Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is a go me, I was great at driving today thread

• 01-02-2009 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭

I took my aunt for a spin today, I haven't seen her in ages(before I started driving) and I asked her did she want to go for a spin today, she thought I was great.
    The only bad thing that happened wasn't my fault. I was driving along country roads and passed three cars, one of which flew by me without moving in even an inch(if he was any closer the wing mirror would have been gone) I kept calm, while giving out about how stupid they were, my aunt did more giving out than I did(it's one of the things she hates most when driving).

She couldn't believe I had only 4 lessons. She was delighted with how I handled the car.

I drove home along the main road, in the dark. Did a brilliant parking job at my apartment(got the one everybodies after as well:)) As soon as I got in rang my da to tell him how I got on, he couldn't believe it(probably because he took me for a spin and confused the hell out of me, made me stall the car loads)

I'm delighted with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Fair play, it's all bout confidence initially, then just concentrate on doing everything by the book, sound like you're doing fine. I remember the first time i impressed the auld fella with my driving, he gave a grunt "you're a lot better than last time", i fobbed it off with my usual cool. . .but inside doing a Flatley jig!

Happy driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭KathleenF

Go you Orla K! Have had two lessons so far and am still not on the road, roll on end of Feb, I aim to be adding my name to this thread by then, watch this space!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I think the most important thing while learning to drive is not to care about other drivers(not cars, just drivers) let them get annoyed with you for not going fast enough or not moving off fast enough. I don't let other people dictate how I drive, I'm going to drive the way I feel comfortable driving.

I find if I don't think this way(which isn't very often) I stall more, panic and do things wrong. It's a good thing I'm very headstrong.

I also think that learning at the age of 24 is much better than 17, people tend to be more sure of themselves. I also used to cycle around limerick so I'm used to things much bigger than me passing me by and I have a heads start on the rules of the road.

I'm delighted, the only thing is my father is now wondering which one of me and my brothers is going to get a full licence first. Both of then have a head start on me, they have a date for it where as I have to wait another 5 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Good job :) Sounds like you're doing just fine anyway!

Here's mine:

I've been driving about 6 months at this stage, so was on my way home from training around 9pm friday night (roughly 15 miles from my house) with my dad in the car. Was absolutly spilling rain. So when we're about half way home.. guess what happens? Drivers side wiper goes on the blink. Completly stops. I pull in, and himself hops out to take a look. Anyway, somehow the other one ended up broken too.

So now I had no working wipers, and was 8-9 miles from home, at night, in the rain. I managed to drive home under those conditions, and park in our driveway perfectly as if everything was grand.. I'm proud of managing it anyway :)

KathleenF wrote: »
    Go you Orla K! Have had two lessons so far and am still not on the road, roll on end of Feb, I aim to be adding my name to this thread by then, watch this space!

After two lessons I was on the road, but I had to drive it over to my fathers place to clean it out, where I am the hoover wouldn't be able to reach the car. I ended up going on a 3-4 mile trip to go about 1 mile because I didn't want to head through the town, I went the back roads. They were all laughing at that and I ended up abandoning the car there for a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Snuggle Bunny

Hi there KathleenF... What do you mean you have had two lessons but not out on the road yet? Should you not be out on the road from the very first lesson.

No definitely not!! Have been in the local car park alright but that's about it. Have only started learning so it'll be another few hours in the car before I'll venture out on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

KathleenF wrote: »
    No definitely not!! Have been in the local car park alright but that's about it. Have only started learning so it'll be another few hours in the car before I'll venture out on the roads.

Are these lessons with a qualified instructor?

Of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Snuggle Bunny

Would you not be better off going in your instructors car which should be dual controlled?? sorry I just think thats a little odd, you pay good money for lessons and when I learned to drive (many moons ago!) from the get go I went in the instructors car and straight onto the road. These guys are used to all sorts of scenarios:)

For the record, I'm in the instructor's car, it is dual controlled, and I'm only on starts/stops so far. Easy does it for me. I'm more than a lil nervous about this whole driving malark. And you guys, I think we've gone a lil off topic!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Orla K wrote: »
    Both of then have a head start on me, they have a date for it where as I have to wait another 5 months.

Make sure you apply for the test soon, if you haven't already. Waiting times are on the way up again.

A friend of mine made the mistake of not applying until after his first 6 months were up, and ended up having to wait another 4 months for a test date. (applied start of Nov08 for Naas, got a date for the end of this month(feb09))

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Buffman wrote: »
    Make sure you apply for the test soon, if you haven't already. Waiting times are on the way up again.

A friend of mine made the mistake of not applying until after his first 6 months were up, and ended up having to wait another 4 months for a test date. (applied start of Nov08 for Naas, got a date for the end of this month(feb09))

Thanks but I've still a good bit to go before being able to pass, also I'm now broke so I'm not going to be getting any lessons for a little while. Luckily I can keep going around in my car, it only needs a tenners petrol every one or two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Orla K wrote: »
    Thanks but I've still a good bit to go before being able to pass, also I'm now broke so I'm not going to be getting any lessons for a little while. Luckily I can keep going around in my car, it only needs a tenners petrol every one or two weeks.

Ye, I know what you mean, but if you can spare the €38 you should apply soon.
    You can check the approximate waiting times for your area at http://www.drivingtest.ie/

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Burtchaell

Oh yeah. It completely throws you if someone annoys you about your driving! Especially when there are 5 people in the car 2-3 of which give a running commentary of everything from the road conditions, the speed limit to the ammount of traffic on the road!