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

How about an electric letterbox that is only openable after a certain time? Or maybe an RFID letterbox which only opens to the postman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

I do be going to work at 3am and do see a van dropping people off with bags of leaflets to be delivered. Shocking, whats the need to deliver leaflets at that hour :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

Waaaay off topic, but are they single..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

TPD wrote: »
    How about an electric letterbox that is only openable after a certain time? Or maybe an RFID letterbox which only opens to the postman?

The concept of an intelligent house and in particular an intelligent post box has been deemed a stupid idea by a series of late 80s sci-fi horror flicks. Unless you want to wake up to find your post box raping you Id suggest you invest in some WD40!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Grimes wrote: »
    The concept of an intelligent house and in particular an intelligent post box has been deemed a stupid idea by a series of late 80s sci-fi horror flicks. Unless you want to wake up to find your post box raping you Id suggest you invest in some WD40!!

Actually, I was watching an 80s sci-fi horror with a group of friends. We were all fairly stoned, and someone joked that a house was raping a woman. About five minutes later we realised they were actually right, and sat mesmerised for another 5 minutes of psychadelic lights and sounds that would put a windows media player visualisation to shame.

I think the woman got pregnant too. Didn't watch the end though, so I dunno if she popped out another house or just a shed/flat.

Anyway, on topic, just make sure the letterbox has no rape-capable appendages and it'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    There has been a lot of car theft going on around my area, And its actually the leaflet people going around and sussing the cars out

I would belive this firmly. I was up for work at about 4.30 am, and went outside the front door for a quick smoke. I was just standing there when I heard a mobile phone go off. I walk to the end of the garden and across the road there's a man standing dressed fully in black clothes. I look at him, he turns away pulls up his hood and answers the phone. He then proceeds to hop a wall, and put somthing in the door of a neighbours house.
    I keep watching and he's there for about 30 seconds on the door handle, trying to force the door. I walk back in, grab the torch and a phone, shine the torch on him, he moves along to the next house so on so fort, till he walks away, I walk down see a leaflet, clothing collection ****e...
    It takes about five mins to get out of my area onto the main road, so When I headed to work, littearly 4 mins after this, I see him legging it down the road...it was weird.
    Then 3 weeks later, I wake up find another one of these leaflets in my letterbox this time, and a tire on my car has been slashed!! Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭SouthKerry

If anyone put something in my letterbox at 5am and i heard it( i quiet often stay up late) there would be hell to pay for the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭conor-mr2

I had a moped kept out the front and it was stolen. Im convinced it was these guys.

My car is in the driveway and has a motion sensor on it. (If only it was working when I had the moped) The amount of times Ive heard it buzz off in the middle of the night is ridiculous and its usually accompanied by the presence of the litter mail. I throw the crap right in the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭djsupreme

I know I suspected dodgy behaviour for a while, but thought i was just being paranoid. But why on earth would people feel the need to do these leaflet drops overnight?

There should be a law preventing leaflet drops within certain hours. As people mentioned earlier, it can set dogs off which can set babies off etc etc. In the meantime, some kind of electric shock system connected to the letterbox?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 K4

Biggins wrote: »
    I work all hours and as such sometimes is only in bed when these schits snap my letter box real early.

Works some of the time.
    Not as much crap now.

Brill idea. I have "NO JUNK MAIL" up already but it is ignored a lot mainly because the delivery people can not read English....Any chance you could translate "Addressed Post ONLY" too !!! Ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭craiginireland

Biggins wrote: »

Works some of the time.
    Not as much crap now.

We did that and for months they didn't drop any crap in. Any that did got reported to the litter warden.. During the bad weather last week the sign blew off - since then we've been spammed big time.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I would belive this firmly. I was up for work at about 4.30 am, and went outside the front door for a quick smoke. I was just standing there when I heard a mobile phone go off. I walk to the end of the garden and across the road there's a man standing dressed fully in black clothes. I look at him, he turns away pulls up his hood and answers the phone. He then proceeds to hop a wall, and put somthing in the door of a neighbours house.
    I keep watching and he's there for about 30 seconds on the door handle, trying to force the door. I walk back in, grab the torch and a phone, shine the torch on him, he moves along to the next house so on so fort, till he walks away, I walk down see a leaflet, clothing collection ****e...
    It takes about five mins to get out of my area onto the main road, so When I headed to work, littearly 4 mins after this, I see him legging it down the road...it was weird.
    Then 3 weeks later, I wake up find another one of these leaflets in my letterbox this time, and a tire on my car has been slashed!! Scumbags.

Started a thread about the very thing a while back
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055304452

There's defo some people using the excuse to their advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

keen wrote: »
    Started a thread about the very thing a while back
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055304452

There's defo some people using the excuse to their advantage.

Defo, Considering the clown did'nt bother to place any leaflets in the other estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Yeah, we've had some late night visits as well in the Sandyford area. One of my housemates wasn't sleeping too well and heard the letterbox going at 4.30 am...

Sounds well dodgy to me.... I have no doubt that they were scoping the house..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Well I used to be delighted when they dropped plastic bags in the door,saying 'please give us all your unwanted goods,for poor people in wherever',so I was like great Im always short of black sacks,so Id fill them up with rubbish,and on the collection days they had marked on them,Id leave them out my unwanted goods aka my rubbush for the week,they can send them on to the poor people they speak of it the pigeon english leaflets that accompany the leaflets,I also wrap the bags real tight so they cant peak in and see whats in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

They have a tendency to leave them on my doorstep. I think I'll call the cops and have them done for littering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Are there not contact numbers/company names on all these leaflets? Complain Complain Complain!

Surely persistently calling at/putting stuff through your door is illegal after a certain time, like noise pollution?