Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AIMAA Taekwondo

• 06-02-2009 1:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28

Can someone please tell me... i have been watching some AIMAA Taekwondo on you tube and well it's fairly bad!!!! is this association claiming that it is ITF style of TKD.... because it's NOT!!! AT ALL!!!!

Please someone let me know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

niamhus24 wrote: »
    Can someone please tell me... i have been watching some AIMAA Taekwondo on you tube and well it's fairly bad!!!! is this association claiming that it is ITF style of TKD.... because it's NOT!!! AT ALL!!!!

Much like anything what something is or isnt depends on your definition.
    There are two broad styles of Taekwondo ITF and WTF, AIMAA is not WTF........therefore it must be ITF! Saying that a whole association is bad seems a small bit trollish to me to be honest, as plainly Grandmaster Chow is well able.
    What's your major difficulty with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

They do their patterns the 'old style' if that's what you mean. For ITFers the AIMAA style looks weird, for AIMAA folk the ITF style probably looks pouncy. It's all about the 'others' doing it differently than the way 'we' do it at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

hmmm, we'll let this run and see if this OP is a troll or not.

There are valid points as to whether it is ITF or WTF or whatever.
    GM Cho left the ITF in 1974 and formed his own brand of Taekwondo while keeping the General's Patterns. Because he left in 74, he has a very outdated version of the patterns and doesn't have some of the more recent one's in the syllabus. He also brought in a system of grappling, the quality of which i'm not sure of tbh.

I'd rather not let this thread decend into which is better or which is crappier, although the differences and and resulting opinions are relevant as long as they are productive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

AIMAA is rough and ready TKD and is more original ITF than the ITF because it is a snap shot of what TKD was at one point in time.

Cho was a boxer and took part in the early full contact karate comps in the USA. He was more a fighter than a traditionalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

niamhus24 i was formally a member of this assocation and yes they do perform itf tkd patterns plus wtf pattern but to a much lesser degree.
    As to your comment
    well it's fairly bad!!!!
    to what are you referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Are the competitions full contact?

No they're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Jon wrote: »
    No they're not.
    Oh, pity it was sounding interesting, I'm just not big on the idea of losing if I KO my opponent (not that I ever have KO'ed one). What made me wonder was the fact that they were wearing helmets in the video I saw of their competition.

Unpossible wrote: »
    Oh, pity it was sounding interesting, I'm just not big on the idea of losing if I KO my opponent (not that I ever have KO'ed one). What made me wonder was the fact that they were wearing helmets in the video I saw of their competition.

Thats just insurance purposes! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Insanesomeone

Unpossible wrote: »

Helmets are worn as an insurance against axe/cresent kicks etc coming down on the crown of the head, as well as just serving a general protection purpose.

OP:

AIMAA is Grandmaster Hee Il Cho's Taekwondo. It's not ITF, or WTF or anything other than Cho's tkd. AIMAA, however, competes in competitions under ITF rules, as well as Global Kicking Boxing Competitions, other Mixed arts competitions and of course, AIMAA competitions.

Also, you can find videos of any art being butchered on youtube - judo, mui thai, karate, tkd... the list is endless. saying AIMAA is ' fairly bad ' and listing youtube as your source is like claiming you have a friendly and long lasting relationship with a leprachaun because you've eaten lucky charms. Once.

Focus: You're obviously happy to jumnp to conclusions about a martial art after watching a few youtube videos. Why not balance that view on AIMAA and research Grandmaster Cho, Master Kirkwood, Master Darcy or any of the other instructors. I'm sure then you'll appreciate these men (and women) are talented martial artists, and have a bit more respect for AIMAA once you've done that :)

Pow pow pow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

I think I have videos of Master Darcy breaking at ALSAA a few years back. Must dig it up! He totalled a few boards if I remember!

Oh, and to add to the argument: I honestly don't think it matters all too much which federation you are, until you're a few years in. When you start getting to serious high levels, the differences in training begin to manifest themselves.

Funnily enough, I'm wearing a hoody from my old AIMAA club, up in DCU. First time in ages I've worn it!! If Insanesomeone is the brother of someone I used to know, he should be able to tell me how the club is doing! Still going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 noor tkd master

Fristly I would like to point out to Mr I know ITF, please remember that all the ITF Associations in Ireland and UK All the Senior Instrucors like Master B OToole and Master Aidian Walsh ( Great Teacher of mine) or David Oliver (TAGB) OR AITA, ITF, and IUTF many of these advanced Instructors have taken their Dan Grades under Grandmaster Heel Cho. And lets face it, during the 80s and 90s nobody could touch GrandMaster Heel Cho infact no other Master has been on so many Martial Arts mags. So AIMMA is a great Association, and like other TKD Associations you have the good and the bad, I seen many of the Associations and I have seen many black belts who should not be black belts. I have trained with many of the above including GrandMaster Kha Ha Ree. Even though I must agree that AIMMA Ireland Standered has dropped but it is still ITF

YOURS

Noor TKD Master soon to be 5th dan ITF:)

Don't confuse the ITF as being a style. The ITF is an international body.

The style of Taekwon-Do that is used within the ITF is Chang h'on Taekwon-Do as named after Gen. Choi. Chang h'on was in existance many years before the ITF was structured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 noor tkd master

yes you are right ITF is not actully a style, but rather the system founded by the late Grand Master and founder of Tae Kwon do. So all of us or those who claim to follow Tae-Kwon do should be greatful to Grand Master Gen Choi. Grand Master Heel Cho was one of his students therefore what he learnth from Grand Master Gen Choi was passed on to him. So what Aimaa, Teaches is Tae Kwon do The style of Grand Master Gen Choi. therefore Aimaa follows the Patterns of ITF. But new moves have been introduced like A block with side Kick, which Aimaa does not do and some other things. So you can say old style new style. But at the end of the day Aimaa teaches what was thought by GrandMaster Gen Choi thought, making it ITF.

Yours in TKD

Noor TKD Master :)

yes you are right ITF is not actully a style, but rather the system founded by the late Grand Master and founder of Tae Kwon do. So all of us or those who claim to follow Tae-Kwon do should be greatful to Grand Master Gen Choi.

was General Choi Hong Hi a Grand Master?

i did'int think that he held any official grade in Chang Hon TKD other than founder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 zenboy

in ITF tkd all 9th degrees are recognised as grandmasters and there are several nowadays, so yeah he was one although he never graded since he automatically became the highest possible grade as the founder.He was only a 2nd dan shotokan at the time with some training in taekyon.Taekwondo in the beginning was karate withh a few kicks thrown in and it gradually distanced itself from karate with technical changes like the sine wave .

zenboy wrote: »
    in ITF tkd all 9th degrees are recognised as grandmasters and there are several nowadays, so yeah he was one although he never graded since he automatically became the highest possible grade as the founder.He was only a 2nd dan shotokan at the time with some training in taekyon.Taekwondo in the beginning was karate withh a few kicks thrown in and it gradually distanced itself from karate with technical changes like the sine wave .

oh you don't have to give me a TKD history lesson :D

as far as i know besides the claim to have a 2nd dan in shotokan, he did get a 4th dan from the chungdokwan. but due to falling out with the kwans it was stripped from him.

he was always known as "The General" in the Ohdokwan because it was a military unit kwan.

for someone to be promoted to 9th dan choi hong hi would have be above that. so the founder title allowed for this. he would not allow hmself to be called a 10th dan as this would go against his teachings on 9 being the highest number.

I bet ye could argue about it all day but nobody can tell me what actual difference it makes. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Tim_Murphy wrote: »
    I bet ye could argue about it all day but nobody can tell me what actual difference it makes. ;)

Don't you see?? He's not just any old master, he's a Grand Master.

GRAND!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

proteuspal wrote: »
    Hi everyone,
    Sorry to piggyback this thread, but there seems to be alot of people in this thread who may have the answer to my question.
    I am wondering do most clubs do taegeuk patterns or are there any clubs who exclusively use palgwe patterns?
    Please let me know
    Many thanks

start a new thread or pm pma-ire my money says he can help you answer this question.

wow mark thanks :D

this might be worth another thread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭corkma

I like a lot of the aimaa stand for. good solid tkd. some of the patterns on youtube look a little rushed, its hard to see clean technique, but every group has bad youtube videos. I suppose im not a sine wave fan so I'd disagree with the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

This mightn't be the best thread to ask this, but since its been mentioned twice now, could anybody explain what the "sine wave" is in relation to tkd (as opposed to maths or physics)

I found this clip of General Choi Hong Hi demonstrating the sine wave, but no real explanation as to why he does what he does

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=sine+wave+taekwondo&aq=0

The most basic way to explain it is you're using knee spring to generate power. It's why some ppl look bouncy when performing patterns. Personally I dont think using your knees requires you to bounce so much. but thats a whole other argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

cletus wrote: »
    This mightn't be the best thread to ask this, but since its been mentioned twice now, could anybody explain what the "sine wave" is in relation to tkd (as opposed to maths or physics)

Basically, it's pseudo-science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

Everything that I read about it made it appear that way to me, but I thought maybe I might get a straight answer here

It is kind of psuedo-sciency in that people often throw out science terms and butcher basic science when talking about it. It is basically nonsense, and as far as I can see it is a change introduced to ITF TKD to differentiate it from other styles.

Stroll down to the bottom of this link to read about a wee study I did on it about 5 years ago.
    http://www.raynerslanetkd.com/ARTICLES_Patterns_Sinewave.html

It is for sure, but the whole argument about sine wave is moot. Patterns are meant to be fight practice and of course they are not, you cannot generate power by punching and kicking the air or having traditional square stances, adding sine wave to it is like adding air to a bucket of nothing.

Patterns for me are an artist technical demonstration of traditional technique. If you can master them you will do well at tournaments and win medals. Thats the name of the game!

The term sine wave is misleading,sounds scientific but doesn't make sense if you actually know what sine wave means. I think the motivation behind it was to look different from karate. its frustrating, because even the pre sine wave patterns use the knees and look a little less rigid than karate. and there's nothing wrong with looking like karate. The sine wave movement took nice technique with proper use of body mechanics, using hips, knees and everything else, andd they made it stylised or ridiculous

corkma wrote: »
    The term sine wave is misleading,sounds scientific but doesn't make sense if you actually know what sine wave means. I think the motivation behind it was to look different from karate. its frustrating, because even the pre sine wave patterns use the knees and look a little less rigid than karate. and there's nothing wrong with looking like karate. The sine wave movement took nice technique with proper use of body mechanics, using hips, knees and everything else, andd they made it stylised or ridiculous

No it was actually introduced to make it different to great evil..WTF Taekwondo!

In 1973 the WTF was established and took the name Taekwondo as their own. A lot of Gen. Choi's writings at the time were very hard hitting towards the WTF. So he had to re-invent his system to be the ultimate system, more powerful and scientifically based. They came up with sine wave motion, and as an electrician myself, I was confused by its name! They put this term down to the bad translations that were coming out of the Korean instructors at the time. It was meant to be called simply 'knee spring' but it needed a more scientific name. A marketing move more than anything.

Jon,

Remember the arguments you had with me about this over on itf-online? ;)

Tim_Murphy wrote: »
    Jon,

Remember the arguments you had with me about this over on itf-online? ;)

LOL indeed! Good times ;)

sine wave, the great conveersation starter in tkd circles

yomchi wrote: »
    No it was actually introduced to make it different to great evil..WTF Taekwondo!

In 1973 the WTF was established and took the name Taekwondo as their own. A lot of Gen. Choi's writings at the time were very hard hitting towards the WTF. So he had to re-invent his system to be the ultimate system, more powerful and scientifically based. They came up with sine wave motion, and as an electrician myself, I was confused by its name! They put this term down to the bad translations that were coming out of the Korean instructors at the time. It was meant to be called simply 'knee spring' but it needed a more scientific name. A marketing move more than anything.

i know i missed this post when it was put first.

but as far as i can tell from articles and extracts i have read, sinewave in it's current performance was pushed by general choi after a number of his top grand masters left the ITF. most damaging was the departure of GM park jung tae.

GM park was most active in teaching instructor courses around the world up to that point and when he left choi started doing more of these himself and "corrected" the instruction that park had given before.

personally sinewave does not do it for me, and i did spend a year doing it when TKDI was in talks with joining the ITF before they joined the UTI with GM karel. so i'm not just putting it down for the sake of it.

pma-ire wrote: »
    i know i missed this post when it was put first.

but as far as i can tell from articles and extracts i have read, sinewave in it's current performance was pushed by general choi after a number of his top grand masters left the ITF. most damaging was the departure of GM park jung tae.

GM park was most active in teaching instructor courses around the world up to that point and when he left choi started doing more of these himself and "corrected" the instruction that park had given before.

personally sinewave does not do it for me, and i did spend a year doing it when TKDI was in talks with joining the ITF before they joined the UTI with GM karel. so i'm not just putting it down for the sake of it.

GM Park left the ITF in 1990, sine wave was in existence since 1982/3. His departure didn't do anything to change sine wave or make it different. However Gen. Choi did undermine him at many seminars when he started to do them himself.

sinewave before gm park's departure was not the sinewave that was in practice afterwards. it was also not called sinewave as a definition but called natural motion look at the videos from the 80's

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQZjPcGeoj8&feature=related

not a sign of sinewave (there is a pun in there somewhere?? :D ), the general was talking about it, but only in relation to the natural motion of a person moving from an up right position to a lower position in a stance and back up again as they move out of that position.

after park and master kwang jo choi etc left sinewave became the definition of movement in ITF Chang Hon TKD and became the drop, raise and drop motion it is today.

this form of motion has no basis in practical combat use and was a political statement weather you go with the anti-WTF or anti-departed members line.

sinewave before gm park's departure was not the sinewave that was in practice afterwards. it was also not called sinewave as a definition but called natural motion look at the videos from the 80's

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQZjPcGeoj8&feature=related

not a sign of sinewave (there is a pun in there somewhere?? :D ), the general was talking about it, but only in relation to the natural motion of a person moving from an up right position to a lower position in a stance and back up again as they move out of that position.

after park and master kwang jo choi etc left sinewave became the definition of movement in ITF Chang Hon TKD and became the drop, raise and drop motion it is today.

this form of motion has no basis in practical combat use and was a political statement weather you go with the anti-WTF or anti-departed members line.

The term sine wave came into being as early as the 15 volume set was launched in 83/85. Before that it had many interpretations, CK Choi called it natural movement, Kim Young Soo called it knee spring- a term I prefer to use, as the term sine wave doesn't really do it any justice.

The thing is, knee spring motion has been evolving since they first started to use it, as you can see in the North Korean video you posted it is different there as to how it is performed now but it is there, and even years before that, it was different with more emphasis on lifting the hip up as opposed to pulling it back as in hip twist.

The big difference post Park JT (according to my well informed sources :)) was that Gen Choi put more emphasis on the downward motion of the movement, saying Park JT had taught this bit "wrong" - of course Gen Choi was lying as he made Park the chairman of the instruction committee and paid regular visits to the week long IIC's that Park led at the time.

this form of motion has no basis in practical combat use

None of it does, not sine wave, not hip twist not reaction force not knee spring, not any of it. :)

i use hip twist quite well when throwing hands thank you very much :p

as does this guy it seems :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UJaVWd9ecQ

The term sine wave came into being as early as the 15 volume set was launched in 83/85. Before that it had many interpretations, CK Choi called it natural movement, Kim Young Soo called it knee spring- a term I prefer to use, as the term sine wave doesn't really do it any justice.

The thing is, knee spring motion has been evolving since they first started to use it, as you can see in the North Korean video you posted it is different there as to how it is performed now but it is there, and even years before that, it was different with more emphasis on lifting the hip up as opposed to pulling it back as in hip twist.

The big difference post Park JT (according to my well informed sources :)) was that Gen Choi put more emphasis on the downward motion of the movement, saying Park JT had taught this bit "wrong" - of course Gen Choi was lying as he made Park the chairman of the instruction committee and paid regular visits to the week long IIC's that Park led at the time.

so you agree with me then! ;) excellent :D

No, you said it changed after Park JT left, I said it was constantly changing, before Park JT and after, and even up to last week.

i use hip twist quite well when throwing hands thank you very much :p

as does this guy it seems :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UJaVWd9ecQ

Try hitting that guys pressure points :P

ya noticed lee smacking the neck points area :D

and even up to last week.

why who are they fighting with now :p

oh that's right!

each other :p

Are you ok Paul? It's usually best to wait for a reply :)

i talk to myself much more these days!

the company is much better :p

i talk to myself much more these days!

the company is much better :p