Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí on bikes

• 12-02-2009 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭

Just went for a spin there and got pulled over by a garda on a bike :eek:. Haha, ever happened to anyone before?

Funny situation. Fair play to them, I know it's terrible but I didn't think they did anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

What did you get pulled over for? Speeding....slipstreaming tailgating another cyclist...lights issue???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Eoin D

What did you get pulled over for? Speeding....slipstreaming tailgating another cyclist...lights issue???

Cycling the wrong way down a one way street. Fair enough but the road is a good width, is very open and has hardly any traffic! Hence why I cycle down it.

I was so gobsmacked at how ridiculous the situation was that I didn't even explain that to him.

I'm looking for a picture of the road now, if I find it I'll post it. The one way thing isn't as bad as it sounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Eoin D wrote: »
    Cycling the wrong way down a one way street. Fair enough but the road is a good width, is very open and has hardly any traffic! Hence why I cycle down it.

Yeah, I can justify doing the same in my car. Very little traffic at 4 in the morning so I ignore everything.

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Yeah, I can justify doing the same in my car. Very little traffic at 4 in the morning so I ignore everything.

I didn't say I was justifying what I was doing, I just meant explain why I was doing it. In fact I agreed with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Happened to me too once, the wrong way on a one way street thing on a bike.
    Didn't tell them I was on my to driving school :D

Actually, I think I'll get on to the council and ask for cycle pats on the road. It easily has the required width and is right beside a school so it would promote safe cycling, also a very scenic road. Surprised they're not there already to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

2 guarda ( ladies ) cyclist IN the Blanch shopping centre WITH their bikes this afternoon ... I would have taken a photo if I hadn't been on my way to Vodafone to bring my damaged Camera Phone back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 john77

Got pulled by a bicycle Garda in Phibsboro a couple of years ago. He was stopped at traffic lights ahead of me & cos I had no lights on I tried to pull up behind him as quietly as possible. Of course he turns round and notes that I've got no lights - he proceeds to chew the ear off me for ten minutes, which was fair enough. Feebly, i said i was held up at a friend's house & wasn't expecting to be out so late. He points to the cars going past, & says "well i'm sure these people weren't expectin to be out so late, but you don't see any of them with no lights on!" I thought "eh, ok..." but thought better of arguing, put the bike on the footpath, waited a minute of two for him to move on down the road & then cycled the rest of the way home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

I met a Garda who was going the wrong way on a one-way road this week.
    He had been cycling on the footpath (is this better or worse?) but dropped down to be on the road probably to not disturb me as I was running towards him on the footpath, in the direction of usual traffic flow, not that that matters to a speeded-up pedestrian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

jlang wrote: »
    I met a Garda who was going the wrong way on a one-way road this week.
    He had been cycling on the footpath (is this better or worse?) but dropped down to be on the road probably to not disturb me as I was running towards him on the footpath, in the direction of usual traffic flow, not that that matters to a speeded-up pedestrian.

Rules of the road don't apply to An Garda Siochana.

My mistake is that the garda station is also along the same road, in fact, a garda car had driven past me before hand now that I think of it.

Anyone know Greystones? It was the coast road there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

2 guarda ( ladies ) cyclist IN the Blanch shopping centre WITH their bikes this afternoon ... I would have taken a photo if I hadn't been on my way to Vodafone to bring my damaged Camera Phone back

Probably got lost.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

What really pisses me off about what happened to the OP is that every day I see the Gardai cycling on pavements with absolutely no regard whatsoever about pedestrians. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Why the hell should they get away with it? As always with the Irish polizai, it's "Do as I say, not as I do."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Cycling the wrong way down a one way street

Perfect opportunity for the "But I was only going the one way, officer" defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

hehe, on the way from one pub to another in a race with Karma, I went through a reddish light in front of a lady guard on a bike -she stopped Karma and asked if he knew me.... the legend said no :)

*I don't condone red light jumping, but in a race for a round, I had to yer honour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

they brought their bikes into the shopping centre? :eek:

what kind of deranged individual would do such a thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

cycling around a shopping centre, I've always wanted to do that.
    Kinda do it in a small way, in the Lidl on Cork st, people lock their bikes at the trolly area in the foyer/hall way, and have rolled in/out the door a few times, when no one is around

Would love, to cycle through Pennys on Parnell/Henry st.
    Go in the Parnell st entrance, take the escalator down(without dismounting), and sprint for the far exit... , if the door was open.. good chance someone could make it once. Be more fun with the cycle cops chasing you, but will leave that for the next time I am making "Police Academy" move..
    And then wait a week for the "no cycling" signs to go up..

The Ilac centre too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

niceonetom wrote: »
    they brought their bikes into the shopping centre? :eek:

what kind of deranged individual would do such a thing?

That black bar just makes the picture look seedy!
    Which it is, one should never wear red booties with red tights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Raam wrote: »
    That black bar just makes the picture look seedy!
    Which it is, one should never wear red booties with red tights.

I actually like the red overshoes.
    My black ones are getting old and worn, and I think I need a new pair.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

ROK ON wrote: »
    I actually like the red overshoes.
    My black ones are getting old and worn, and I think I need a new pair.:)

Don't get me wrong, I'm as much a fan of red booties as the next man. Now there's a statement I never thought I'd make. I think black ones would have completed the suit better. Funkyzeit mit Raam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

Where do they come from? Gards on bikes.
    Is it something they applied for, when signing up to the gards?
    Or is it something they got saddled with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

I was at the ringing of the bells two years ago for new years in Christchurch. There was a fairly large crowd and some drunk scummer was forcing his way through the crowd, roaring, shouting, pushing people out of his way.

Next thing a Garda on his mtb went past me. He was cutting right through the crowd really well. It was actually quite impressive how he managed to get through the amount of people milling around. Couldn't quite make out what he did when he got up to the guy, but he was off the bike so quickly, it looked like he went straight into the guy.

Regarding the cycling on footpath stuff, I saw on the bikeradar forum, an english cop saying that the bikes are used for community policing, so getting out and talking to people. Being able to cycle onto the footpath makes them more visible and more approachable apparently.

RedPlanet wrote: »

Yeah they've to apply for it. My brother is trying to get into it where he's stationed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

met one last night, gave out to me for stopping at a red light??? but i had stopped, unlike the lunatic on the other bike... :P guilty by knowing him i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Karma wrote: »
    met one last night, gave out to me for stopping at a red light??? but i had stopped, unlike the lunatic on the other bike... :P guilty by knowing him i guess.

I would have stopped, but you know, in a race and all that... *ahem* it was thinking of going green when I went through, honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

Was in deepest Spain last year and came across an american import on the TV with sub-titles, a cop show centered on a mountain-bike division that seemed to cruise up and down the sea-front of LA or some other Californian city. Kind of like Baywatch on wheels, including obligatory bimbos and wall to wall perfect teeth. Really cheesy stuff but great fun. I recommend setting up something similar in Limerick immediately.

DARKIZE wrote: »
    Was in deepest Spain last year and came across an american import on the TV with sub-titles, a cop show centered on a mountain-bike division that seemed to cruise up and down the sea-front of LA or some other Californian city. Kind of like Baywatch on wheels, including obligatory bimbos and wall to wall perfect teeth. Really cheesy stuff but great fun. I recommend setting up something similar in Limerick immediately.

EDIT:

Pacific Blue

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pacific_Blue_(TV_series)

Gas, was on here for a while as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

2 guarda ( ladies ) cyclist IN the Blanch shopping centre WITH their bikes this afternoon ...
    With all the gear attached to their bikes, it was probably too risky to leave the bikes outside. Blanch Centre has very wide 'walkways' - you could easily cycle around there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

EDIT:

Pacific Blue

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pacific_Blue_(TV_series)

Gas, was on here for a while as well

Thanks Eoin. Now I can finally sleep at night :)

What we need is a similar series based in Dublin......call it "Liffey Heat". How cool would that be ??

The campaign starts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The only time I seen them in action was when the card turned a corner to go up a hill some lad coming down the hill on a bike nearly went headon into him.

The Garda left it at that until he tried to cycle off and his chain came off.The Garda ran after to the lad to give out to him.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Those sneaky feckers keep trying to get run over by me! Seriously I have NO problem with cyclists in general (particularly considering the forum I'm posting in ... hi guys ;)) , but those Garda cyclists don't seem to know the rules of the road at all! I've found it a few times in heavy traffic in town, I'll be moving along slowly and next thing a Guard-on-a-bike will come zooming out in front of me between two parked vans, or he'll sneak up from behind and try to trap himself between my car and a parked vehicle I'm coming up to ... I swear they're actually trying to test me!!

Thanks Eoin. Now I can finally sleep at night :)

What we need is a similar series based in Dublin......call it "Liffey Heat". How cool would that be ??

The campaign starts here.

I was going to order you the DVDs but apparently it never made it that far ;)

I wouldn't mind trying out for said show. I want to be the cop who's fed up with authority and just doesn't give a damn, the rogue, the lone wolf, the one who will cycle in at the last minute and won't let the team down....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

RedPlanet wrote: »

Don't worry RedPLanet, I got your joke:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

just drive off he wont be able to catch ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Moreofthatjazz

i was goring around parnell square the wrong way last week and driving towards me was el law enforcementio, so dutiful citizen as i am, i stopped and looked sheepish, he rolled up next to me with the window down "D'you know youre cycing the wrong way round the square lad"
    me- "yes, guard"
    El Law- "why arent you on the footpath?"
    me-"??????"
    El Law-"Where are you from lad?"
    me-"kerry"
    El Law-"Well i would have under stood if you had said you were from France, now on the footpath"
    Me-"????????????? okay!"
    so i proceed past the maternity hospital enterance at snails pace leaveing a trail of bemused confusion in me wake... i sometimes wonder and then i wonder "why bother?"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I've been stopped for going through red lights at pedestrian crossings, and another time for cycling at night without lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Dan Dare

Got stopped in London cycling on pavement on Clapham High Street, policeman (from North of England) was very polite but explained that they were inundated with complaints from the public (which the letters page of the Evening Standard confirmed). Never been bothered in Cork, so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

I think it would stink... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Was stopped in traffic once and heard a conversation start behind me. Turned around to see a bike Garda had been weaving up through the traffic and then stopped when he caught a van driver texting on his phone. He was taking his details when the lights changed and I had to go.

As for cycling up a one way street - the story is told of Donogh O'Malley, the government minister who was stopped doing the same thing (back when government ministers drove themselves!!).

The guard told him he was going the wrong way up a one way street, to which O'Malley replied that he didn't realise it was a one way street.

The guard then asked him if he had not seen the arrows, to which O'Malley replied
    "Arrows????? - I didn't even see the feckin' Indians!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

nearly hit a bike guard today, he pulled straight out infront of me as i was going down dame street, i would have stopped to give out to him but i had red lights to break and oneway streets to cycle contraflow on..............
    but in all fairness he didn't even look at the direction of traffic coming towards him, hi viz panniers don't make you immune to being runover