Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your opinions/advice re timekeeping-watches?

• 31-01-2009 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone, hope yer all well and happy and the training is going well :) Hope this post isn't rambling too much...

I almost purchased a new watch today and decided to hold off until I sought yer advice on what to purchase. I know there have been some discussions about this in different threads as I've spent some time today reading through here, checking out websites and reviews.

My situations is:
    -I own a Casio watch, which is quite easy to use and am happy enough with. However my heart rate remains very high for hours after exercise and indeed is raised compared to the norm even when resting and my gp has told me to keep an eye on it (this is due to anaemia and I see a doctor regularly for vit B12 injections so it's not of major concern) but I would like to watch it.

-My watch is adequate, however I use a pedometer for calculating distance as the watch does not do this well-I may have not calibrated it correctly. The pedometer is very accurate compared to mapmyrun.com etc. but can be a mare to get a look at when running as its clipped to my waist and i have to open it up and switch on a light....I also run the risk of hitting the wrong button and clearing the records :(

I was mostly looking at the garmin forerunner 50 and 305 today. I definately want to keep up the running so while these are expensive this investment is not beyond me. I've only been running a short time and as I said hope to keep it up-maybe this purchase would be a good incentive.

What do you think is the best option since a number of ye seem to have these watches.

Option 1: Buy the garmin 50 w/ HRM and continue to use the pedometer (and perhaps buy the foot pod at a later stage) GBP 47.53 (+ GBP 50-60 pod)

Option 2: Buy the garmin above with the foot pod GBP 95.08

Option 3: Buy the garmin 305 GBP 144

Option4: Any alternative suggestions you may have

Prices are from wiggle.co.uk (free delivery w/ irish VAT rate but can't get it in euro and Irish VAT rate-strange)

What do ye think? is it too much to spend the 144 when I've only been running a short time? I'm open to all suggestions/advice and any caveats from yer previous experience. Please help :) Thanks for reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

If anyone knows where there are better prices, please feel free to share ;) or has had a bad experience with any relailers too I suppose...

Just trying to figure out if the outlay is worth it. Is the GPS and the distance calulator in the 305 worth the extra cash? The 405 is a stretch too far for me at this stage anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

No its not too soon, treat yourself you deserve it and you'll find the 305 great for xtra motivation. I have a new found shoe fettish :eek: and I couldn't care less as I know I'll get good use out of them (except for the lunars) The 305 is a great watch I used one for a while and there great, I upgraded to a 405 and it has been acting up a bit over the last 10 days, with the 305 I never had a problem.

http://www.elara.ie/products/results.asp?srch=garmin+305&anyallexact=all&manu=&productcode=&mancode=&submit2=Search

Hi Woddle, thanks for that, ye really seem to love the 305's on here alright :)

They look like a nice piece of kit and it would be more of an all-in-one than all the bits i have currently.

You're a big fan anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

+1 for the 305, though to be fair I've never used anything else.

In a horrible twist of fate....my step counter is broken!! Seriously strange, (it must have known I was planning on replacing it:( )was all set to go for my 3 miler and am pure sickened now cos I won't know my distances, I'll have a rough idea but it's not the same.

Gadgets:mad::confused:

So now I'll have to buy something-and soon. Step counter batteries could just be gone but don't fancy buying them (x2) if the LCD screen is gone.

Damn anyway :(

The 405 has caught my eye now too :( How much should I be paying for the 305 at this point? Anyone selling one-long shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭smcgui

Hey McConkey, I'm a beginner too and was looking at the same watches but have decided for now that I will just get a cheaper watch and then when I hit some of my running goals then I will reward myself and invest! http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/X-Train_V3_20_Function_Heart_Rate_Monitor/5360024608/ this is the watch I ordered today, cheap and cheerful so can't go too far wrong! :D

thanks smcgui, that looks like a pretty cool watch for the money alright :) I think I'm settled on the 305 now, I can get it for less than the 405 and there seem to be fewer problems with it. Woddle speaks very highly of it and the heart monitor seems to come in the package.

I did the cheaper watch last time and in fairness i don't really have any complaints only I don't have the heart monitor in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Its a good choice the last thing I would say is that its bigger than normal watches and you would def only wear it while training and racing, you won't regret it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

One other option (if you own an I-Pod) is the Nike+ (you don't need Nike runners) - I find it very handy for tracking speed during run..

It's done :D I've just ordered the 305. I better keep getting off my backside to run every time I'm supposed to now. Went with Wiggle.com as the were slightly cheaper and they had them in stock. Dispatch in 2-5 days, can't wait :)

Thanks everyone for your feedback :) Woddle thanks a million for that link, I spent ages rooting through and since the 405 isn't a direct upgrade for the 305 I ended up ordering the 305. There was so much info on there and with all the glitches that are still on-going I figured the older 305 would suit me better....I'm not all that techie for sorting through downloads and upgrades :) Thanks so much for your help :) I appreciate it.

Funkyzeit sorry, I didn't see your post till after I'd ordered but I did want one that would connect to a HRM chest strap. If I didn't, the nike
    + would have been cool. I love the powersong option-could have done with that today :) What do you do with the tracker if you don't have the Nike shoes, stick it inside your laces?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Cualaman

Hi McConkey,
    Let us know how you get on with the 305. I am close to ordering one but i want to be sure that i keep the training going. You are doing great keep it up. I was out Thur / Fri and Sun but i had a problem with pain in my lower back and i had to walk for a while so i am a bit worried about it. I think i will put up a thread asking for advice about it. I dont know what i would do without this forum. Its been a huge help.
    Anyway keep it up and i await your report on the Garmin 305
    Cualaman

Cualaman wrote: »
    Hi McConkey,
    Let us know how you get on with the 305. I am close to ordering one but i want to be sure that i keep the training going. You are doing great keep it up. I was out Thur / Fri and Sun but i had a problem with pain in my lower back and i had to walk for a while so i am a bit worried about it. I think i will put up a thread asking for advice about it. I dont know what i would do without this forum. Its been a huge help.
    Anyway keep it up and i await your report on the Garmin 305
    Cualaman

Yes Cualaman, I'll definately let ye know how I get on with this piece of kit-especially as a newbie....so many people here are into the more advanced stages of running that this watch can help with, intervals and all that craic, so it will be interesting to see if I will find it worth the money for basic running.

I see your milage climbing on the table, a few people seem kind of static (maybe they are waiting /have forgotten to post) so you get to jump over a couple of places sometimes-its an incentive for the extra mile. Sure you're nearly passing me out already :)

I'm finding it great too, I run on my own due to working in different counties during the week so it is great to have the support of people who have been there and done that and can tell you the best way to approach things etc. Honestly judging by last year I'd have given up by now if I wasn't posint/getting advice from here.

Just out of curiosity are you wearing the new runners, you didn't get the back pain from them, no? Some people have recommended a physio to Rusty Cogs 08 there for foot trouble on the main page....maybe ye are in the same area, it's Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Cualaman

Just out of curiosity are you wearing the new runners, you didn't get the back pain from them, no? Some people have recommended a physio to Rusty Cogs 08 there for foot trouble on the main page....maybe ye are in the same area, it's Dublin.

I was thinking about the new runners, i only started wearing them last Thursday and the problem started on Friday. I hope not as i bought them in London and even though i knew that i should have got my gait analysis i went ahead and bought them. There is a lot to this running game. We will just have to learn as we go along. I will stick with the runners and see how i go. I have no problem when walking in them so hopefully they will be ok. Maybe i just need to break them in. I am going to start some stretching excerises for my back and maybe that will sort it out. I never thought this running game would be easy and maybe we will laugh about these little setbacks in a few months time. Its great to have Board.ie for advice, help and motivation. Fair play to all the people who contribute and encourage.
    Anyhow, keep going, your doing great
    Good luck
    Cualaman

Hey Funkyzeit, you know the Nike+, well do you have to have an ipod nano or will it work with any type of ipod do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

McConkey wrote: »
    -The pedometer is very accurate compared to mapmyrun.com etc.

Is there a thread somewhere on this topic, 2nd time recently it has been mentioned in passing here that MapMyRun.com isn't accurate.

It matches my car and my polar perfectly, even though my polar is calibrated to my car's mileometer over a 5 mile distance.

P.S. I checked out Great Ireland run on mapmyrun also and it matched up fine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

smcgui wrote: »
    Hey Funkyzeit, you know the Nike+, well do you have to have an ipod nano or will it work with any type of ipod do you know?

Think it only works with a Nano or an I-pod touch (which has a built in receiver)...

Is there a thread somewhere on this topic, 2nd time recently it has been mentioned in passing here that MapMyRun.com isn't accurate.

It matches my car and my polar perfectly, even though my polar is calibrated to my car's mileometer over a 5 mile distance.

P.S. I checked out Great Ireland run on mapmyrun also and it matched up fine too.

Hi louthandproud, sorry my sentence is confusing there, what I should have said was that my pedometer was extremely accurate when compared to mapmyrun.com. I am assuming that mapmyrun is pretty accurate :)

Funkyzeit wrote: »
    Think it only works with a Nano or an I-pod touch (which has a built in receiver)...
    Darn! Thanks anyway!

Update on the watch....seems it has been posted however due to the bad weather in the UK it is expected that all deliveries will be delayed for a day or two :( Nooooo I'm dying to get my hands on it, I'm such a child.

Will post here again when I get my hands on this baby :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭plodder

What do you do with the tracker if you don't have the Nike shoes, stick it inside your laces?
    When I used that, I bought a little neoprene holder for it, which was attached firmly to the laces. It worked fine, but to be honest, you're better off with the forerunner. It's a better piece of kit, in the long run.

Update on the watch....seems it has been posted however due to the bad weather in the UK it is expected that all deliveries will be delayed for a day or two :( Nooooo I'm dying to get my hands on it, I'm such a child.

Same with my cheap and cheerful watch! :(