Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gays in the Irish Army - Don't ask, don't tell?

• 09-02-2009 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭

I was reading this article about a lesbian who got kicked out of the US army, and I wondered what the story is with gays in the Irish army - do we let them in, do we have Don't Ask - Don't Tell?

Since I wasn't sure if this should go in the LGB forum, or the military forum, I put it here. It should be a short thread anyways, there should be someone with a factual answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

...waits for Mairt to post the pic of himself in the little pink dress...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I thought you had to be gay to join any type of military??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

ScumLord wrote: »
    I thought you had to be gay to join any type of military??

I think that's just the Navy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The Irish Defence Forces doesn't discriminate against homosexuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Mairt wrote: »
    The Irish Defence Forces doesn't discriminate against homosexuals.

Did they ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Did they ever?

Yes they did.

There was a well publicised case about 15 yrs ago, I can't remember the details and I'd be very surprised if there's anything online about it.

But, but basically a case against a gay soldier was over thrown on the grounds of discrimination.

Although I don't any lads who have come out publically and say they're gay, I do know some females who are openly gay.

You'd be best posting this in the military forum tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

I don't see why gay people shouldn't be let in.
    Wasn't the reasoning before that they would all be canoodling around instead of focusing on the battle at hand?

But they let women in now anyway, so the same distraction is there for straight men...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It could have been the US miltary, but not certain on that, but someone was developing "gay bombs" at some point with the plan being to drop them over the enemy troops so that they stop fighting and start dressing up like Mairt instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

robinph wrote: »
    It could have been the US miltary, but not certain on that, but someone was developing "gay bombs" at some point with the plan being to drop them over the enemy troops so that they stop fighting and start dressing up like Mairt instead.

Twas the Americans indeedy. Can't see it working though....No reason a gay man can't shoot ye as quick as a straight one. Certainly in the ancient world they stabbed and disembowelled as quick as their straight comrades - the Sacred band and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I have many friends in the PDF (herself used to be in the nth-not mentioning the battalion to spare peoples blushes).

On one of the more recent UN missions, Liberia was rechristened Lesberia due to the amount of girl on girl action that took place in the camp. At least three couples came home, and two marriages hit the deck in the space of six months...

Unsurprisingly, there is little to relate on the male side, so it may well be a case of don't ask don't tell alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I always kind of assumed that, being Irish, we were so freaking good at the Don't Ask, Don't Tell idea that we didn't even discuss the Don't Ask, Don't Tell thing in the first place...

The Lesberia thing gave me a chuckle. Love is a battlefield and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Diarmsquid wrote: »
    I don't see why gay people shouldn't be let in.
    Wasn't the reasoning before that they would all be canoodling around instead of focusing on the battle at hand?

But they let women in now anyway, so the same distraction is there for straight men...

There was too much harmless pinching.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I do know some females who are openly gay.

Pics or GTFO :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Gays in the army - why not? They are a part of society and should be prepared to defend our freedom and die in the field of battle like their heterosexual counterparts. Each to their own, if they won't f*ck with me I won't f*ck with them. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

Yes they did.

There was a well publicised case about 15 yrs ago, I can't remember the details and I'd be very surprised if there's anything online about it.

Military cover up!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

The one time. The one bloody time that "This is Sparta" might actually have been funny and you let me down. For shame AH.

This would be better off in Military anyway.