Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reaction from the joint statment between IAA and IASRA

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I cant really say much about it except that is seems like a reasonable solution to the problem.

I'd like to know if the IAA and IASRA still intend to communicate through Boards. There was a point on another thread which said they wanted to reduce the impact of Boards r words to that effect? From my selfish pov, I would welcome a statement , but on a new thread. I dont want to derail this one.

It seems wiser heads have prevailed...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

FYI - The IAA did not agree with that suggestion.

I will support airsoft on boards.ie as it was where airsoft came to breath when legalised, where the first games were organised and where the IAA itself was dreamt up, organised and setup. I appreciate what boards has done for airsoft and i see it as the biggest airsoft forum and single point of contact for the sport.

Regards,
    Conor Scolard
    IAA Chairperson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭G-TAC

Myself and Evelyn would like to show our support for this statement. It is a good day for Airsoft. Both the IAA and the IASRA are to be commended on it. Well done lads.
    Martin and Evelyn,
    G-TAC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Well done Lads .

David
    Ops Command .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

i must say im glad with the outcome of this, im not so opposed to them now that we know whats what so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Well done everyone. And I mean both parties. Cool heads prevail, faith repaid.

Now that the largest source of friction has been resolved, let's get on with developing the sport we all love.

Ain't no stopping us now, we're on the move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

Well done lads...talk aobut a sigh of relief!! outstanding work as always:D

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'm sure this couldnt have been easy. I think the IAA found a good solution by the sounds of it, I also think that the IASRA should be commended for being big enough to see the needs of the community and the industry and putting them first. You've shown a lot of maturity and the ability to self-govern.

Dont underestimate the impact of that, from my experience all the government wants to do is have a feeling that they can leave you to your own devices and self-rule and not have a bunch of nutters in charge.

If you can handle internal disputes with this level of maturity, it speaks highly of the leadership as a whole.

I think I can bugger off now and stop intruding :)

Gandalf has been bothering me to go play this speed-pingpong game of yours so when it stops snowing you guys might even get a chance for revenge some time :)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Congratulations to all involved.

Good to see we can act together and put all the BS behind us for the good of the community.

I'm looking forward to taking part in, supporting and promoting both organisations in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

congrats to those who have decided to compromise

looks good to the outsiders and thats important

can we un ban derek from boards please dev (~i know he did wrong but he was probably frustrated about not being able to communicate)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Tigger wrote: »
    can we un ban derek from boards please dev (~i know he did wrong but he was probably frustrated about not being able to communicate)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Lads can we stay off that subject for the moment. You do not get site banned from boards lightly. The request has been made and I am sure DeVore will consider it. I do not want this thread turning into a whole load of +1, -1's or worse.

Consider that this person was site banned, reprieved and then earned a second site ban because of continued behaviour that he promised to curb and subsequently set up duplicate accounts to promote his business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

DeVore wrote: »

Gandalf has been bothering me to go play this speed-pingpong game of yours so when it stops snowing you guys might even get a chance for revenge some time :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭General Grobel

Did anyone see the other joint statement between IAA and IASRA?
    Yesterday representatives from both the IAA and IASRA held a joint meeting at the request of the Department of Justice Equality and Law reform to discuss several topics regarding Airsoft in Ireland. The meeting was productive and open, and the two bodies put forward their views of where the future of our sport should lie. The department representatives raised some serious concerns they have with Airsoft and highlighted that other bodies such as the Gardai, Customs, the Army and An Post are voicing similar concerns to them. The department also highlighted concerns over illegal skirmish activities.
    The upcoming Miscellaneous Provisions Bill was discussed, it is to comprise of one section in particular pertaining to Airsoft which will address the main concerns tabled by the government. One of the key creations of the bill will be a specific offence covering the irresponsible brandishing or carrying of a replica firearm in a public place.
    The department put forward strong proposals to deal with the issues relating to customs, ballistic testing and appearance of Airsoft devices. One of the main proposals being a complete ban on all Airsoft devices except those made of clear plastic, similar to the Canadian approach. This was debated by the attendees and the department highlighted how this would resolve the issues which they are having with Airsoft, in particular that of appearance. The IAA and IASRA both agreed that this was not a viable solution for the Airsoft community in Ireland and would result in a large decline of the sport and would potentially drive it underground.
    After much debate, the representatives of the department put forward an alternative solution which, only with strong community support, could be made viable. The proposition put forward would be a restriction on all personal imports of airsoft devices by individuals and further to this, certification of retail outlets would be put in place. This means that only genuine dedicated airsoft retailers who agree to a set of minimum retail standards would be granted a licence for sale and import by the department. Individuals who wish to import their own equipment from international sources would have to do so through a licensed retailer.
    We will be publishing detailed minutes from the meeting soon. We realise that the Department’s proposals may not sit well with some private collectors or players, and some existing retailers. However, we feel this is a good alternative to an outright ban, or the Canadian solution which nobody really wants. We will be working closely with the Department to refine and put in place guidelines for retailers that will be fair, balanced and enforceable.
    The IAA welcome everyone to submit their suggestions or help in relation to this whether it be for or against these changes. Please send details to info@irishairsoft.ie
    There is a thread for discussion of this matter available on our forum here.
    The IAA has documented its proposals and positions on legislative change, and presented these proposals to the Department of Justice at this meeting. This document is available here, or from our “Official Documents” section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I look forward to the minutes, but early indications are positive.

Thanks to all who attended, I was quite oposed to any merger, but realistically, working together is best for all, there are seperate interests for players and retailers, so seperate groups makes sence.

I am glad to hear that the IAA though will remain as the governing body, this should continue as their work for airsoft, and their current position in the community will not change regardless of any other organisations, taking these organistaions into account is as much as they can be asked to do.
    The sport has been secured and maintained up to now under their stewardship, and I'm happy with what they have done.

Airsoft in Ireland is first and foremost comprised of Airsofters, and their interests, this is the priority, and that should never change, airsofters are represented by the IAA.

I am perfectly happy for retailers to have their own organisation, to represent their interests, but as far as being in a position of power over the comunity as a whole, as head of the comunity, that is a situation we can never allow, and I hope that will remain.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Sounds like a great solution to me and a huge step forward for the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭donmaga1

Well done. It is good to see everyone is moving in the same direction.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Anything that cuts out the c**p from airsoft and lets us get on with playing and selling gets my thumbs up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

Looks like the foundations of a stronger, more cohesive Airsoft representative body are in place. When meetings take place with the DoJ, An Garda Siochana, Customs etc., they can now show that we are all united in our aims.

One clear voice will be heard.

Well done to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

horgan_p wrote: »
    Anything that cuts out the c**p from airsoft and lets us get on with playing and selling gets my thumbs up.

My sentiments exactly. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭trentf

excellent work by all. Thats the best possible deal that could have been hoped for and all sides will benefit, good for the players, retailers, the economy and having a unified voice to satisfy the governments concerns. Everyone's a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭madmaxi

My sentiments exactly. :)

+ 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 stj

thank god for an amicable solution
    As someone new to the sport (2 months) who only gets out on sundays
    i have been hugely impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of other players and staff at a number of retailers and sites from both sides of this argument , so when i began reading up on boards about airsoft i was disheartened to learn of this split.
    Well done to all for putting their differances aside,at least now i can feel happy joining the iaa and my local site knowing that airsoft has a future:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭steevee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

A very positive day for Airsoft in Ireland.

Good to see this outcome. It was unexpected and is highly welcomed by me (and many others it seems).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I've always put my full faith in the IAA and how they represent me as an Airsofter.

Even at times when I immediatly may not agree with a idea or proposal, I stand back and realise there is a reason why they are on a commitee and I'm not, and they are the right people for the job.

I look foward to see how this pans out, and hopefully it will be a positive step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

I've always put my full faith in the IAA and how they represent me as an Airsofter.

Even at times when I immediatly may not agree with a idea or proposal, I stand back and realise there is a reason why they are on a commitee and I'm not, and they are the right people for the job.

I look foward to see how this pans out, and hopefully it will be a positive step.

He may get a bit of slagging but the boy sure knows how to make a point, couldnt agree more doc, fair play to all concerned, onwards and upwards i say.

Now anychance of getting airsoft into the olympics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭kiwi84000

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    He may get a bit of slagging but the boy sure knows how to make a point, couldnt agree more doc, fair play to all concerned, onwards and upwards i say.

Now anychance of getting airsoft into the olympics?

I wouldn't mind some bling ;D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭The Warehouse

There was a very mature bunch of people in the meeting. As I watched (and I told my partners afterwards) I thought that my business and my much loved sport is in safe hands in these two new organisations.

I watched the IAA listening (really listening) to why we all formed this new organisation and assure us all that those "perceived mistakes" will never happen again on their watch. said with a sincerity that makes me believe it. I also saw IASRA being very reasonable in their requests and wording. Both organisations seemed happy with the result, they have not yet deviated from what they said infront of me on the day and I don't think that they will!

Well done men, I no longer have to worry!