Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The best of airsoft

• 12-02-2009 6:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

1. What is it that draws you back week after week despite miserable weather and the rumored credit crunch? What is it that makes Airsoft so addictive?

2. And what is your favourite memory that demonstrates the great airsoft community spirit?

My answers:
    1. Shooting the boards.ie mods. :D Seriously though, it's the players. Such a friendly welcoming bunch of people with a shared passion (for airsoft!) Airsoft is still a relatively cheap sport as well. Where else can you get 7 hours of class entertainment and fitness training for less than €30? And lastly....I love getting to be a pretend soldier for a while....something I couldn't do in reality.

2. The HRTA birthday bash was a great community event. The generousity of the players when bidding in the charity auction was amazing. And lots of people gave their time, services or equipment as prizes. I don't recall seeing anyone that day without a smile on their face. That's what it's all about.

Now, add your own answers. Go on, it only takes a minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

toy guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

An active sport, that promotes team work. More importantly for me its going out week after week and improving myself. I have never entered a sport where I didnt take it seriously, and try to be the best at it I could. I've noticed more recently my skill level has largely increased, and I want that to continue. I have my own goals and objectives. The chance to portray myself as a pretend solider every week is something I just love, the tactical manouvres, firing toy guns, the works I absolutely love it.

My eyes was opened to me in PR2 in regards milsim, and it is what airsoft is ment to be, its why airsoft exists, its where the real gaming is. I want to attend much more milsim, and I hope more milsim hapens in this country soon.

As I recently said my first day in HRTA was a serious feeling of community and something that will stick with me. But also the Gathering 1. It is where really, I met most of the heads of the community and people i call friends, and who all helped me immensly.

Paul Horgan I met from Cork, who kindly gave me a mesh mask to play with for the day.
    Dave O'Connor, was kind enough to give me a lift down to galway without ever meeting me.
    I was made feel welcome by the band of hawks, na mhadra, senior ding dong and others at their little tent area, and its where I met most of the people I now call friends and have a serious amount of respect for.
    SeniorDingDong, Band of Hawks, Na Madra( imo one of the highets skilled teams around, and often overlooked) Dave o Connor, Keith douglas among others.( KD who I sat and witness him field strip an mp5 in like 20 seconds, i was in amazement)

It was also the first time I was introduced to the wonder bloke that is TommyBoy, what a man :) I also remember firing alongside Corks infamous Puding, firing at our own team mate mind you.

Its where I really hung around and had chats with Richie, I dont think he will ever forget when I was doing a very productive sneaky attack, and he absolutely destoryed me in the face with a hail of semi auto.

I <3 Airsoft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

1. Adrenaline - the elixir of youth.
    I get to meet new people and shoot them.

2. First time I met a couple of Phillipino and East European players, not much english, it did'nt matter a damn we just waved our guns at each other and shook hands - brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭fletch...

Airsoft was a big turning point for myself as I used to be a drunken mess (Joking aside) whenever I wasnt in work, So now I actually have a reason to stay sober, have something to do that doesnt envolve drink and its the only sport or bit of activity/movement I have any interest in.

Most of the other gun nuts are dead sound especially the Vipers, theres nothing more fun then a decet honest skirmish with well executed teamwork.

Theres millions of other things that bring me back to play such as
    1: The missus gets rid of me for a day/ I get rid of her for a day
    2: The Viper Squad, great team play and a great bunch altogether.
    3: The general craic
    4: Trouble free weekends with a good community
    5: Woods are better then town
    6: The toy guns and equipment ect ect BLAH BLAH

I could go on and on but ye get the idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

What everyone else said. There's no politics on the field, I've never had a bit of bother from any players.

That the banter off field, the Gathering II was brilliant for the general acting the mick, and PR2 was one of the most enjoyable trips I've had. I needed to sleep for a week after it but it's the best holiday I've had in years. Roll on Berget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The main thing for me is the community. A great bunch of varied individuals who enjoy a good honest laugh (except Doc who shot me way too much after I shouted hit the weekend before last, he claimed he slipped!).

Running like a teenager again when I do my patented pistol suicide charge and finding out I am 39 when I get home, collapse on the sofa and wake up 2 hours later (realising that the then girlfriend has rang me multiple times to find out where I was. The poor girl is still marrying me later on this year).

At the first Gathering hidden in the middle of the forest being engulfed by a wave of Filipinos who are without doubt the quickest airsofters on the planet (and also some of the best as well with a great attitude) :)

gandalf wrote: »
    The main thing for me is the community. A great bunch of varied individuals who enjoy a good honest laugh (except Doc who shot me way too much after I shouted hit the weekend before last, he claimed he slipped!).

HAHA, yeah that was hilarious, there was two guys around you who i was trying to shoot next, but the wind was taking them into your direction, and the lads that were dead watching, would verify i did fall on my snot, while firing haha :D

That was a manic day for myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Mrs MaxForce

Seeing all of you coming down to G-tac and playing together and having a good laugh ,and meeting one another and making new friends, and swapping stories around the campfire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

......It was also the first time I was introduced to the wonder bloke that is TommyBoy, what a man :) .......

Aw shucks:o Back at ye dude.

For me it is:
    1. The fact that I have a sport that I can really get my teeth into.
    2. I have always had an interest in military hardware (although not to the level some people have. You know who you are.) and being able to buy almost anything I would like is excellent.
    3. I was sh1t at saving money but now I actually have a reason to put it by.
    4. I am actually active for the first time in years. I now have a better reason to get fit. The other one was the whole health bit but I am not buying that.
    5. This year I am going abroad twice to something other than sit on my ass, drink till I fall down, eat dodgy food and chase skirt. Hold on, that sounds like fun.
    6. Meeting a reeeealllly diverse bunch of people, shooting them, making friends and having a laugh.

Long live Airsoft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭johnboysligo

I dun like to shoot other folk (said in redneck voice)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

the first time i realised that i didn't have to shoot 7,000 rounds be 20 minute game but dug in witha bog std p90 and shot 7 kills in a row all below the knees

and they took every one while laughing

sportsmanship and an understanding that its not about winning its anout p[-laying together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

1. I need the excercise

2. I get to inflict pain on others

3. Its just so much fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

although i had skirmished quite a few times before hadn, it was only for 3 hours at a time and with no gear, just renting and trying to get into the sport...generally, im a very outgoing guy and am the frontline when it comes to trying women on a saturday night(i go lonewolf ahead of the boys lol get in there 1st), i was fairly shy at my 1st few skirmishes, i didnt talk to anyone, everyone seemed toknow eachother and be in their groups, so i didnt want to intrude, especially as a noob...

My 1st skirmish while kitted out i i was against the likes of moggser and fiach, an maidhra( i dont speak irish)...great day and learned alot form mistakes i made, as these bunch of lads make sure if you make a mistake, you can tink about it walking back to respawn:cool: extremely skilled bunch

the 1st memorable skirmish i had was where i got a decent amount of kills, played some extremely tough games, and had some proper gear including 2 aeg's(where airosft gets really gun is when youre kitted out) and met a few sound blokes, was a day in HRTA against the Hawks, it was still to this after tens of more skirmishes, one of my favourite...I met great lads like, drpepper, doc, fayer,gerrout, pk, andy_g, niel, paul c...lads who talked away to me and gave loads of tips...i had a hilarious moment where i bang killed doc and he fired his pistol at the same time, lol poor fecker had no ammo lmao, only for that i was gone lol...

the one thing that brings me back is the community, over and over again its open arms and safeties on:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Killinator

1. The gathering 2, me, SniperSight and Pvt.Joker(Dave) controlling the red bus as hoards of enemy came from the forest line, it was like Nazi zombies, we knew sooner or later they would overrun us but we fought on, empty mags piling up in the bus, guns on seats ready to use when a gun was out of ammo, me sticking my head out the sunroof(without a gun) and calling out enemy movement, the sound of rounds spraying the bus, I even enjoyed when I lost my 3rd and final life, I was hit by a single shot square in the head as I was yelling at someone(I think it was dave) to keep his head down, the shock and surprise of it knocked me off my feet, and once one of the trifactor was down it was the domino effect after that.
    The 2nd game where we attacked also had our epic crawl through the long grass(10 mins) only to be gunned down in our heroic* charge by Ozzie

*The word heroic may not be suitable, ill-advised is probably better:D

2.G-TAC, Although its the only place I have skirmished, I have never really felt the need to skirmish anywhere else, thats all that needs to be said about it really.

3. My fellow airsofters, The freindliest bunch of people you could hope to meet, and given their there to possibly shoot at you its all the more surprising:D
    I've never had so many apologies for someone blowing half my front tooth away:D
    Sure theres arguaments and bs, but what kind of world would it be if people didnt argue, there would be no wars(good thing) but then no guns/gear to base airsoft off of(bad thing)

4. Lying in a muddy ditch waiting to ambush an enemy team and seeing the enemy in your scope knowing their oblivious to your position

5. And of course the opturnity to act like a soldier for a few hours, It dosnt make sense to alot of onlookers, but dammit we know why we do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Jimbobak47

1. Airsoft best drug going! its beats XTC for the rush of playing and weed for the chilled times in the safe zone or the camp fire at g-tac. :D:D:D

2.Again the campfire at g-tac talking to pissed airsofters is quite an experience :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

1 reason probably the best form of escapeisim ive ever had...

I spent more time just reading about airsoft and shooting guns out the back garden then playing wow these days : /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭steevee

if only i could get rid of my travian fixation so easily:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

I spent more time just reading about airsoft and shooting guns out the back garden then playing wow these days : /

holy ****! :pac: