Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sporting Emporium - Latest News

• 01-02-2009 2:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

We have decided to make a few changes to the Tournament Schedule along with introducing a new Cash Game League and Pot Limit Irish Tournament. We will also be offering a lower buy-in Cash game. Please find below details of these events.

The Tournament Schedule.
    Starting from Monday 2nd February.

Please note that All Tournaments are “No Limit” Texas Hold’em
    unless otherwise stated.

Mondays
    €10 + €5. 4 x €10 Rebuys or 3 x €10 Rebuys + 1 x €10 Top-up. Starting Stack : 1,000. 1st Rebuy : 1,500. 2nd Rebuy : 2,000. 3rd Rebuy : 2,500. Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000. 20 Min Clock. ***The First Monday of the Month : €50 + €5 Deepstack Tournament.***

Tuesdays
    Satellite and Promotions Night. Please contact the Poker room or check the website for details.

Wednesdays.
    €35 + €5 + €10 Pot Limit 3 Card Irish with Scalp.1 x €30 Rebuy or Top-up. Starting Stack :3,500. Rebuy/Top-up : 4,500. 20/25 Min Clock. Please ask a member of staff for full details of an Irish Tournament. Players will receive €10 for every opponent they knock out of the Tournament.

Thursdays.
    €50 + €5 Double Chance Freezeout. Starting Stack 2,500 + 2,500. 20/25 min Clock. Players will receive half of their chips at the start of play and may call for their remaining chips at any time in the first 80 mins.
    ***The Second Thursday of the Month : €100 + €10 D/C Freezeout.***.

Fridays.
    €40 + €5. 1 x €40 Rebuy or Top-up.
    Starting Stack : 3,500. Rebuy/Top-up : 4,500. 20/30 Min Clock.

Saturdays.
    8pm Start.
    €65 + €5 + 10 Double Chance Freezeout with Scalp. 3,000 + 3,000 Points. 20/25 Min Clock.
    **The First Saturday of the Month : €200 + €20 Freezeout. 7pm Start.**

Sundays.
    7.30pm Start.
    €50 + €5 Freezeout. 5,000 Points. 20 min Clock.

An Early Bird Chip of 500 points will be given to every player that is in their seat for the start of play of every Tournament.
    Please note All Tournaments start at 9pm Sharp unless otherwise stated. Any queries please contact the Poker room on 01 7030600 or check our website www.thesportingemporium.com.

THE NEW CASH GAME LEAGUE.

THE LEAGUE WILL BE FOR CASH GAMES ONLY AND WILL RUN FOR 10 WEEKS BETWEEN MONDAY 2nd FEBRUARY – SUNDAY 12th APRIL.

EVERY PLAYER THAT PLAYS 50 HOURS OR MORE IN THE SPORTING EMPORIUM CASH GAMES WHILE THE LEAGUE IS RUNNING, QUALIFIES FOR THE PLAY OFF TOURNAMENT ON TUESDAY 14th APRIL.

€1 WILL BE TAKEN FROM EVERY POT OF €20 OR MORE ON THE CASH GAMES TO BUILD A PRIZE POOL FOR THE PLAY OFF TOURNAMENT.

DOUBLE HOURS
    EVERY TUESDAY AND THURSDAY WHILST THE LEAGUE IS RUNNING PLUS SATURDAY 11th + SUNDAY 12TH APRIL.

Please note : The league does not apply to the Monday nights’ €25 cash game.

The First Monday of the Month.

Starting from Monday 2nd March.

€50 + €5 “No Limit” Hold’em Deepstack Freezeout.

Starting Stack : 7,000 + an early bird chip of 500 if you are in your seat for the start of play.
    Clock : Starts off with 10 minutes and increases by 2.5 minutes every level.
    Doors open at 8pm for a 9pm Start.

The Structure
    Level 1 : 25 – 50 – 0 antes – 10 min clock
    2 : 50 – 100 – 0 – 12.5 min clock
    3 : 75 – 150 – 0 – 15 min clock
    4 : 100 – 200 – 0 – 17.5 min clock
    5 : 150 – 300 – 0 – 20 min clock
    20 min break 20 min break
    6 : 150 – 300 – 25 – 22.5 min clock
    7 : 200 – 400 – 25 – 25 min clock
    8 : 300 – 600 – 50 – 27.5 min clock
    9 : 400 – 800 – 50 – 30 min clock
    Chip race Chip race
    10 : 500 – 1000 – 100 – 32.5 min clock
    11: 600 – 1200 – 100 – 35 min clock
    12 : 800 – 1600 – 200 – 37.5 min clock
    13 : 1000 – 2000 – 200 – 40 min clock
    14 : 1500 – 3000 – 300 – 42.5 min clock
    Chip race Chip race
    15 : 2000 – 4000 – 500 – 45 min clock
    16 : 3000 – 6000 – 500 – 47.5 min clock

Lower Buy-in Cash Games.

Every Monday (starting from 2nd February) from 8pm.

Minimum sit down : €25.
    Maximum sit down : €25.

Subsequent buy-ins : €25 - €50.

Small Blind : €0.50
    Big Blind : €1
    No Live Straddle.

Rake : €4 per person per hour.

This Cash Game does not qualify for the Bad Beat or Cash Game League because too much money would be taken off the table to build the prize pools. €2 per pot (€1 for each) would mean around €40 was coming off every hour.

Higher Entry Tournaments

Saturday 28th February.

€250 + €25 “No Limit” Hold’em Freezeout.
    2 Day Event.
    Starting Stack : 10,000.
    Clock : 30 minutes (No antes).
    Doors open at 6pm for One table Satellites.
    Main Event starts at 7pm.
    The Final Table of this Tournament will start at 7pm on Sunday 1st March.

Saturday 11th April.

€300 + €30 “No Limit” Hold’em Freezeout.
    2 Day Event.
    Starting Stack : 10,000.
    Clock : 30 minutes for 5 Levels, 40 minutes from then on.
    Doors open at 6pm for One table Satellites.
    Main Event starts at 7pm.
    The Final Table of this Tournament will start at 7pm on Sunday 12th April.

Super Satellites for the Higher Entry Tournaments.

Satellites for the €250 Tournament on Saturday 28th February.
    €25 + €5 “No Limit” Hold’em.
    1 x €25 Rebuy or Top-up.
    Starting Stack : 3,000. Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000.
    Clock : 20/25 minutes.

Dates :
    Tuesday 3rd February.
    Tuesday 10th February.
    Tuesday 17th February.

Satellites for the €300 Tournament on Saturday 11th April
    €30 + €5 “No Limit” Hold’em.
    1 x €30 Rebuy or Top-up.
    Starting Stack : 3,000. Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000. Clock : 20/25 minutes.

Dates :
    Tuesday 3rd March.
    Tuesday 10th March.

Irish Open Satellite.
    Our next Satellite will be on Tuesday 24th February.
    €150 + €15 "No Limit" Hold'em.
    1 x €50 Rebuy or Top-up.
    Starting Stack : 3,500 + 500 early bird chip if you are in your seat for the start of play.
    Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

Last week's Satellite saw 3 Irish Open tickets given out plus Cash for 4th.

Thanks and I hope to see some of you soon,

Alex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Looks interesting. i like the idea of the monday game with the increasing blinds should be in to play that.

No tournament league again thought there might of been one this time around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Looks good Alex. Hopefully this will attract more players - last Friday and Tuesday nights turn outs were a positive sign. Hope to be in for the Irish game. More Sats for the IO and other big games will be good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Fair play Alex...hope it works out well for ya...I always knew you had the making of a good card room manager!

Oh ye...did ya see the Liverpool v Chelsea game tonight...sorry couldn't resist :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

SWAR wrote: »
    Fair play Alex...hope it works out well for ya...I always knew you had the making of a good card room manager!

Oh ye...did ya see the Liverpool v Chelsea game tonight...sorry couldn't resist :D

hopefully this will kick the SE off again.
    John its about time we got a good result!
    last few games were so bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Good stuff Alex. Great to see a good crowd back in the SE again. 49 for the IO sattelite last Tuesday and 4 tables for the tourny last Friday with 5 cash tables going was great to see.

Jay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

SWAR wrote: »

Homesick IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭RockRory

Looks good Alex

Still the best venue IMO ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

Looks great Alex. :)
    At last there is a 500 chip incentive for players who turn up on time. :D
    The new schedule should attract more player to this superb venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

There was 19 Runners last night for the first day of the new Schedule. Not bad considering the weather. When I ran this Tournament in England the Tournament got more and more runners as the weeks went on and I expect the same for this one.

Tonight is the first Satellite for the €250 Tournament on Saturday 28th February. €25 + €5 with 1 x €25 Rebuy or Top-up. 9pm Start. 500 early bird chip if you are in your seat for the start of play.

Also tonight, Double Hours for the Cash Game League.

I turned up last night thinking it was that deepstack game but alas it was not, i had made the trip so i said i would play.

Oh how wrong i was :( i forgot why i dont play this type of game its an absolute head melt :eek:

IMO the structure of the tournaments needs a nice buyin and good starting stack, the game that use to on a monday €110 was superb its a shame that something like this wasnt put in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

Is having a deep stack tourney starting off with 10, 12.5 & 15 min blinds not a bit odd? What is the theory/idea behind it?

Also, I've no problem with having the min buy in reduced on a Monday night to try get new players in but is having the max buy in of 25 BB's not a bit ridiculus?

Edit : Also, on a Monday night, will it strictly be the lower buy in or will there be the normal PLHE game plus the lower buy in game

Lao Lao wrote: »
    Is having a deep stack tourney starting off with 10, 12.5 & 15 min blinds not a bit odd? What is the theory/idea behind it?

Also, I've no problem with having the min buy in reduced on a Monday night to try get new players in but is having the max buy in of 25 BB's not a bit ridiculus?

Edit : Also, on a Monday night, will it strictly be the lower buy in or will there be the normal PLHE game plus the lower buy in game

Not sure about questions one and two but question 3 i do know, the normal PL game was going last night, im sure the smaller game will only get going if requested by players or pushed by the floor manager itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

Thanks for the info, looks good.

Any chance we could get the Saturday game changed to a 9 o'clock start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

friday tourney looks good value, think ill give this a rattle tonite !

31 runners for tonight's new €40 Tournament.

Saturday 7th February.

€200 + €20 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

Starting Stack : 8,000 (plus a 500 early bird chip if you are in your seat for the start of play).

Clock : 30 minutes for 5 levels, 40 minutes from then on.

Doors open at 6pm for a 7pm Start.

The Structure.

25 - 50 - 0 - 30 min clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

20 minute break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 40 min clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50

10 minute break

500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300

10 minute break

2000 - 4000 - 500
    3000 - 6000 - 500
    4000 - 8000 - 1000

Cash Games : €50 Pot Limit Hold'em or Omaha and No Limit Hold'em will be on offer. Rake is €4 per person, per half an hour.

The Tournament Director will have the Final word on rulings.

All players must be a member of the Club. Only a valid passport or driving licence will be accepted if you would like to join on the day of the Tournament. The Club is strictly over 21's.

We are experimenting with the clock in the Monthly Monday night Tournament. I appreciate that starting with a 10 minute clock is quite quick but with a healthy starting stack the Tournament should only get better and better as it progresses.

The regular €50 Cash games are still on offer everyday of the week.

The sit-down buy-in for the lower buy-in cash game is 25 bb's but the maximum pull-up can be up to 50 bb's so there's still plenty of room for play.

Thanks,

Alex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭NuttKicker

what kind of numbers/ prizepool would you normally expect for this? Sat 7th Tournament

Tuesday 17th February.

The last Satellite for the €250 Tournament on Saturday 28th February.

€25 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em.

1 x €25 Rebuy or Top-up.

Starting Stack : 3,000 (plus an early bird chip of 500 if you are in your seat for the start of play).

Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000.

Tickets have been given out for this over the last week so anything between 15-30 runners which would mean 3 or 4 tickets up for grabs for the Main Event.

Double Cash Game Hours

Every Tuesday and Thursday.

Unfortunately, I will be starting with bad news. The Monthly €200 Tournament has been taken off the Schedule. Hopefully in a few months time we will be able to bring it back.

St Patrick's Day Tournament.

Tuesday 17th March.

€50 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em Double Chance Freezeout.

Chips : 3,000 (plus an early bird chip of 500 if you are in your seat for the start of play) + 3,000.

The Structure.

25 - 50 - 20 min clock
    50 - 100
    75 - 150
    100 - 200

20 min break

150 -300
    200 - 400
    300 - 600
    400 - 800
    500 - 1000
    600 - 1200
    800 - 1600

10 min break

1000 - 2000 - 25 min clock
    1500 - 3000
    2000 - 4000

2 Main Event Tickets Guaranteed

Tuesday 24th March.

€150 + €15 "No Limit" Hold'em.

Starting Stack : 3,500 (plus an early bird chip of 500 if you are in your seat for the start of play).

Rebuy/Top-up : 5,000.

The Structure

25 - 50 - 0 - 20 min clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

20 min break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 25 min clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50

10 min break

500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300
    2000 - 4000 - 500
    3000 - 6000 - 500

February's Satellite saw 48 runners battle it out for 4 Main Event Tickets.
    I'd say there will be between 70 -100 runners this time.

Alex

Just a reminder that tonight is the Irish Open Satellite.

A lot of talk about this so anything between 70-90 runners which would mean 5 or 6 tickets up for grabs.