Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommendations for places to stay in Tenerife

• 12-02-2009 11:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭

myself n himself thinking of goin to Tenerife in June for about 10days because there seems like theirs lots to do with waterpark and boat trips to other islands etc.. while also having the beaches for the few lazy/hungover days

Looking for recommendations on areas to look for accomodation. were mid to late 20's so wana stay away from the family and kiddie areas

we had also thought bout Cyprus, but cant find much information on the place and whether its a place to go if ya wana do something different each day! Were definately not the type to spend every day at beach or by pool!

Any thoughts would be great
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

we stayed in playa de las americas which is the main resort on the island, its located in the southwest of the island. plenty of cheap accommodation in playa but be warned you will be hassled on the street/bars/restaurants/beaches in playa nightlife areas by people selling sunglasses and other rubbish, going out to the bars in veronica's strip/starco (main nightlife spot in playa) is a pain in the a*s, reps try to pull you into bars and clubs (this gets very annoying after the 20th rep :mad:), this coupled with the boyz selling you sunglasses and women selling you toys makes you want to avoid that area of playa after the first night

if i was going back to tenerife i would stay in "Los Cristianos", its just down the road from playa (really its the same town if truth be told) but barely any of BS and a much better bigger beach. just like playa the airportbus stops in the middle of town, from the harbour in los cristianios you can go whale and dolphin watching with numerous companies, we went for 2hr and cost 20euro each (it cost 80-90euro for 3hrs in the algarve) and saw loads of dolphins and 2 whales. the dolphins rode the bow-wave of our boat most of the way into harbour.

there are a ton of things to see and do in tenerife, you can get a public bus from playa or los cristianos to "los gigantos" which has the highest sea cliffs in europe and a black sand beach. we went on the submarine safari, expensive but worth it imo http://www.submarinesafaris.com/t/uk/index.html

multiple tour companies go to tiede national park which is europes highest volcano (must do in tenerife, place is amazing), scuba diving, off road safari, ride a camel, theme parks, list is endless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

thanks very much rossie1977 for the info - very helpful! :)
    we booked the flights with ryanair and apartments in LosCristianos seems to good to be true but we'll not complain! for the 2 of us it'll work out near the same as 1 of us going with Budget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭buzz55

Do you mind posting what apartments you are staying in, and how much? How did you make your decision on apartments? Boyf & I hoping to go at the end of this month but my head is wrecked from reading reviews on apartments and the like. We're torn between Lanzarote & Tenerife, though it seems that Tenerife has plenty of watersports to keep us occupied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FunkyDa

The view from apartment 86, in the Costamar complex(Los Cristianos), last week. It cost 223Euro for the week. The weather was good, the food was good, and the wine was cheap :D

buzz55 wrote: »
    Do you mind posting what apartments you are staying in, and how much? How did you make your decision on apartments? Boyf & I hoping to go at the end of this month but my head is wrecked from reading reviews on apartments and the like. We're torn between Lanzarote & Tenerife, though it seems that Tenerife has plenty of watersports to keep us occupied.

we havent actually booked the apartment yet but the cheapest we've seen was about €220 for 11 nights in los cristiano. cant remember the name of the place, something like comodores i think but i was looking on alphrooms
    ive also been on trip advisor reading reviews and it is hard to know what place to go for. main reason we picked tenerife is all the watersports and waterpark, zoo etc.. we like plenty to do while away im not a "lie on beach all day long" person!
    if you go to tenerife will you send us the name of place you stayed and what you thought of the place
    thanks and good luck booking :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I have stayed in the paloma beach for the last two years. Some of the apartments are privately owned and can be rented independantly.

I stay at one owned by a dublin guy called tom ainsworth. He is negotiable on fees so email him. You can read all about it at palomabeach.com or look it up on tripadvisor.com

check this out.

http://www.holidaylettings.co.uk/rentals/los-cristianos/14334

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

FunkyDa wrote: »
    The view from apartment 86, in the Costamar complex(Los Cristianos), last week. It cost 223Euro for the week. The weather was good, the food was good, and the wine was cheap :D

Lovely view, and Im tempted, but some terrible reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i stayed here and that got some terrible reviews on that website, those people giving bad reviews must have stayed in a different place to me :P http://www.holidaywatchdog.com/590-Playa_De_Las_Americas-Hacienda_Del_Sol_Apartments-Holiday-Review-Full-Page5.html

you cannot hope to please everyone though, encore las vegas cost $2.5billion opened only last month and has been called the best hotel ever in vegas by critics yet some travellers on tripadvisor are giving it one star http://las-vegas-hotels.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g45963-d1123368-Reviews-Encore_Las_Vegas-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭col16

Los Cristianos is a very nice area but not really sure if it will suit your group from reading your intro.. This is a much quiter area than Playa de las americas and is a nice distance from the centre of the nightlife, if thats the main reason ye are going to Tenerife.
    We usually stay in the Parque Santiago 3 area and this is midway between Los Cristianos and Las Americas, 2 mins to the best beach and close to the strip with the Hole in The Wall pub / Soul Suite and about 8 or 9 bars. Parque De La Paz is at the back of this strip and seems to get good enough reviews.
    You could also consider Parque Santiago 2 which is nearer to the hub of things and there are some very good private appartments there.You are near the Patch there and only 5/10mins to Starcos and Veronicas.

It really depends on what kind of nightlife ye are into.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭rocally

I was in tenerife last year and Cyprus the year before and if you can go to cyprus , Its nicer.

That said Tenerife is nice, In terms of where to stay las americas is L shaped and the top of the L is all the mental clubs pubs drink till you fall over places and bottom right is running straight through to los C so once you stay towards the bottom you'll be fine and have a great time with easy access to either the nice part of las americas or a beach front stroll to Los c .

Be sure and eat at Maria Bonita's one of the nights - its excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

Try the Marylanza aparthotel in Los Cristianos. It is beautiful. Really clean and 2 great pools. Short walk to town and a wonderful buffet there also. I cannot recommedn it enough! Its attached to a golf complex which is an extra if you're interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭black & white

http://www.villalasdunastenerife.com/

This was recommended to me and I have booked it for later in the year. It's a quieter part of Tenerife but still only 20 mins from the South airport. They even offer to collect you and drop you back to the airport for free.

we ended up booking the Caribe apartments in Plays Las Americas in the end. know were prolly in a very busy spot but the price was the deciding factor in the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭buzz55

fifib, did ye book flights & accommodation seperately, or did you go package holiday? I'm finding package holidays bloody expensive :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭black & white

Buzz55, in my experience it's cheaper to book direct. I've done so over the last few years and saved thousands.

Have a look at this site, http://www.holidayhomesdirect.ie/ , and there are many others like it, and pick what you want to go. I usually book the flights first and then email a few owners to get a better deal.

As an example, 4 of us went last year to Alvor in Portugal for 10 days in late July last year. Flights were just over a grand including a suitcase each and priority boarding and all other charges, located a nice apartment on line and got it for 750 for the 10 days. A taxi arranged by the apt owner was 45 Euro each way.

I've done a similar think for near Alicante this summer for cheaper. Flights and apts seem cheaper in Spain than Portugal. I've also booked Tenerife for a week in October for 2, 209 for the flights including 1 bag, priority etc and 325 Euro for a luxury B&B with collection to and from the airport thrown in.

It's gone to the stage where I'd only book a package if I was going long haul.

buzz55 wrote: »
    fifib, did ye book flights & accommodation seperately, or did you go package holiday? I'm finding package holidays bloody expensive :(

we booked the flights with Ryanair and the apartments through Alpharooms...they seemed to be one of the cheapest sites for holiday apartments. i recommend if you know the apartments you wana stay in google them and check them on all the apartments sites to find the cheapest rate.

for 2 of us our flights were 420 and apartment for 250 for 11 nights and budget were looking for about 700 each for the 2 weeks...so was a great saving!

id only ever book package again if it was a last minute deal where ya know ya wont find the flights yourself to suit and the prices are usually down when its last minute