Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wales v Ireland

• 09-02-2009 11:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭

I am planning on going to Cardiff for Wales Ireland 6Nations match.
    Does anyone know where I can get hold of tickets??

Thinking of going over there and chance picking few up in Cardiff.

What do you think? Any suggestions/advice?

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Ulstermell0

i think if wales and ireland are both going for a GS then they will be £1000s a pair - your best bet is that Wales lose to france and then they will be more available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭case_sensitive

Ebay will cost you about €500 a pair, which is about as good as you're going to get I'd say, England game at Croker is more like €650. Ticketmaster have an affiliated tout-system, but I can't remember the address.

OR you could take up rugby with an established club and buy tickets for next year's game, it's what I did a few years ago, and I've got tickets to all the home games over the last 2 years, at the cost of a few broken bones and thursday nights and saturday afternoons. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭barnesd

It's risky but I've heard plenty of times that if you head over to Cardiff you can pick tickets up before the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Watch it in a good bar in Cardiff if u cant get a ticket. Craic would be mighty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Listen to this man... you'll have a great time and you may even get a ticket if you look... but the bars will be superb!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

Thats the idea alright. Loads of Welsh come over here when Ireland play Wales in Cardiff, for example due to cheap travel.

The one snag though is just getting to Cardiff with such a game on. A lot of hard yakka is involved in getting a reasonably priced seat on plane or ferry if even available. Look at the ERC final last year or the prospect of a QF game in the RWC the year before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 blueoval

my self and a buddy are going to to cardiff but have got no tickets for the match there asking crazy money for them but there is a celt fest festival on the same day the wolfe tones are playing at it and many more but it has the game on big screens and there are expecting a crowd of 4,000 got my tickets on ticketmaster for £25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

barnesd wrote: »
    It's risky but I've heard plenty of times that if you head over to Cardiff you can pick tickets up before the game.

Lads all the depends on game. Go to Cardiff every two years, in 05 tics were like gold dust. I saw one ticket all day and I managed to buy it for 150 pounds and was blessed to get it!! Touts didnt even have tickets! If Wales are going for grand slam again, there will be no tics. If Ireland are going for grand slam and Wales the championship, there will be no tics, if its a grand slam shoot out... Then forget it altogether!!

Other years, yes Cardiff is quite easy to pick up tickets. No problem in 01, 03 and 07 from what I remember...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Woods Girl

Are many people going to the celt fest? I am heading over to Cardiff with 4 friends but am thinking we'll have just as good a time in the bars as we would at the celt fest.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Just back from Wales - England

Paid €400 for a pair but lots of tickets for sale from touts going at about €250 per ticket.

3 hours before the match there were on average 50-60 people queueing to get into pubs around the stadium so either get there early or check out one of the non-fake Irish bars a little further from the stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

As it is a possibility;

Im pretty sure it goes down to points difference 1st up, in the case of a draw at the top of the 6N table, just like when France pipped us recently by virtue of a Scottish thumping.

So if Wales go down in Paris and we go down in Cardiff on the last day, yet our current superior points differnce remains, we should take the 6N based on points ?

Or is it now seperated by the winner of the particular head to head fixture to sperate a tie between 2 nations, which in this case, would be Wales ??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Nope, its points difference first - which we've lost on at least twice in the last decade if not three times (I'm not certain). I still think Wales will lose in France, which will most certainly give us the advantage in Cardiff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Scrumdog

Go to the Walkabout bar in Newport. It`s run by a Kiwi and he has got us tickets in the past,also a great place to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

wales will lose in Paris. the bookies odds have them both at evens but france don't lose too often in Paris to NH opposition. the pressure is on france in this game and the will not lose.

also there will be at least one surprise in the 6N and it has yet to happen. our match in scotland sticks out. Dont think we will lose it but it's going to be a tough match. I'd love to know what odds the bookies would give on ireland, wales and france ending on the same points with 9 games in total left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 rugbug

Was in Cardiff in 2007, and to be honest, the bars are a 'no go' area. There were queues 3 and 4 deep, 50 yards long waiting on the doors opening, and this seemed to be the case with all the pubs, at least in the city centre. I called the Welsh tourist people yesterday asking their advice, and they are recommending people to use the facilities at the Celtic Festival that is on in the city centre to coincide with the game. I have tickets for the game but want to take in the craic in Cardiff, hopefully without queues, so I got 5 tickets for £25 each for Celt Festival from www.celtfest.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

rugbug wrote: »
    I called the Welsh tourist people yesterday asking their advice, and they are recommending people to use the facilities at the Celtic Festival that is on in the city centre to coincide with the game. I have tickets for the game but want to take in the craic in Cardiff, hopefully without queues, so I got 5 tickets for £25 each for Celt Festival from www.celtfest.com

Not involved with this 'Celt' Festival by any chance are you? :rolleyes: lol
    Hearing that dreary shash from the Wolfe Tones is the last thing I'd personally want to hear on a Six Nations rugby day.

The pubs around and off Mary St and also up towards the castle are just fine. They hotels such as the Holiday Inn have mobile bars outside them. Its match day. What else do you expect? If Wales lose you'll be surprised how early the city centre empties out (memories of Wales v Australia in the last RWC in particular).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 rugbug

Nope, nothing to do with Celtic Festival, apart from buying some tickets for it. It looks like a better alternative to me than the bother we had the last time getting into pubs. Mobile bars or not, the place is a disaster to get a pint in. Yes, realise it is match day and what else could you expect, but at least this year Cardiff are offering an alternative as they must realise themselves the under supply of bars etc. NB: This is not a promotion for Celt Festival, just stating that I am attending as it seems like a decent alternative. P.S. I'm not above getting drunk on match day and dancing to The Wolfe Tones or anyone for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Not involved with this 'Celt' Festival by any chance are you? :rolleyes: lol
    Hearing that dreary shash from the Wolfe Tones is the last thing I'd personally want to hear on a Six Nations rugby day.

The pubs around and off Mary St and also up towards the castle are just fine. They hotels such as the Holiday Inn have mobile bars outside them. Its match day. What else do you expect? If Wales lose you'll be surprised how early the city centre empties out (memories of Wales v Australia in the last RWC in particular).

For all the practice they get, they are not great at catering to a big crowd - they could learn a trick or two from Dublin publicans such as having one person just pulling pints, rather than a load of staff trying to get at one tap at the same time. :D

See Nigel Owens has a a gig in the Celtic Festival.
    One of the finest Rugby referee's in the world, Nigel Owens will co-host and compere CeltFest. His on field presence and off field wit as a presenter will bring a significant rugby dimension to CeltFest.