Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Red hair

• 12-02-2009 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

do guys like red hair? i have red hair (not fiery red) maybe strawberry blond) and when my ex broke up with me he said to me "at least i don't have red hair".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Eh yea. Nothing wrong with red hair. Maybe its just me, but I don't really instinctively register the hair colour attraction wise. I mean if pushed for a preference I'd say brunette, but looking back I've gone out with more blondes(and a redhead).

He was just being defensive and knobendy. I wouldn't even give it the slightest heed.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Red hair is very sexy, blaithne or whatever her name is off rte is a sex symbol and guess what her best feature is, her red hair, its her only good feature but i still fancy her!!

your ex did not mind the hair when he was with you-he was just clutching at straws!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

He was just being immature and wanted to be nasty. I woudnt think twice about it. Hair colour is just a colour, doesnt turn me on or off people! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Wibbs wrote: »
    He was just being defensive and knobendy. I wouldn't even give it the slightest heed.

O God, I read that as 'head'! :rolleyes: Spec's ahoy!

Anyway OP, Wibbs is right, your ex is a knob. Don't mind him. Actually your hair colour was probably one of the things he liked about you.

A lot of guys I know like red hair, I'm a dyed in the wool :D brunette but my sis has red-blonde hair and its the business. I'd love to have it myself but my eyebrows are too dark and it just looks weird on me.

Don't let him get to you, your hair is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

HUG!

Your former BF was obviously looking for some final, cutting remark. He found one. He's gone, good riddance to him. That was an awful, hurtful thing to do.

Girls with red hair are LOVELY. Sure, it's personal preference, some gentlemen prefer blondes, some won't like red hair, and some may see red hair as an indication of some fiery temperament, which is true in some cases, but definitely not in all.

Red haired girls usually have LOVELY, pale white, porcelain complexions, which is hugely attractive.

It's a definite plus mark from me! Don't let some brooding guy who obviously wasn't up to it, put you down like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

do guys like red hair? i have red hair (not fiery red) maybe strawberry blond) and when my ex broke up with me he said to me "at least i don't have red hair".

He was just being a pr!ck.

Personally (like many of my friends) I have no preffered main phenotype; i.e. all races, colours (of skin, eyes & hair) are welcome.

Don't worry about it, sure look how great Kirsten Dunst looked in spider man, eh? or the daughter from that old sitom "cybil", or Donna from that 70's show.. anyways, don't doubt yourself because you went out with someone who decided to be an asshat in the end - it's all good & tbh there are plenty of men out there who would prefer a red head :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Craft25

OMG when a woman is sexy beautiful & has red hair then she is sexy beautiful x10 IMO!!!! She really stands out from the crowd! & it dont matter if its strawberry or feiry they are both the shizznit! :D

You dodged a bullet with that D*ck, he's still living in the playground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭TMoreno

It did not bother him that you have red hair when you were going out together so I guess he just said that to piss you off.
    Red hair girls are gorgeous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

do guys like red hair?
    Some of them do, some of them don't - ditto black, brown, blonde. The main thing is though, a lot of - probably most - guys wouldn't notice an attractive woman's hair colour.
    But did you really expect the possibility of the answer "no, guys don't like red hair"?
    when my ex broke up with me he said to me "at least i don't have red hair".
    Whether guys like red hair or not is irrelevant - your ex is a twat. And his laughably childish remark about red hair does not mean there's a possibility guys don't like red hair.

Personally, I think the red hair/pale skin look is stunning - e.g. Julianne Moore, Alicia Witt, Marcia Cross, Karen Elson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

He was just being a knob OP, I get loadsa women and Iv'e got red hair :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

He was just being immature and wanted to be nasty. I woudnt think twice about it. Hair colour is just a colour, doesnt turn me on or off people! :)

Would agree with him being immature.

On a sidenote, my brother has red hair and he has absolutely no problem scoring......jammy git

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

He's got a small penis, wanted to take attention away from it. Red hair is nice, it certainly wouldn't put me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Red hair can look great. Your ex was just trying to have a cheap dig.

Edited to add - Some of the best looking girls I've seen posting on boards are redheads

I went out with a red head once and Id love to meet up with her again, she was hot!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I like red hair on some women ( nurse from Holby city springs to mind )

Article in todays daily mail on this very subject http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1142684/Who-calling-carrot-How-woman-captured-Britains-redheads-blazing-glory-.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

OP, although you find that most men have their own individual preference for hair colours - some prefer blondes, some prefer brunettes, some prefer redheads - there are few, if any men who will avoid a girl or reject her on the basis of hair colour. It also doesn't mean that a guy will rate you down because of your hair colour.

Do guys like red hair? I've two words for you: Isla Fisher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭GeeNorm

Craft25 wrote: »
    OMG when a woman is sexy beautiful & has red hair then she is sexy beautiful x10 IMO!!!!
    I have to agree with this but also point out that redheads have a bad name because when they are ugly, they are ugly X 10.

If he went out with you in first place I'm guessing you're not in the ugly category

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I do take the mickey outta gingers, but I quite like the hair colour on females.

And your Ex, was just trying to be spiteful. He probably knew you were a bit self conscious about it!!!

OP HERE - Ha - no im not an ugly redhead. In fact someone once said i looked like julia roberts!!! but she has a big mouth so not sure if it was a compliment! but ya looking back he was being spiteful! ass****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

GeeNorm wrote: »
    I have to agree with this but also point out that redheads have a bad name because when they are ugly, they are ugly X 10.

If he went out with you in first place I'm guessing you're not in the ugly category

Thats not very nice.:mad:

Ginger is quite cool - you deserve a blast of Ginger Rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Personally, I'd draw the line at properly carrot topped and freckled but most red hair is attractive on girls. A mate was bordering phobic about redheads but he's seeing one now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Kirsten Dunst had Red Hair in Spiderman... she never looked hotter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

i used to think kirsten dunst was the bomb. absolute cracker. particularly with the red hair. Then one of the lads ruined her for me by pointing out that there are similarities with billy corgan of hte smashing pumpkings. Major turn off.

As for red heds. Yeh... red heads can be hot, depends on a lot of things... dont really think hair even comes into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

cowzerp wrote: »
    Red hair is very sexy, blaithne or whatever her name is off rte is a sex symbol and guess what her best feature is, her red hair, its her only good feature but i still fancy her!!

your ex did not mind the hair when he was with you-he was just clutching at straws!

Hiya Redser!.

Oh, I'm a red head too!.

Your ex sounds very immature OP (are you teens?).

In my experience most teen's have something negative to say about red heads, and its not until I got into my twenties that I found older women (in my case) appricated my hair colour.

I also think red haired girls are mostly damned hot too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Craft25 wrote: »
    OMG when a woman is sexy beautiful & has red hair then she is sexy beautiful x10 IMO!!!! She really stands out from the crowd! & it dont matter if its strawberry or feiry they are both the shizznit! :D

You dodged a bullet with that D*ck, he's still living in the playground

I absolutely f**king loooove red hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Some guys do, some guys don't. There is nothing else anyone can really say...

Same applies to all hair colours, some guys like brown, some don't, some like black, some don't etc....

Do not let the words of one guy upset you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Ive always had a bit of a thing for red heads,my first ever GF was a red head and Ive had various red headed partners down the years.Your ex sounds like a tool TBH and you are better off without him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

If anyone ever says that to you, the conversation should go as follows:

"At least I'm not a red head"

"No, but you are a fucking moron, and here's the rub - I can always dye my hair."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Harolds+

I never liked red hair girls but for the last few years I think its cool with women

Carry on . . .

I wish I had red hair...im still naturally very blonde even though im 34 BUT i went out with a guy who I was crazy about who had a thing for red heads , it was never an issue but I do know i wasn;t his normal type ... then again im looking for any reason to justify him not wanting to see me again :)

red hair is stunning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Um, let me think about this for a second.

F*CK YEAH!

My first girlfriend was a redhead, most of my ex's were redheads and surprise surprise, at the end of the year, I'm marrying a redhead!

I was advised to get help for it, turns out i didn't want or need it.
    Your ex was trying to get under your skin, i'd laugh it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Hahahah. Is he like, 10? I got that kinda crap back in 4th class...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I'm sure you're only gorgeous OP. I like the sound of Julia Roberts with red hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I'm seriously infatuated with red head girls. hot hot hot. dont mind the idiot, he was just bitter.

so...how you doin???? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

It's not a turn off, not even something I would consider. If he said something like that
    a) he is an idiot
    b) he was clutching at straws
    c) you dont have any other significantly unattractive features if thats the best he can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

If you had a big nose, I'm sure he would have gone 'at least I don't have a big nose', it's just a spiteful, stupid thing he said to wound.

On the red hair love trail: dye my hair reddish since I was 16, and my love is a red head :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Dont worry about him he's in the past now. Back on topic though, red hair, whether its a dark, light or dyed shade i find myself to be absolutely strikingly beautiful to see on a woman:D:D

Personally i wouldn't worry over such things, i was born blonde then hair went red for like 12 yrs then turned more brownish so i still have a reddish tint yet i don't care as its my personality that would draw people after the initial once over people normally get:) And all i'm saying is you should be exactly the same, ignore snide remarks and be happy with who you are.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i take it this guy hasnt seen mythbusters then?

kari byron

GrumPy wrote: »
    He was just being a knob OP, I get loadsa women and Iv'e got red hair :D

Ya, I'm a guy with red hair, no problems with ladies. Red-headed girls are haaaawwwwtttt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭ibuprofen

Love red hair . :rolleyes:

OP here - it's nice to know such an amount of people like red hair :) i know some people talk about red hair and they sometimes say - (the person with the foxy hair) that makes me mad!!! and people laugh at "ginger" hair and make comments about it. but shor that's life! but at least some like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

In Ireland (and America and any country ruled by Britain) for some reason people have this idea that ginger is somehow a bad thing.

I've never experienced this anywhere else, quite the opposite actually. Foreign girls love red-haired lads because it seems to stand out a bit more, making you more obvious.

Your ex was just relying on the old playground stereotype to hurt you. That's because he's a príck. So you dodged the proverbial bullet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

I'm going to get murdered when herself gets around to reading this post; in fact I think she distracted me when scrollin past the thread last night...

Redheads can be as hot, or as ugly as any of the blondes or brunettes out there. Having said that, you've identified that the hair colour was the issue...how very odd.

Let me put your mind at ease: This is the girl I'll marry some day:

http://www.alicia-witt.com/gallery/albums/Urban%20Legend/Alicia_witt_Urban_Legend209.jpg
    We all lusted after Gillian Anderson when X Files first showed up:

http://x-files.wikia.com/wiki/Image:Dana_Scully.jpg

And for the Sci Fi fans out there...

Saffron from Firefly: http://www.imdb.com/media/rm1311217408/nm0376716

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭MoveOn

I love love LOVE red hair. To the extent that once, when a redhead I had a massive crush on went blonde, the crush dissolved like sugar in tea! I can look at a woman that I would otherwise have absolutely no interest in whatsoever but if she has red hair, I'm smitten! If female friends of mine dye their hair red, I suddenly find myself having the kind of thoughts about them that you really shouldn't have about your friends.

Etc etc. I think I've made my point! :)

op here - ha - thanks for all the compliments about red hair. guess il put the dye bottle back on the shelf for a while :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

op here - ha - thanks for all the compliments about red hair. guess il put the dye bottle back on the shelf for a while :)
    And there we go. happy ending aaaannnnnnd closed. Plus everyone who went massively off topic, please read the charter before posting in future or infractions and bans will be handed out. Thanks.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.