Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forcing Googlebot look at my site again.

Options
  • 10-02-2009 12:58am
    Registered Users Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭

Hi,

I'm pretty new to SEO and have a quick question.

I submitted a site for google to index but unfortunately there was a spelling mistake in my page title.

I've already corrected the mistake but is there any way to speed up google changing it's cached information?

Thanks,

SMB

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Bluefrog

If you have a Windows Live account, you could try posting a link to your page and some accommpanying relevant text in your blog - I have seen Live blogs spidered within 15 minutes of being published and the spider should follow the link. Just don't duplicate the text from your own site - maybe provide a quick review.

The more longterm solution is to set up an account on Google webmaster tools, make an XML sitemap for your site and submit it via your webmaster tools account. You can then manually or automatically have the sitemap re-submitted every time you refresh your content. If it is a new site with few incoming links, it will still probably take up to 7 days for your site to be re-indexed from submission.

You should also make a robots.txt file in the root directory of your site and put a sitemaps directive in it:

SITEMAP: http://www.yoursite.com/sitemap.xml

Also note there are similar tools for Yahoo in the form of Site Explorer, and Live Search Webmaster tools where you can alos submit your sitemap.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Thanks for the quick reply,