Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GPA excludes cork Players

• 12-02-2009 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭

just wondering what people think, dessie farrell siad yesterday that they wont be considering membership for the current squad of Cork hurlers. Surely this isnt right, as it Gaelic Players Association not Gaelic Strikers Association, the current team should be included ahead of the waste of space strikers. enough is enough the players on strike should just fade away into retirement for themselves and let the county support this new young team, sure they aren't any great shakes at the moment but give them match practice and next year im sure they wont be far from the top. Maybe Sean óg could go take his brother place in melbourne for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

suimhneas wrote: »
    just wondering what people think, dessie farrell siad yesterday that they wont be considering membership for the current squad of Cork hurlers. Surely this isnt right, as it Gaelic Players Association not Gaelic Strikers Association, the current team should be included ahead of the waste of space strikers. enough is enough the players on strike should just fade away into retirement for themselves and let the county support this new young team, sure they aren't any great shakes at the moment but give them match practice and next year im sure they wont be far from the top. Maybe Sean óg could go take his brother place in melbourne for a while
    As it stands the GPA has recognised the 08 panel as the legitimate Cork panel and in that case can't undermine that by allowing the 09 panel to take their place. The 09 panel are a combination of the 4th and 5th best teams in Cork. They will not be anywhere near the top for at least 3 or 4 years if ever. Exposing them to hammerings by the likes of Tipp and Kilkenny won't do them any good either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

KerranJast wrote: »
    As it stands the GPA has recognised the 08 panel as the legitimate Cork panel and in that case can't undermine that by allowing the 09 panel to take their place. The 09 panel are a combination of the 4th and 5th best teams in Cork. They will not be anywhere near the top for at least 3 or 4 years if ever. Exposing them to hammerings by the likes of Tipp and Kilkenny won't do them any good either.

4th or 5th ? So have we been watching the 3rd or 4th best team in Cork playing for the last few years ? because Dublin gave the 08 panel a good craic many times over the past few years.

If Dublin can beat the 4th or 5th best team in Cork by only 3 goals and come very close to beating the 3-th or 4th, then my question is where are the 1st and 2nd best teams hiding ?

Are you from Cork ? If so then don't be so blinded and disrespectful to the lads who have the respect, the honour and the decency to don the blood and bandages while others would rather sit back and try to forward their own agendas.

Say what you want about the current situation but at least give these young lads who have the pride in their country to play the respect they deserve.

You know what, I think the current situation will be good for Cork hurling. The sunshine fans who only support "winners" will fade away and only the real true Cork supporters will be left supporting this genuine team of Cork hurlers.

monosharp wrote: »
    4th or 5th ? So have we been watching the 3rd or 4th best team in Cork playing for the last few years ?
    The 08 panel represent the top 30 hurlers in the county. That's two teams worth. I know from reliable sources that at least another 20 to 25 players outside the 08 panel have also refused to play for Gerald. Thats nearly another two teams worth so the 09 panel represent the next 30 players again making them at least 4th choice.
    Are you from Cork ? If so then don't be so blinded and disrespectful to the lads who have the respect, the honour and the decency to don the blood and bandages while others would rather sit back and try to forward their own agendas.

Say what you want about the current situation but at least give these young lads who have the pride in their country to play the respect they deserve.
    I am from Cork and the lads who took this opportunity are misguided. I don't blame them as they are under pressure either directly from clubs or their clubs are under pressure from the CB executive to field players. Ask around and you'll hear from clubs themselves whats going on. Theres nothing honourable or decent about taking a position on the Cork team when you know in your heart that someone else can do a better job than you in that role at bringing success to Cork. Yes everyone should be proud to play for their county but not at the expense of success.
    You know what, I think the current situation will be good for Cork hurling. The sunshine fans who only support "winners" will fade away and only the real true Cork supporters will be left supporting this genuine team of Cork hurlers.
    Anyone with half a brain can see this current situation is tearing Cork GAA apart and every day that goes by more and more young lads are tempted away to play rugby or soccer. Where were the "real true Cork supporters" on Sunday? There were maybe 3 or 400 of them at the Dublin match. The boisterous 5-600 crowd near the dugout were mainly supporters of Frank Murphy or relatives of the lads playing which is understandable. There were at least 10,000 people at Saturdays march and significant numbers have been supporting the 08 panel at their training sessions. It obvious where the Cork GAA publics loyalties lie. The only issue now is whether the old school CB delegates will listen to them or give in to Frank Murphys power play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭suimhneas

Well i for one am sick and tired of hearing about bloody stiking cork players, who do they think they are? they should just be forgotten about and let them fade away, dont think they even have support in cork, but definately outside cork everyone is on the side of the 09 panel.

1) At least 10,000 at the pro 08 panel march v circa 2000 at the Dublin match is pretty conclusive where the public support lies.
    2) (a) Noone in Cork cares what the rest of you lot think about us.
    (b) Very few people outside Cork can comprehend how underhand our County Board executive, especially the unelected, unremovable, job-for-life Secretary, are.

Can you honestly name another County whose County Board executive purposefully look for conflict with their players at the expense of success?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

dessie farrell siad yesterday that they wont be considering membership for the current squad of Cork hurlers.
    Now I don't agree with that! My sympathies lie with the 08 panel, but if you are a players representative body you can't refuse membership to a county players just because you don't like them. Otherwise you are effectively just a private lobby group rather than a players umbrella associtaion.. I don't like that development - that's a big turn-off for me tbh. The GPA should have stayed out of what is a Cork issue, and you can't blame a bunch of amateur young fella's for taking a chance to don their county jerseys - it's not as if they have a hope of winning anything before the real team returns, they are just pawns so the county board can pretend it's business as usual, but best of luck to them for stepping up the plate and taking what may be their only chance to don a senior jersey whilst the real team is inabstentia. GPA should just stay out of it if this is their best contribution - it's a petty-looking and completely useless gesture

The 08 panel represent the top 30 hurlers in the county.

That's debatable.
    That's two teams worth.

The second best players don't necessarily sit on the bench waiting for their turn.
    I know from reliable sources that at least another 20 to 25 players outside the 08 panel have also refused to play for Gerald.

20 to 25 ? forgive me for not taking your word for it since I also have reliable sources which say otherwise.
    I am from Cork and the lads who took this opportunity are misguided. I don't blame them as they are under pressure either directly from clubs or their clubs are under pressure from the CB executive to field players. Ask around and you'll hear from clubs themselves whats going on.

I don't have to, I know whats going on in the clubs. Clubs vastly support Gerald and the CCB and thats a fact that has been proven many many times over this conflict.

Don't even try and talk to me about FM having magical mind controlling powers because that just doesn't fly with any intelligent person.
    Theres nothing honourable or decent about taking a position on the Cork team when you know in your heart that someone else can do a better job than you in that role at bringing success to Cork.

Theres nothing honourable or decent about fighting against your own couny for the power to select your own manager, or sorry, to veto anyone except someone you want.
    The boisterous 5-600 crowd near the dugout were mainly supporters of Frank Murphy or relatives of the lads playing which is understandable.

Jaysus Frank is some boy isn't he ? Do ya think he'd take superman in a fight ?
    There were at least 10,000 people at Saturdays march and significant numbers have been supporting the 08 panel at their training sessions.

10,000 people marching does not = 10,000 club members, nor even real supporters.

If those 10,000 people actually were club members and, shock, horror, VOTED then Cork GAA would not be in this mess in the first place.

I've been to Munster final day and seen plenty of Cork fans who think its the first match of the year.
    It obvious where the Cork GAA publics loyalties lie. The only issue now is whether the old school CB delegates will listen to them or give in to Frank Murphys power play.

Tis a pity its not up to the Cork GAA public, its up to the Cork GAA members who ote at their club AGM's and actually show up to a match more then twice a year.

1) At least 10,000 at the pro 08 panel march v circa 2000 at the Dublin match is pretty conclusive where the public support lies.

And what is the usual attendance figure for the league opener vs Dublin eh ?

Can you honestly name another County whose County Board executive purposefully look for conflict with their players at the expense of success?

Can you name another county whose county board has had to put up with so much bs from a group of pre madonnas like the 08 panel ?