Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland U20 v France U20, Friday 6th Feb @ Dubarry Park, Athlone

• 30-01-2009 5:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭LilOc

Here are the French 22 :

FORWARDS (12) : Slimani (Stade Français), Orioli (RC Toulon), Colliat (Lyon OU/Pro D2), De Marco (Montpellier HRC), Boukerou (Stade Toulousain), Mutel (Pau/Pro D2), Goujon (Clermont Auvergne), Lapandry (Clermont Auvergne, cap), Guillot (CS Bourgoin-Jallieu), Guyot (Stade Français)

BACKS (10): Cazenave (USA Perpignan), Bézy (Stade Toulousain), Bernard (Bayonne), Lombard (Chalon-sur-Saône/Fédérale 1), Namy (CA Brive Corrèze), Tranier (Biarritz Olympique), Doumayrou (Montpellier HRC), Vaysse (Stade Toulousain), Camara (Stade Français), Guitoune (SU Agen/Pro D2)

Have been told to look at Lapandry, Camara and Bézy.

Has the Irish one been named already? Will anybody be there? I will.

Last news on the Irish front :
    Irish Under-20s Prepare For Championship Opener

30 January 2009, 8:41 am

The countdown is on in earnest to the return of international rugby to the midlands next Friday when the Ireland Under-20s, sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers, take on their French counterparts at Dubarry Park in Athlone.

Ireland Under-20 coach Allen Clarke is moulding together his squad for their fast-approaching Six Nations Championship opener against France at Dubarry Park next Friday

© www.Inpho.ie

Next Friday's ESB International Six Nations Under-20 Championship encounter between Ireland and France kicks off at Dubarry Park at 7.30pm as Allen Clarke's reign as Irish U-20 coach gets underway.

Two seasons ago at the same venue, Ireland upstaged the French, who were not only champions but also fielding an Under-21 squad, in a thrilling encounter in front of a large crowd.

Indeed, Ireland went on to capture the title themselves then, doing so in style by capturing the Grand Slam. Home supporters will be hoping for more of the same next week.

This is the fourth season that Ireland, through the support of ESB International, has played their Under-21 or Under-20 Six Nations fixtures at the impressive Dubarry Park venue, home of Buccaneers RFC.

The IRFU acknowledges the effort put in by the host club in staging these prestigious matches and also the large crowds who turn out to support Ireland's young talents.

Ireland's 30-player squad have been in Athlone this week for a three-day training camp, which included a practice game against Buccaneers.

Two Buccs players, Conor Higgins and John O'Brien, are included in the PriceWaterhouseCoopers-sponsored Ireland panel.

Galwegians back rower Joe Moran is the third Connacht player in the squad now coached by Ulsterman Allen Clarke, who is also the IRFU's High Performance Manager.

Nigel Carolan is assistant coach while legendary Ireland and Lions prop Phil Orr is once again team manager.

Supporters who have followed U-20 international rugby in recent seasons will have seen the likes of Keith Earls, Danny Cipriani, Darren Cave, Danny Care, Devin Toner and James Hook up close in action in Athlone before they progressed to Heineken Cup level or full international appearances.

The next crop of rising stars will be paraded in Athlone on February 6 and also February 27 when defending U-20 Six Nations champions England come to town.

Tickets are now on sale for both matches at 'The Bounty' (Dubarry Park - contact Geraldine 086-1732711), Music World (Golden Island, Athlone - phone 090-6474372) and Keenan Sports, Athlone (phone 090-6472030).

Tickets are also available at Noel Mannion Sports, Ballinasloe (090-9646763) and Harten's Newsagents, Moate (090-6481307).

Best value ticket is the Family package - 2 adults and 2 children admitted to ground for only €30. Stand tickets are keenly priced at €20, Ground/covered terracing €15 and Child/Student/OAP €10.

Stand tickets are already selling steadily, so early purchase is recommended. Stand tickets are available only from the club itself.

Pre-match tables for Corporate or Groups are available. Please contact Buccaneers' Administrator Geraldine for details.

* Next Friday's U-20 international will not be covered live on RTE Television, as RTE Two are showing the Ireland 'A' v England Saxons game instead, but there will be a live webcast of the U-20 game on www.rte.ie (island of Ireland only), with commentary by Gary Moran and former Ireland Under-21 coach Mark McDermott.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/283_15893.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Maybe I'm wrong and my memory has played tricks on me but wasn't the Under 20 game vs France two years ago a bit of a borebag with no tries only penalties or was that the Italy game last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

IRELAND UNDER-20 SQUAD (v France, Under-20 Six Nations Championship, Dubarry Park, Athlone, Friday, February 6, kick-off 7.30pm):

Backs:

Andrew Burke (Garryowen/Munster)
    John Cooney (UCD/Leinster)
    Gary Foley (Blackrock College/Leinster)
    David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
    Michael Keating (Clontarf/Leinster)
    Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
    Ian McKinley (UCD/Leinster)
    Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
    John O'Brien (Buccaneers/Connacht)
    Ronan O'Mahony (Garryowen/Munster)
    Eamonn Sheridan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Forwards:

Mark Flanagan (UCD/Leinster)
    Adam Macklin (Ulster)
    Michael Noone (Seapoint & Lansdowne/Leinster)
    Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
    Paddy McAllister (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
    Jack McConnell (Lansdowne/Leinster)
    David McGregor (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
    Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster)
    Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
    Ciaran Ruddock (Neath)
    Rhys Ruddock (Neath)

James Sandford (Queen's University/Ulster)
    Thomas Sexton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Mad to see both of Mike Ruddock's sons are now in the Ireland underage set up. Last year I think it was just Ciaran in the Irish set up with Rhys in the Welsh under 18s, IRFU recruiters are doing well to convince them both.

Some seriousely talented players in the 20s squad who'll be eligable this year and next. Look out for Keating and Sexton of belvedere College last year, Keating is a flyer scoring tries for fun in the AIL. Gary Foley and Michael Noone are still doing well for themselves from CBC while McKinley is a future international in the next few seasons imo. The 2 i'm most interested are Jack McGrath and Jack O'Connell, both props from Marys and Clongowes, absolute monstors. McGrath has been on the Leinster A team already at the age 18/19 and at prop! Peter O'Mahoney from Munster is another great player I saw last year from Pres in Cork.

Its a young squad though with only Madigan and super Rob's bro David the stand out guys from last years 20s so they may be beaten well, but i wouldn't be too disheartened considering the age profile.

Kearney,Madigan and Foley will play for Ireland.Some good players in that back line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

My money is one France the gulf in standards is just way too big to even contemplate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭LilOc

Stev_o wrote: »
    My money is one France the gulf in standards is just way too big to even contemplate.

:rolleyes: Yeah right. Especially when Ireland beat them the last time there and that the French have players coming from the like of 2nd and 3rd division (Pro D2 & Fed 1)...

Have you seen France them to comment with such a statement?

themont85 wrote: »
    Have you seen France them to comment with such a statement?

No but it doesnt help that the U-20 head coach has criticized Irelands U-20's (his lot and everyone before it) having a lack of skills, experience and more importantly physique against the other major nations.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/struggling-in-a-mans-world-1582472.html

Sorry while some of these guys are talented (Kearney id say will be better then his brother and Burke is highly rated in Munster) its going to be men against boys.

No but it doesnt help that the U-20 head coach has criticized Irelands U-20's (his lot and everyone before it) having a lack of skills, experience and more importantly physique against the other major nations.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/struggling-in-a-mans-world-1582472.html

Sorry while some of these guys are talented (Kearney id say will be better then his brother and Burke is highly rated in Munster) its going to be men against boys.

You haven't seen France so calling it 'men against boys' is blind negativity on your part. The skills argument interests me as it does when people say we aren't big enough genetically, however, you can't wildly predict a defeat without knowing the opposition.

Ireland won the 20s Slam two years back. Last year they weren't great but nobody is every year. There is a lot of talent in that 20s team, more so than last year imo. They're young though.

Ireland aren't in as bad shape at underage as some suggest. We may lack size and some call for them to be put into acadamies at 15/16 to beef them up. I disagree entirely with that idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

RTE doing Live streaming coverage of the U-20s game

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/sixnations/coverage.html

Good to see the younger players and possible players of tomorrow at an early level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The Ireland U-20's won the Grand Slam only two years ago I think. Obviously different players but shows that that the only gulf in standard is the one that exists between any set of underage players any given year. Some years you will have a better crop than other years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

That Grand Slam U20 squad had some very gifted players like Earls, Healy, Pollock, Keatley, Niall O'Connor & Darren Cave - all who have represented their provice and should make the step up to International within the next 2 years (or sooner)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Not a bad game. Some really committed tackling from the Irish lads and really impressive set piece. The French are dangerous with ball in hand though. Come on Ireland!

Fantastic try saving tackle there by Dominic Ryan, his defence play is very impreesive along with young Madigans attacking style of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Outstanding break by replacement Mark Doyle at the death, pulled down about 6/7m from the line, and the penalty came from the pressure.

Surely it must be the winning score?

Ireland 9 France 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Full time:

Ireland 9 France 6

Fantastic result - huge hit to break up a French counter at the end there, and force the knock-on when they were looking dangerous.

Congrats to all involved, and hopefully a sign of things to come this weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

A good omen for tomorrow. Who is the the second commentator on RTE?

The guys that sounds like a slowed down Dave Fanning? I dont know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

ahem ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Some huge tackles in this game. Here hoping for a repeat of 2007 :D

Good win for Ireland. Great to see especially after some write Ireland of very early at underage:rolleyes:

The backrow were all quite good imo. O'Mahoney looked very good and Ryan tackled well. Would have liked to see Mick Noone in the team more really, unbelievable pace for a backrower, could add something different. Not a lot of attacking but thought Kearney and Madigan were good, Madigan even slotted the winning penalty:D

EDIT:Those Ruddock boys are huge feckers aren't they?!

The guys that sounds like a slowed down Dave Fanning? I dont know

Mark McDermott, used to coach Ireland at some level which i can't recall. He's big down in either Wanderers or Bective I think is, coaches the St Michaels SCT too, so would be familiar with a lot of those players.

zAbbo wrote: »
    ahem ;)

Ill put my hand up and say i was wrong France were dire! Great steal getting the Ruddock brother's they were explosive. Only bad thing was the lack of invention only the fullback (name escapes Mc something beginning with a D) really managed to great some good chances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Ill put my hand up and say i was wrong France were dire! Great steal getting the Ruddock brother's they were explosive. Only bad thing was the lack of invention only the fullback (name escapes Mc something beginning with a D) really managed to great some good chances.

Are you serious? Madigan at fullback was very good going forward, especially for a guy who's played most of his rugby at 10.

Was disappointed to see McKinley and Burke go off fairly early though.

Are you serious? Madigan at fullback was very good going forward, especially for a guy who's played most of his rugby at 10.

Was disappointed to see McKinley and Burke go off fairly early though.

Madigan that's the one made some brilliant breaks and was unlucky that he had no one on his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Murray at scrumhalf didn't look bad actually - got shook at a couple of points before he came off, but definitely looks like he'll at least do something over the next few years.

Only thing that annoyed me about the game was the 8 - 9 control of the scrum, I know they were under presure but the through the leg ****e was just that ****e, just get the ball out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭blast05

Who was the Irish number 12 ... was at the game, he must be 6' 5" and 110 kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Well done to the lads, here's hoping there will be similiar results throughout the campaign! (hopefully less tennis play next time :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

long shot here...I missed the match and really want to see it....Anyone know anywhere I can see it? I figure chances are pretty slim!