Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Own Little Records

• 04-02-2009 11:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭

Everyone has their own little collection of records, humungous mishaps and triumphant moments. Watching the SuperBowl the other night made me laugh at how ridiculously minute and fairly irrelevent stats are kept, but we all do it ourselves in a way. Thought it would be interesting to share a few. Here's mine...

First ever round full of golf and highest score ever (so far!): 125 - Portarlington

Most Pars in a Row: 8

Most Birdies in a Row: 3

Most Eagles in a Round: 2 in Portatlington Junior Scratch

Most Holes Without Dropping a Shot: 1-12

Lowest Score for 9 holes: 33 (-3)

Lowest Score for 18 holes: 69 (-2)

Most Points Ever: 45 (off 18)

Most Ridiculous Club Used for a Period of Time:
    6 degree Callaway GBB with x flex ProForce (what was I thinking?)

Second Most Ridiculous Club Used for a Period of Time: 9.5 Titlesist 975D with x100 DG steel shaft, 2" shorter than standard (what the f*ck was I thinking!?)

Worst Cheating Moment:
    Watching my mate hit 2 balls OOB on the 10th in the last group on the last day of a Boy's comp as I finished on 18. Knew he'd either run out of balls or only had one left. Went over and slipped a few into his bag.

Biggest Almost-comeback in a Match:
    from 5 down after 9 in scratch matchplay final to lose on 18

Oddly succesful run in Handicap Matchplay:
    Winning 3 matches to get to Quarter Finals without ever being down, went 1 down on 15 in the Quarter Final but came back to win - 69 holes without going behind.

Longest Par 5 hit in two:
    13th at Old Conna - Something like 600 yards from the back - Junior Scratch Cup 2008

Most Embarassing Day:
    Shooting 90 (off 4) in European Club in a fourball with 3 pros

Most Balls hit off one Tee in a Strokes Comp:
    4 - Munster Boys in Kinsale, thought the first was out, first provo looked tight, second looked iffy too, third provo and fourth ball in total went way out of bounds. Thankfully found the first ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Machman

First ever round full of golf and highest score ever (so far!): 101 - Castle Barna (had played par 3 a bit before)

Most Pars in a Row: 5
    Most Birdies in a Row: 2
    Most Eagles in a Round: never had an eagle in 13 years playing
    Most Holes Without Dropping a Shot: 5
    Lowest Score for 9 holes: 37(+2)
    Lowest Score for 18 holes: 79 (+7)

Most remarkable round: Played home course without double bogey or 6 on the card. Once.

Most Points Ever: 43 (off 17) currently 14.0 which explains some of the above stats.

Most Ridiculous Club Used for a Period of Time: None come to mind.

Worst Cheating Moment: Nothing really, maybe turning blind eye to society player misdemeanour, who won't break 20pts that day.

Biggest Almost-comeback in a Match: Was 3 up then 3 down after 10, then won on 19th.

Longest Par 5 hit in two: Occasionally hit the odd short par 5 in two, not worlds longest. Pushed a few out past 300 on occasion, downwind, downhill, flushed etc. Not regular occurrence.

Most Embarassing Day:
    Losing 7 balls in a round, I'm not exactly a beginner and was playing with guys with double my handicap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

I don't know the answers to most of the questions.

I have no idea what my first round score was.

I think my lowest score for 9 holes was 32 but I'm not sure. I don't even know what my lowest 18 was :eek:

I've only had one eagle max per round and they are pretty rare.

Most pars in a row.........no idea but I'd guess 7.

I don't remember any back to back birdies let alone 3 in a row!

Longest par 5 in 2??? No idea - though I did get onto the par 5 18th at Ballycastle with a 5 wood and a 7 iron.......ok so there was a gale force wind blowing (I had to hit a 5 iron at a 110 yard par 3).

Biggest mistake - playing the wrong ball in a matchplay competition and the effect was a two hole swing - I lost at the 20th.

Most balls played off one tee - 3. I was heading for a good score at Bangor when I hooked two balls out of bounds on the 16th to ruin my card and miss out on winning the combined open stroke competitions.

Worst day........at Kilkeel. I went through about 4 holes where I topped every shot and to this day I don't know why. Oh and I also remember getting the shanks at Carnalea. I was just off the green and hit four shanks in a row and went right round the edge of the green............I ended up putting onto the green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

Fair play to all of you for remembering. I haven't a clue of any of those stats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Hulkamaniac

Hi everyone, kinda only taking golf seriously in the last two years (I wish I'd made that decision 10 years ago) - you will notice my short time in the game from earlier posts when I misinterpreted a number of rules (sorry about that sheet!)

Anyway, I like keeping records so here goes
    Most Pars in a Row: 6

Most Birdies in a Row: 1

Most Eagles in a Round: 0

Most Holes Without Dropping a Shot: 6

Lowest Score for 9 holes: 35 (+2, in Citywest)

Lowest Score for 18 holes: 73 (+8 in Citywest)

Most Points Ever: 43 (off 15)

Titliest 907d2 stiff shaft (bought after my 73 round because I assumed I was deadly!)

Second Most Ridiculous Club Used for a Period of Time: Scotty Cameron futura putter (looked like a branding iron and made a mad "Bong" at impact!)

Worst Cheating Moment: None, although played as a guest in a society and when I asked the guy (since nicknamed abacus!) what score he had he replied 6, which I wrote down, knowing he really had an 8 but too scared to bring it up because he was disgusted at me from a previous hole were I made him go back to the tee after losing his first tee shot!

Biggest Almost-comeback in a Match:
    Play a yearly game against a mate off 9 (for Dinner) and the first year he bet me with 8 holes still to play, last year we drew - he feels like he lost :)

Oddly succesful run in Handicap Matchplay:
    In the club matchplay I boast a record of played 1, lost 1 :(

Longest Par 5 hit in two: Never

Most Embarassing Day:
    First tee box in the Capt's prize, remarked on how I was playing a Titliest 8, spoke for a few seconds about funny high number - then I tee'd off and block left into the lake! My playing partner remarked on how we'd talked about that ball more than I'd used it!

3, again in the same capt's prize, ended up with a 12!!

*New Addition*
    Luckiest Moment: On my best ever round I hit a ball almost to the middle of a small lake in front of the green, it must've hit a rock or something because it bounced right out and onto the fringe of the green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

stockdam wrote: »
    Oh and I also remember getting the shanks at Carnalea. I was just off the green and hit four shanks in a row and went right round the edge of the green............I ended up putting onto the green.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::D:D:D

I just pissed myself laughing at that, fookin hilarious!!!!!

My brother gets them sometimes and it has the same effect on me, I just end up sniggering and laughing into my jumper as he shanks his way along for a hole or two.Friendly brother eh???:D
    I think his record is six on the trot.

As regards the stats, I remember a few, not many.

One highlight was three birdies in the trot on the Monty in Carton, the little short par 4 down into the corner, then turn back up and play a shortish par 5 followed by a par 4 (or the other way around, not sure.)Think they're the 14th, 15th & 16th, it was a blur:o

Also just missed an albatross by a couple of inches on the par 5 4th in Forrest Little, nearly died.Still, gimme a tap in eagle any day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

Heres all i can remember anyway!

Most pars in a row- 18,connaught boys in strandhill years ago!
    Most birdies in a row-6
    Most eagles in a rd-2 "
    Low 9-30 (-6)
    Low 18 65 Carlow
    Course records- European club-69 Since been beaten.....
    Lucan-66 Might have been beaten since
    Carlow-65 Tied since
    Killeen-67 Tied since
    lee valley-67
    Comeback-4 down after 9 to noel fox in senior cup and won on 18!
    Most putts on a hole- 8......dont ask!
    Lucky...was 5up atfer 9 in the south one year and imploded to be level on the 18th only for my opponent to flash it oob on the left to habd me the match...phew!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭JMB88

Most Pars in a Row: 11 or 12 I think

Most Birdies in a Row: 4

Most Eagles in a Round: 1

Most Holes Without Dropping a Shot: 18

Lowest Score for 9 holes: 31 (-4)

Lowest Score for 18 holes: 65(-6)

Most Points Ever: 45 (off 14)

A few years ago when I was 15 playing off about 5 I using one of Harringtons Deep Red drivers with a extra stiff graffoly, couldnt hit it out of my way!

Amount of hole in ones: 1 (5th in Thurles)

Biggest comeback in a Match:
    A few years ago in my clubs handicap matchplay I was 6 down with 8 to play and came back to win on 18.

Biggest club matchplay victory: 10/8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

First ever round full of golf and highest score ever (so far!): 16 points off 28 handicap. I would have been about 11. I think that works out to be around 118.

Most Pars in a Row: 11

Most Birdies in a Row: 4

Most Eagles in a Round: 1

Most Holes Without Dropping a Shot: 1-12

Lowest Score for 9 holes: 32 (-3)

Lowest Score for 18 holes: 67 (-3)

Most Points Ever: 51 (off 24) lost 5 shots

6 degree Callaway GBB with x flex ProForce (what was I thinking?)

Second Most Ridiculous Club Used for a Period of Time: 9.5 Titlesist 975D with x100 DG steel shaft, 2" shorter than standard (what the f*ck was I thinking!?)

Biggest comeback in a Match:

more strange than biggest. First time playing junior cup and was playing poorly and was 2 down after 12. Skied a drive on 13, and he was straight down the middle, i hit a poor 5 wood down the fairway, he found the green. I overhit the green. i chip dead, he 4 putts and i win with 5. I chip in for eagle on the next, follow this with birdie, par, birdie and win on 17!! Won7 out of my next 8 junior cup matches after that

Longest Par 5 hit in two:
    not sure, none come to mine, remember hitting the 13th on the O'Meara in Carton House in one. I think that measures 360 yards...albeit downhill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Some great reading there! Some funny sh*t and some impressive feats (Gorfield you freak ;)).

I didn't necessarily mean for everyone to stick to mine - I didn't mean it like a template of questions - whatever ones of your own you can remember, it's all interesting stuff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Castleknock - playing off 18. I was level par from 4th to 12th inclusive.

Carton (O;Meara) - hit the index one par 4 in two and holed for birdie

Royal Dublin - the first par three on the course (3/4th?) - hit the flag and stopped 2 ft from pin - closest to hole in 1.

Matchplay - 4 up after 9 and won the match on 18. Learned so much about how easy it is to fall apart.

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

one record i have which hopefully i can get rid of this year is that i have never qualified for the singles matchplayh competition in my home club and i've been trying to qualify for the last 15 years/(i may have missed one or two years in that time). Its the top 32 scores that count and i've missed it by a shot on a couple of occasions. I;ve just never managed it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Most Pars in a Row: 5
    Most Birdies in a Row: 2
    Most Eagles in a Round: 1 ever on par 5 -just after I had got a 2 stroke pen for playing the wrong ball on previous hole :cool:
    Lowest Score for 9 holes: 36(-8 nett)
    Lowest Score for 18 holes: 81 (63nett)

Most remarkable round: as above - out in 36, back in 50 :(

Most Honest Moment: I once won first prize in a society, realised I had signed for 1 stroke less on my card the following day, went and fessed up. Should have been disqualified but they just relegated me to 2nd.

Biggest Almost-comeback in a Match: None. Plenty bottling to remember though :( .Matchplay ain't my forte I think.

Record I would like to get: I have won our last 2 July Medals (record?). Would love to make it 3 in-a-row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Best run of holes: -1 from holes 9-15
    lowest 9 holes: +1
    lowest 18: +9
    Best come back in matchplay: I was 5 down after nine and i managed to win on the 18th
    Run of pars: 6
    Most birdies in a round: 3
    Eagles: never had one unfortunately

My luckiet was on the par3 11th in my home course where there a lake in front of the green and a thinned my iron up to the back of the lake and ended up skimming out of the water and onto the rough in front of the green.

Most embarassing moment:
    In the bunker on the 18th faceing the clubhouse, with a lot of people looking out of the windows and it took me four attempts before i finially managed to get it out of there (horrible)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Maddest run of holes in my life:

Birdie, Birdie, Eagle, Birdie (first 4 holes at Elm Green a few years ago - mental !!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Playing the short 4th in Lucan in a society (front green) Wedge just pitched short of hole and must have just missed the hole. 1foot 5 inches. Won nearest to the pin but walked off with a bogey :mad:

Won my first open in in Woodlands with 44pts of 18. 1st year with a handicap. Was a member of Elm Green at the time but put my cards in to get my handicap and hadn't been out since. Prize went to Elm Green but not the card. I had cut myself they weren't happy at all.

1st Par 5 in two was 12th of 13th in Kilcock. Down a hill to a green. Nobody in front of us so went with the 3 wood and down the hill to my amazement edge of green. 2 players on the green when we got down there waiting for us :confused:

Funniest Game. Thurles with the job society (Captains Day). Way to much drink the night before. Took us a lot longer to get down there cause we had to stop so many times for me to get sick all the way from Dublin to Thurles. Was green when I arrived. No practice green or swing. Straight to the course. Came 2nd beaten on the back 9.

Worse club: Another driver story. Mizuno T-Zoid. Couldn't hit it out of my way. When I did it went right.

Worst moment Arklow. Jobs Ryder Cup. 4balls m/play. We lose the 1st. I go birdie birdie. Put us one up. 4th Down on fairway with wedge into the green. Partner in rough. The two lads hit it into the sea (24 handicap x 2). So my partner goes may aswell hit another cause we will be only waiting. 1 back into the sea other down the right in the rough. Hits his 4th shot into the hole with a shot. We were 2over par gross 10-14 and only level with them. Ended up losing in the end. Never let my partner forget it.

If I think of anymore will post them up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭postalservice

4 - Munster Boys in Kinsale, thought the first was out, first provo looked tight, second looked iffy too, third provo and fourth ball in total went way out of bounds. Thankfully found the first ;)

What hole was that btw?

Most ridiculous club: Momentus lob wedge:o
    2nd most ridiculous club: Knife 3 wood....(it was good off a tee ok!)

Most points: 55 off 23
    Biggest comeback....hmm...3 down with 4 to go.....won on 19th hole (3 foot putt for eagle on 18 playing off 20hcp:P)

Makes me wanna play again :(
    Havent played since st stevens:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Most Embarassing Day:
    First tee box in the Capt's prize, remarked on how I was playing a Titliest 8, spoke for a few seconds about funny high number - then I tee'd off and block left into the lake! My playing partner remarked on how we'd talked about that ball more than I'd used it!

LMAO:D:D

Some great reading there! Some funny sh*t and some impressive feats (Gorfield you freak ;)).

I didn't necessarily mean for everyone to stick to mine - I didn't mean it like a template of questions - whatever ones of your own you can remember, it's all interesting stuff :)
    Which bit makes me a freak?? I presume the 8putt has something to do with it........Is everyone using gross scores though? Some lad here had his best run of 6 pars but best 18 of 65!!!!!

gorfield wrote: »
    Which bit makes me a freak?? I presume the 8putt has something to do with it........Is everyone using gross scores though? Some lad here had his best run of 6 pars but best 18 of 65!!!!!
    I'm talking gross 65 (61 nett at the time) ... I said 11 or 12 pars (wasnt sure) not 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

best points score: 48 points off 18, 79 shots

most birdies in a row: 3 - 5th to 7th in gold coast

best front 9: 35(par) in gold coast

best back 9:37(+1)

eagles: none although not for lack off chances

longest par 5 in two: 16th in gold coast. 520 yards in presidents prize. Drive 3 iron. drove the first in highfield, 310 metres and made birdie:cool:.Made the 6th in gold coast with drive and wedge(490 from back tees but about 475). two putt birdie

run of pars: dont know but was level through 13 in gold coast.

biggest collapse: 24 points on front nine in captains prize and then everythin went haywire. 3 putts galore, a couple OB and finished with 33 pts. Also 42 pts through 17 with a par 5 that i have a shot on. a little into the wind but a perfect drive, a little slice with the recovery and had little tree obstructin my swing. About 130 yards out and tried to punch an 8 iron and caught it absolutely flush. bounced off the hill at the back of green and OB. SCRATCH:mad: Winner had 45points with 2nd and 3rd both havin 43.:(

Most putts in one round: 43

least: 25(obviously got a couple of lessons)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Danow247

I cant remeber many stats really but a few that stand out:

Back to back eagles on 15 & 16 of forrest little. Held my 2nd shot on 16!

Winning the McGinley cup with my friend a couple of yeas back.

Semi Finals of Lord Mayors in 2007.
    - Best comeback was in the quarter final against clontarf member, 2 down with 3 to play and went birdie par birdie to beat him. Huge crowd following our match aswell which was good.

16 pars in a row in forrest little and then fineshed bogey bogey! :mad:

2 under in forrest little aswell in a sat comp. Playing off 8. Won the comp by about 10 haha.

Thats all i can think of really. Hopefully add a hole in one soon!! And a junior scratch cup!!

Anyone here ever won a JSC or scratch cup??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Danow247 wrote: »
    Anyone here ever won a JSC or scratch cup??

Was beaten by one in the JSC at Woodenbridge in '08 to a lad who had a hole in one on 17.

Same guy had two hole in ones in one round the week before :rolleyes:

Was beaten by one in the JSC at Woodenbridge in '08 to a lad who had a hole in one on 17.

Ive been lucky to pick up a good few scratch cups and other "stuff" over the years but to list them off would seem arrogant?? And reveal identity?

That's ridiculous! I shot 74 (+2) in Stackstowns JSC about 4 years ago and got beaten on the back 9 unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Most par 3s in a row:
    17 to finish with a double:

Most eagles per round:
    2. once in Mount Wolseley, twice in Forrest Little

Best 9 holes:

Best 18 holes:

Most puts:
    5, gale mid summer in Druids Heath. Long par 3 up hill, second put kept trickling downhill until it went into the bunker. Out, 3 more for good measure. Nightmare!

Most embarrassing moment:
    Playing off 12 at the time, played the wrong ball 6 times on the sixth hole par 5 in Rathdowney captains qualifier. Didn't know ruling so finished with an 18. Was only +1 for the other 17 and still qualified. :eek:

Best comeback:
    Metro cup years ago, went 4 down after 5, copped myself on and won 3 and 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Danow247

f22 wrote: »
    Most puts:
    5, gale mid summer in Druids Heath. Long par 3 up hill, second put kept trickling downhill until it went into the bunker. Out, 3 more for good measure. Nightmare!

I had about the same in corballis last week haha!

And also who was on your bag in that metro comeback!!!!! I thought it went down 19 though??

f22 wrote: »
    Best comeback:
    Metro cup years ago, went 4 down after 5, copped myself on and won 3 and 2.

Nice Ferg, I did the same in the Metro two years ago away to Carton on the Monty, was four down after four and came back to one up walking onto 17 but our match was called in (we lost:mad:)

Against a very expereinced old timer aswell, I was very proud:rolleyes:

AND I had nobody on the bag, where were ye Dano???????:eek::eek:

Danow247 wrote: »
    I had about the same in corballis last week haha!

And also who was on your bag in that metro comeback!!!!! I thought it went down 19 though??

No, that was another match. I remember that one, I was 4 down after 4 that day and think I went 5 down after 6, we were soaked to the skin. If I remember correctly you slagged yer man the whole way round (not to his face mind you) and I was in tears laughing.

He was seriously pissed off when he lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Worst putt: A non-chalant 6 inch one-handed 'finish out' which finished a half inch short!
    Worst set of drives: 4 drives in a row into water off the 7th in woodstock.
    Best Par 5: 6 inches short of an albatross at the 5th in Woodstock.
    Best recovery: Birdie on par4 15th (Wdstk) after putting tee shot into woods.
    Best nine: +1
    Best 18: +5
    Worst result of a shot: Think I killed a swan in the lake on the 7th in Woodstock (went to where my ball had landed ... right on the bank of the lake .. and there was a swan dead in the water at that exact spot ... didn't look long dead tbh!).

Myksyk wrote: »
    Worst result of a shot: Think I killed a swan in the lake on the 7th in Woodstock (went to where my ball had landed ... right on the bank of the lake .. and there was a swan dead in the water at that exact spot ... didn't look long dead tbh!).

Good one. Friend of mine skulled a goose in the head in America one year. His immediate response was to shout sorry. I nearly died laughing and I don't think the goose understood the apology either!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

Hole in ones: one at glen of the downs 1st hole

Best nine: level par at Kilcoole(few years ago now)

Worst shots: having recovered from 3 down with 4 to play to be level standing on 18th level, short par three I managed to shank three balls out of bounds. Felt like throwing clubs in lake beside green. What made it worse was my opponent trying to make me feel better by saying how well i had done to get back level. I felt like thumping him.

Run of Birdies: 3, last three holes in greystones to win open fourball by a point with 47pts(3/4 handicap) can still see the faces of guys we pipped on back nine they were sick.:D

Best recovery: after having 8 points on the front nine in la cala, i then shot one over on back nine to have 24pts had a birdie putt on last for level par.