Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marrying a foreigner in Ireland...?

• 10-02-2009 2:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭

(I did search but couldn't find precisely what I was looking for!)

A "joke" between myself and an American friend (ie "if you're not married by the time your x years old, I'll marry you" type thing) he's getting to "that age", so I reminded him of our 'pledge' and he LOL'd that sure he'd come over here and marry me.

I was telling a friend and she said I should go for it for real, get him to come here and marry me ...

Are you allowed to do that? Is a non national allowed to travel to Ireland to marry an Irish citizen. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be allowed to go to America to marry him!

anyone...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

i believe its actually harder to get away with it in ireland rather that the us where it happens a lot more with canada / south ameirica on their borders, i belive you have to have a formal interview and say how long youve been toghether etc and they will decide on a visa, its still possible to get married and be denied a visa for ireland and equally to the us so ur other half wouldnt be automatically let in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As padz says nobody's going to stop you from getting married, but when/if the other party goes to apply for a visa you will probably be interviewed and the visa will probably be denied. Except if you're good mates, in which case you might get away with it.

If you're actually serious, aside from any visa or permissions, why don't you have him move over here for 6 months, or you go over there, and find out if you could actually live together before doing anything rash. Then at that point if you're happy, you have 6 months each under your belts, which would vastly improve your chances of getting a visa.

If you are insistent on doing it "for the craic", get married in the US. Divorces are far harder to get over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

Thanks for the info!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭bensoneb

Marraige isn't a 'joke' so either you think you're in the plot of a Hollywood film where you all live happily ever after or you don't understand what it's all about. I would think long and hard about doing this unless you both love each other. Otherwise it could be just heartache down the line........

Ooh someone swallowed a lemon! Love's got feck all to do with marriage, my parents have been married for over 50 years (gosh that must make how old?!?) they can't stand each other but weren't able to divorce, and now they can't be bothered ... Having grown up in that atmosphere, I've no intentions of marrying anyone ever (lookit I'm in my 40's and single!!).

My American friend knows that, and he agrees with me!

We'll just live in sin somewhere :D

I was only asking for the sake of telling my gal pal (who's the die hard "Hollywood" romantic) that A we're not getting married and B, we wouldn't be allowed to marry anyway ...

Oh damn, you fellas said we could get married ... Um. I'll pretend I've got amnesia and don't know who she is next time she phones to ask when we're getting married... :P

;) ill marry ye hon :)

aw will ye? thanks!

what kind of car do you drive?

Do you own your own house?

Where do you work?

Give me your credit card I need new Manolos

What time do you call this to be coming home?

That's it, I'm leaving!!

(just getting in some practice ;) )

lol u need new Manolos

im afraid youd have to marry me for personality and a laugh and kids of course...how does a small dowry sound, can get ye 2goats and two horses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I say go for it! Sounds exciting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 realgem19

I am in US, but had a friend, from Galway live here awhile. Your Irish laws are online, but as long as American applies for proper Visa, brings all proper paperwork, marriage is no problem. Americans love to travel to marry too:-) Your spouse can apply for citizenship, but I think there is a time period to wait.
    I go fleeced by my friend for 37KUSD, stupid Americans! He returned to Moycullen after fleecing me for a downpayment on a house here (we both have teenage sons, so I cannot leave here, his is in Moycullen).
    dumb Gem

padz wrote: »
    im afraid youd have to marry me for personality and a laugh and kids of course...how does a small dowry sound, can get ye 2goats and two horses?

kids?!? no. not going to happen. the plumbing don't work.

I can get 3 goats and 4 horses ...

realgem19 wrote: »
    I am in US, but had a friend, from Galway live here awhile. Your Irish laws are online, but as long as American applies for proper Visa, brings all proper paperwork, marriage is no problem. Americans love to travel to marry too:-) Your spouse can apply for citizenship, but I think there is a time period to wait.

I'll let him know that!
    I go fleeced by my friend for 37KUSD, stupid Americans! He returned to Moycullen after fleecing me for a downpayment on a house here (we both have teenage sons, so I cannot leave here, his is in Moycullen).

Ouch!