Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are my rights

Options
  • 05-02-2009 11:26am
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi,
    I currently work as a graduate accountant in 1 of the Big 4 firms. Every year we have an appraisal process and are graded between 1-5, 1 been lowest, and salary is grade related.
    I was originally graded a 2, but appealed and was phoned by the Head Partner of my dept (who made the decision of 2 in 1st place) and told it was changed to a 3 upon further review.(back in July 2008)
    However my pay never changed and I was being paid as a 4, so technically they owed me money every month. I obviously chased up a lot and was treated with total lack of respect and only found out yesterday that a decision had been reached at top level with HR to not change grades given, so I will not be getting money owed.

My question is this...is there anything I can do? I have 3mths left on my contract which I will not be renewing. As part of my contract it states: "employees may be required to work overtime from time to time". We get paid time and half btw.

Now in next 3mths I am booked to a number of clients which will require me to work a lot of overtime in order to get my work done in the allotted time. Am i within my rights to refuse to work overtime for my remaining 3mths??what sanctions could they take if i do this?

Thanks
    Tagged:

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Will you need a reference? And on what terms do you want to leave? Will you need the overtime money if you take time to find another job?