Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

German Reg Plates

• 08-02-2009 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭

Just wondering does anyone know of anywhere in Dublin that makes pressed steel german plates while you wait ?

Cheers,
    John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

How legal are these? Can they be read by the eflow cameras? I was considering getting them for my car but wasnt sure if the gardai would take kindly to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Irish-trucker

Hmm thats a good point
    Surely it can pick them up .
    I dont think the gards would have much of a problem with the plates.
    In comparision with some of the crap ones out there , that the number cannot be made out , with the german plates the number can be clearly seen.
    Maybe a grumpy copper might give you grief :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭rufio306

they can definitley be read by the eflow, i have them on one of my cars and it reads every time, ive them on about 3/4 months and have had no trouble with the guards. although as they wont pass an nct technically they are show plates and not for road use here in ireland.

Cheers for that .
    Out of interest , who made your plates?

Cheers,
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

How'd you manage those skid marks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Just wondering does anyone know of anywhere in Dublin that makes pressed steel german plates while you wait ?

Cheers,
    John

How are they different? Just curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

I can vouch for that ebay seller that rufio linked to,i got my last set there.

Mine work fine on the e flow cameras,and ive never had a guard say anything to me about them,even when i lost my front number plate and got stopped by the gardai to ask me about it,he looked at the one remaining german plate on the rear and told me to make sure to get a new number plate soon! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

You will need a Zollkennzeichen if your car is a German export. :D

nemecke-automobilove-poznavaci-znacky-10.jpg

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

noblestee wrote: »
    How legal are these? Can they be read by the eflow cameras? I was considering getting them for my car but wasnt sure if the gardai would take kindly to them
    These plates are illegal so if a garda wanted to they could well do you for them.
    They are an NCT failure also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

A lot more choice here...

http://www.germanplates.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

kbannon wrote: »
    They are an NCT failure also.

We will see, I'm putting my car through the NCT with them fitted next week.

I don't see why they will fail, IRL and county name are on the plates, it's only the font that's slightly different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Neilw wrote: »
    We will see, I'm putting my car through the NCT with them fitted next week.

Would you mind updating this thread with the results. I suppose it will not be conclusive or anything but it would interesting (well kind of).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

it's only the font that's slightly different.

That's why they'll fail, unless your NCT guy doesn't know the regulations himself. The letters and numbers, with the exception of 1 and I have to be of equal width.

Stephen wrote: »
    That's why they'll fail, unless your NCT guy doesn't know the regulations himself. The letters and numbers, with the exception of 1 and I have to be of equal width.

The irish legislation does mention the font - but its rather vague and open to interpretation. It says you need to have a plain font, which the german font is imo!
    It states the height of each character and the width of the stroke of the font. i.e. you cant have characters of the right height but faint or bold lettering.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

The irish legislation does mention the font - but its rather vague and open to interpretation. It says you need to have a plain font, which the german font is imo!
    It states the height of each character and the width of the stroke of the font. i.e. you cant have characters of the right height but faint or bold lettering.
    I'd imagine the main stumbling block could be the gap in the "0". Nothing judicial use of a black felt tip couldn't fix.

I hate "fancy" number plates and "Donegal Script" but for some reason, I like the german plates über alles.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The legislation is vague indeed. ANyhow, here is the legislation...
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1999/en/si/0432.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So what's the attraction with German plates? Better quality? Different look?
    Is it just the font?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Indeed, what's the attraction? I'm not entirely sold on them, they look quite old if anything...

How'd you manage those skid marks?

theyre mot skidmarks dude, just washed the car and the tyres were wet lol.
    Robbo wrote: »
    I'd imagine the main stumbling block could be the gap in the "0". Nothing judicial use of a black felt tip couldn't fix.

I hate "fancy" number plates and "Donegal Script" but for some reason, I like the german plates über alles.

i asked the company to use a 0(zero) in stead of an O in the MO, as i liked the look of the dash cut out of it, just my own personal opinion really.

i like them because they look better than standard ones and are pressed steel and not sh*ty plastic, again im my opinion only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Robbo wrote: »

There's not really anything in the legislation that doesn't allow it - it's not like it could be mistaken for another letter or number - the font (FE-Schrift) was specifically designed to avoid misreading or faking regs and make character recognition easier.

As long as it conforms to the dimensions and has everything there (hyphens, county name, etc.), and nothing silly like "D" instead of "IRL" I don't see how it would be illegal. There is the issue that the stroke width of the text isn't completely uniform - the regulations say the stroke width of the registration text should be 10mm, but does not say if it has to be absolutely uniform or what. I'm pretty sure a lot of typical Irish plastic number plates don't have uniform stroke width - even the example shown doesn't (look at the 4's).

I like them also because there different .. everyone has the bold say 00-D-1234 type plates on there car.

It's nice to be different don't ya think :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I like them also because there different .. everyone has the bold say 00-D-1234 type plates on there car.

It's nice to be different don't ya think :D

If you think the normal font is bold you need to see what passes for normal in Donegal!

I've a set of plates in the shed I got in LK after an original cracked on my old car; chickened out putting them through the NCT - the letters are HUGE. And theres no dashes...

MYOB wrote: »
    If you think the normal font is bold you need to see what passes for normal in Donegal!

I've a set of plates in the shed I got in LK after an original cracked on my old car; chickened out putting them through the NCT - the letters are HUGE. And theres no dashes...

i think what he meant was that theres loads of plates out threre with smaller or fatter letters (fancy plates as such) and therefore these type are quite different.

some of the designs out there are ridiculous i will agree

Would you mind updating this thread with the results. I suppose it will not be conclusive or anything but it would interesting (well kind of).

Well my car passed the NCT today with German plates fitted, not a word said :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Good on you!