Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man hands out free money in USA

• 05-02-2009 1:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭

From BBC:
    Man hands out cash in New York

By Sima Kotecha
    Newsbeat US reporter

Imagine getting £35 for doing absolutely nothing. Well in New York, a man is giving away stacks of cash to anyone who's prepared to stand in line for it.

The mystery man, who calls himself 'Bailout Bill', says in the middle of an economic crisis ordinary Americans who are struggling to make ends meet deserve a bailout.

In order to get the money people have to go the 'Bailout Booth' in the heart of Manhattan's Times Square.

It's a small cubicle, a couple of blocks away from the massive Virgin Megastore.

The minimum anyone can get is $50 (£35). The maximum is $5,000 (£3,513).

No matter who you are or what you do Bailout Bill guarantees that you'll get something if you just show up and tell your story.

Hundreds have already braved the freezing temperatures to get their free dosh. Some have stood in line for hours before getting to the front.

Gerrard Rinemoof, 34, was covered in snow before he got his cash.

He told Newsbeat it was worth it: "Our cat is sick and we had to take him to the vet, so the 50 bucks helps me pay the bill."

But perhaps there is something Bailout Bill would like in exchange - even though he doesn't necessarily spell it out.

His staff hold up banners which have the address of his website printed on them.

They encourage the public to go online and check it out. It's an advertising site where people can post their videos and adverts in order to sell items they no longer want.

So maybe Bailout Bill is giving away thousands to promote his business?

Many here don't seem to care. Rodriguez, who's 24, said the entrepreneur had a big heart.

"Basically I just need to pay my bills and save money, and this money helps me do that. With my $50 I'm going to grab a McDonald's now."

The Bailout Booth doesn't end here in New York. In the coming weeks, it'll make stops in Washington DC, Boston, and Philadelphia.

One homeless woman, who didn't want to give her name, said: "I have no jacket, nowhere to live, and I'm sick. God bless this day."

Well if he's giving out money for friggin cat operations he definitely must be a soft touch.

What would your scam story be?
    Would you employ a disguise of some sort to have another go?
    Would you hurt small children to make your story seem more plausible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

"Basically I just need to pay my bills and save money, and this money helps me do that. With my $50 I'm going to grab a McDonald's now."

Pfft. No wonder Americans are so overweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Monroe: It's a special isolation chamber. The subject pulls levers to receive
    food and water. The floor can become electrified, and showers of
    icy water randomly fall on the subject. I call it... The Monroe Box!
    Grampa: Uh huh. Sounds interesting. How much will it cost to build?
    Monroe: Oh, that's the beauty part! It's already built! I need the money
    to buy a baby to raise in the box until the age of thirty.
    Grampa: What are you trying to prove?
    Monroe: Well, my theory is that the subject will be socially maladjusted and
    will harbor a deep resentment towards me.
    Grampa: Mm. Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Man:With proper funding, I'm confident this little baby could destroy an area the size of New York City.
    Grampa: But I want to help people, not kill them!
    Man: Oh. Well, to be honest, the ray only has evil applications...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Eh Howaya Bill, the names Bertie from Ireland . I need, eh, a bailout , I've fallen on hard time ya see. Yeh, five grand should do it. Eh, not dollars Bill could you make it Euros? Infacta I've had bad experiences with dem foreign currencies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I cant be bothered reading that, someone summarise it for me please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Caoimhín wrote: »
    I cant be bothered reading that, someone summarise it for me please?

Read the title then.