Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Tournaments - Publishing Results.

• 02-02-2009 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭

Boards is an open forum and thus organizers should be more open about the events that they organize (and freely advertise in BOARDS) in that there should be a requirement for them to post results if they are to continue to be allowed to advertise.

The Poker Tournament Forum Rules states:
    "Update note: It would be a nice touch if organisers posted results of posted tournaments."

IMHO :)
    - The results should also detail numbers, prize pool & final table players.
    - Organizers should be banned from continually advertising events if they fail to comply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

some people who prefer their anonymity and can't be posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

some people who prefer their anonymity and can't be posted

I don't necissarily agree with the op,that results MUST be posted,but this statement is absolute bollox considering these are live tournaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Once they answer any problems which occur at an event that is enough for me.

I do think they should post results but i would not make it rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

I don't necissarily agree with the op,that results MUST be posted,but this statement is absolute bollox considering these are live tournaments.

I think he meant it more to do with the amount they won , some people may not want people knowing how much money they won - bit like the lotto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Hoki wrote: »
    I think he meant it more to do with the amount they won , some people may not want people knowing how much money they won - bit like the lotto

This doesnt make sense though as any large buy-in event is added to The Hendon Mob database where all that info is freely available.

a lot of people would have no idea what the hendon mob database is about + they dont always have every tournament result

Meh,if you wish to hide money won from poker,stick to playing online.
    I think it's reasonable for the sake of the players who played to make the information available.

a lot of people would have no idea what the hendon mob database is about + they dont always have every tournament result

Any €500 + buy-in from Ireland gets included. Anyone who happens to be in the venue where the tourney is being held knows what the payout is and who won what. You can only ask for anonymity where the info isnt already out public.

the recent xmas festival in the macau , cork , which was a €1k buy in is not up on it afaik

Fair enough, but surely you get my point that if you really wanted to know how much a person won you could find out

i know , someone always spills the beans eventually

The fact remains,it's still only fair to all who played the tournie,to let them know the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Laxie

I post results daily for live events on Blonde. Information includes buy in, number of runners, number of re-buys (if applicable), total prize pool and names of people who cashed. Anyone who doesn't want their name to appear is entitled to opt out. In that case, I post 'Anon' and the amount they won.

Many reasons why a person might not want their name posted on the web. Not for us to debate. That's their right. Even THM has the opt out option when results are posted. Doesn't mean organisers/card rooms shouldn't bother, for fear of upsetting one or two. Especially not when it means upsetting many more by avoiding the topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

You stuck for a few €€€€€ Pat and need a lend :p;)

I think it wouldn be a bad idea to be honest, but each to their own, i know that The Jackpot post a list of their tournament winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Theres at least one dublin regular using a fake name, he also runs for the hills if theres a camera around. As well as not wanting people to know your winnings theres still a bad stigma attached to gambling and been seen in casinos in a lot of jobs in Ireland.

Also Boards is massive on google, if you apply for a lot of jobs your name will be googled. Spending your nights gambling doesnt look good.
    You stuck for a few €€€€€ Pat and need a lend :p;)

I think it wouldn be a bad idea to be honest, but each to their own, i know that The Jackpot post a list of their tournament winners.

The Jackpot usually only post a first name and a second initial. The SE once made the massive error of posting up the entire cash league table letting the world know exactly how many hours of cash games people had played over the last couple of months. It was removed pretty quickly after a few complaints.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 427 ✭✭GKidd

bigbadpat wrote: »
    Boards is an open forum and thus organizers should be more open about the events that they organize (and freely advertise in BOARDS) in that there should be a requirement for them to post results if they are to continue to be allowed to advertise.

I wouldn't like it to be made public knowledge that I still like to bully €5 rebuy tourneys....ooops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭adzer86

As said the Jackpot posts results but everytime I have cashed in a tourney there I have been asked if it is ok that they post the reults up on boards.

bohsman wrote: »
    Theres at least one dublin regular using a fake name, he also runs for the hills if theres a camera around. As well as not wanting people to know your winnings theres still a bad stigma attached to gambling and been seen in casinos in a lot of jobs in Ireland.

Also Boards is massive on google, if you apply for a lot of jobs your name will be googled. Spending your nights gambling doesnt look good.

The Jackpot usually only post a first name and a second initial. The SE once made the massive error of posting up the entire cash league table letting the world know exactly how many hours of cash games people had played over the last couple of months. It was removed pretty quickly after a few complaints.

Haha thats mad that there is one person using a fake name. Yeah i remember the time that they done that alright.

Is there much of a difference between people blogging about tournaments (Adam/Sam) or pokernews updating people on results and runnings and tournament results being publised by the card rooms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

we at the poker room ireland also ask are players if they want there names posted on result sheet, some do and some dont

Haha thats mad that there is one person using a fake name. Yeah i remember the time that they done that alright.

Is there much of a difference between people blogging about tournaments (Adam/Sam) or pokernews updating people on results and runnings and tournament results being publised by the card rooms?

I blogged at the Leprechaun festival and was asked by 2 players not to post their names, I dont see as much of a problem with it for a big festival as for nightly tournaments.

bohsman wrote: »
    I blogged at the Leprechaun festival and was asked by 2 players not to post their names, I dont see as much of a problem with it for a big festival as for nightly tournaments.

As i said earlier, each to their own i suppose. Maybe away around this is for card rooms to just post how many people entered the tournie and the structure of the prizepool??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

The Poker Tournament Forum Rules states:
    "Update note: It would be a nice touch if organisers posted results of posted tournaments."

IMHO :)
    - The results should also detail numbers, prize pool & final table players.
    - Organizers should be banned from continually advertising events if they fail to comply.

Things are fine the way they are imo. Organisers by and large tend to follow the points outlined in the rules. As long as they do this and make themselves available to to answer reasonable questions about the event they are promoting then thats fine.

It would be nice if results are posted, and for the bigger events they usually are, often with some excellent live updates from the likes of Adamm, Jbravado, bohsman and Mellor (fair play lads).

Also going around checking for results would be a pain in the hole for us.

Hope that helps some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

KevIRL wrote: »
    Things are fine the way they are imo. Organisers by and large tend to follow the points outlined in the rules. As long as they do this and make themselves available to to answer reasonable questions about the event they are promoting then thats fine.

It would be nice if results are posted, and for the bigger events they usually are, often with some excellent live updates from the likes of Adamm, Jbravado, bohsman and Mellor (fair play lads).

Also going around checking for results would be a pain in the hole for us.

Hope that helps some

Thanks to all who contributed to this thread - In response to some of the points raised

IMHO things are not fine the way they are – Otherwise I would not have initiated this thread.

I understand where players want to retain their abnormity and I do not have a problem with this but I do not regard this as an excuse for posting nothing.

I appreciate the live & post event updates from the likes of Adamm, Jbravado, bohsman and Mellor – IMHO Boards would be a lot poorer without their contributions !!

Many of the organizers do not publish the results of their regular games and none of the MODERATORS have reminded them to do so as gently mentioned in the rules.

I can see that “going around checking for results would be a pain in the hole” for the moderators but I am sure that there are some readers of the Poker threads who would high light those threads that are remiss. Currently as the Forum rules stand the publishing of the results is an aspiration rather than an obligation. IMHO this is a short coming in the Forum rules.

One of the great things about the Boards Live Poker Tournament threads is that the occasional player can check Boards to see what is happening but because of the short coming in the posting of results you can not easily gage where there is value in terms of the numbers of players etc. at the various games. IMHO if all organizers (such as the Sporting & Fitzwilliam etc.) had to post results then they would have to be more inventive in getting and retaining poker players……….....

I would have no problem with forcing organisers to publish amount of runners and payouts without mentioning any names of winners. But as Kev says itd be a lot of hassle for mods. And fact is places like the f**z and sporting rarely post here anyway so theres very few tournaments theyd need to post results for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

We could put a poll to see if the majority of players want to see the result of;

1) Every single tournament that is advertised on boards be it a €5 re-buy or €5k buy-in event.

2) Every tournament above the €100 buy-in level.

3) Business as Usual: i.e. just the big festvial results like IO, IPO, GJP Deepstack, Macau, IPC, Killarney, and of JP's festivals etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I can see that “going around checking for results would be a pain in the hole” for the moderators but I am sure that there are some readers of the Poker threads who would high light those threads that are remiss. Currently as the Forum rules stand the publishing of the results is an aspiration rather than an obligation. IMHO this is a short coming in the Forum rules.

There are a number of posts from organisers which dont stick to the current rules as is, how many of these are reported? Very few. Off hand I would say no more than 2-3 over the past 6 months.

You are entitled to your opinion obviously. If there was a huge demand for results from the forum users in general its something we would consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

IMHO things are not fine the way they are – Otherwise I would not have initiated this thread.
    Please explain exactly how the posting of results would help or be of a benefit to players??

I don't see any need for it other then nosey parkers wanting to know how people are doing?? If there's an issue with a prize pool etc. etc. then people do post up questions and organisers need to answer those queries, but a general carpet requirement to post detailed results to every tournament advertised would do nothing IMO.

Once organisers answer all reasonable questions and are open and honest about their tournaments, prize pools, rake, etc. etc. that's more than enough IMO.

Seems like far too much work for organisers to do this after every tournament and IMO it'd be highly detrimental to the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

Ste05 wrote: »
    Please explain exactly how the posting of results would help or be of a benefit to players??

I think what he means here is that often, somebody will post up somethng like

"I fancy a game on xxxxxday, what numbers do you normally get in XY&Z"

If tourney organisers post results, runners etc, then people will know on average how many runners there are in each location on any given night.

Personally, I've no issue with the way it's done now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

This is a pointless. And if all the results were posted up from weekly events it would get cluttered fast.

I'm often interested to see the results of big events and the hendonmob has yet to fail me. Unless i play it, I couldn't care who wins some €50 rebuy in Atari Expo or similar. Generally, a large event is listed along with its side events on the hendon mob. And I'll read over them all most of the time. I realy can't see a problem with this

To the OP, what events are you hoping to see results of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

One of the great things about the Boards Live Poker Tournament threads is that the occasional player can check Boards to see what is happening but because of the short coming in the posting of results you can not easily gage where there is value in terms of the numbers of players etc. at the various games. IMHO if all organizers (such as the Sporting & Fitzwilliam etc.) had to post results then they would have to be more inventive in getting and retaining poker players……….....

BIGBADPAT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

As some of may know i have been trying to set up an Irish Poker rankings website. I am trying list results of all festivals and events with a buy-in over €200.

Trying to get results out of people is hard to do. The organisers love to list there event with you and promise you the earth to get more publicity. Ask them for the results at the end of it all. They do not seem interested. Which is a shame really. A lot of people have emailed me and asked me when are the Killarney side events being listed. I have to tell them that the results are still with the organisers.

I go along with what a lot of posters have said about being anon. If an event organiser came back to me and listed a prize position with anon I would accept it as the person right to anonymity. No issue. It would be funny if Anon was the best player in Ireland though.