Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GF and Partying

• 03-02-2009 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi, Ive been with my GF for a year now and Im 18 shortly. She is 18 about 3 months after me. Im planning to go out to Dublin for my 18th with some old friends who are of age.

Just to get a girls perspective on this, would it be a big deal if I were to invite my ex aswell. i havent seen my ex in ages but I went out with her for only about a month 2 years ago, so it was nothing serious.

Also when she turns 18, she isnt much of a party animal, doesnt like parties much at all really. So when she turns 18, how should things be? I mean Id like to go out with some people, Ill hopefully be in college next year, shell be in 6th year.

Sorry this post is all over the place, just typing as I think.

Thanks to anyone who replies.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Don't invite your ex. No. No. No!!!

Who cares if your girlfriend doesn't like going out? You can go with your own friends! You're allowed to go out without her sometimes ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Whatever you do, don't invite your ex along. If nothing else, we could see a thread here in PI from your girlfriend with a subject line of "He went partying with his ex" :rolleyes:

As for when she turns 18, what the girl does is up to herself. Talk to her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

So when she turns 18, how should things be? I mean Id like to go out with some people, Ill hopefully be in college next year, shell be in 6th year.

Huh? :confused:

It doesn't matter what you want to do for her 18th.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

For the love of god, DON'T INVITE YOUR EX!!!!! That idea has bad news written all over it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Good god, don't invite your ex. Terribly idea, especially if your girlfriend can't go! That's a disaster waiting to happen right there.

And everyone else is right, she doesn't have to go out if she doesn't want to and you don't have to stay in all the time. It's perfectly for you to go out with your own mates without her. It's probably better if you do imo! No point in being attached at the hip 24/7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

definitly not
    my ex invited her ex to her 21st a lng time ago spent most of the night talking to him she was a real catch if you get where that is going.

dont do it prevent a fight rather than resolve one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ya went out with her for a month when you were 16, hardly constitutes a significant history. Invite the "ex" if your good friends with her, its not like ye have a big emotional attachment thats gonna be rekindled (i would imagine).

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

ColHol wrote: »
    Ya went out with her for a month when you were 16, hardly constitutes a significant history. Invite the "ex" if your good friends with her, its not like ye have a big emotional attachment thats gonna be rekindled (i would imagine).

I think very few 17 year old girls would see it from that POV!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Do you still hang around with your ex?

Is she part of your gang?

If so, yeah bring her along but if you havent seen her in 2 years, dont do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There are 3 conditions when this would be acceptable:

1. You speak to your ex regularly (at least once a month), and your gf knows this.
    2. Your girlfriend doesn't hate, dislike, or harbour jealousy towards your ex.
    3. Your girlfriend will be there, all night.

If any of these conditions can't be satisfied, do not invite the ex. I suspect you'll have particular difficulty satisfying no. 2 where a 17 year old girl is concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Invite your ex out and nail her, you're only young once.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Invite your ex out and nail her, you're only young once.

Read this forums Charter pete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

ColHol wrote: »

Hi OP here again.

Yeah, thats what I was thinkin. I mean even in that month I only seen her like 3 times.

@Pink Fluffy Bunny: No, shes not part of our gang. She lives a Dart trip and bus trip away. But like, it wasn't a heartbreaking exprience, the breakup. Was really just a, 'here this sucks, I rarely see you'. 'yeah' 'wanna call it off?' 'sure'. End of.

No major emotional attatchment. She was my first girlfriend. My GF now will hopefully be my last. Ive only had one between and thats well out of the way.

I mean, I think it would be fun to catch up and whatnot, but theres also about 10 other friends that are grand to invite that I havent seen in ages too that Im gona invite and catch up with, so I see it as catching up with an old mate. Just afraid my girlfriend wont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Terodil

To me this sounds as if you haven't really got over her. Why do you care so much about her? Why do you go around wondering what her news are, what you'll do for her 18th etc etc?

Please clarify your attitude towards her, as what you are doing currently has great chances of hurting your current GF, your ex and yourself.

I assumed the OP meant his gf's 18th but now I'm confused...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Big_Mac

She's your ex. end of. No details of the ins and outs (pardon the pun) are necesary.

To simplify, would I invite an ex? Noooooooooooooooooo

Hi OP here again.

Yeah, thats what I was thinkin. I mean even in that month I only seen her like 3 times.

@Pink Fluffy Bunny: No, shes not part of our gang. She lives a Dart trip and bus trip away. But like, it wasn't a heartbreaking exprience, the breakup. Was really just a, 'here this sucks, I rarely see you'. 'yeah' 'wanna call it off?' 'sure'. End of.

No major emotional attatchment. She was my first girlfriend. My GF now will hopefully be my last. Ive only had one between and thats well out of the way.

I mean, I think it would be fun to catch up and whatnot, but theres also about 10 other friends that are grand to invite that I havent seen in ages too that Im gona invite and catch up with, so I see it as catching up with an old mate. Just afraid my girlfriend wont.

If this is the case, then it might be ok to invite her if ur current GF was going too, but if she's not, I still think inviting an ex is a bad idea. Just out of interest, do you plan on telling your gf that you're inviting your ex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Huh? :confused:

Op again,
    It doesn't matter what you want to do for her 18th.

Sorry just to clarify, I meant in general. Like when she turns 18 would it be normal to go out on a weekend with people if she didnt want to go out?

That was just another side note.

Also, I am over my ex completely. There was nothing really to be over. It was like a childish thing really. It would be like you wanting to catch up with a friend you hadnt seen in ages.
    Aswell, Yes I was definitly planning on telling my GF if I do invite my ex, I wouldnt hide that.