Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So what would you put on the Table?

• 30-01-2009 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭

Seems the Government are putting everthing on the table at the moment to make €6 billion over the next 2 years...

Is there anything you'd like to put on the table they may have not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

A 2% sex tax. Jaysus but wed be loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Puddleduck wrote: »
    A 2% sex tax. Jaysus but wed be loaded.

lol, and maybe a 4% gay tax while were at it...the banks & politicans would be liable for that, they seem to be riding everybody up the backside latley:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

I'd like one of those tomato shaped ketchup bottles on the table please. And Sugar & Fatty foods tax plz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

yeah a naked, spread eagled mary harney,

uunnnghhh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I'd like to put a Weight Watchers cook book on the table.

I'm pretty sure our government may not have one of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Send all prisoners to the Arran Isle, and close the prisons - save a fortune,

Send all the Nigerians, and Pols who are on the Dole - home - save a fortune.

Anyone unemployed for more than 6 months kick off the dole, and ship to Arran as above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Cowen's gristly arse-shaped head on a platter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Cowen's gristly arse-shaped head on a platter.

I second this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

We are heading for the day when eating meat as your main meal more than twice a week will be luxury.

Restaurants will be for the rich, hotels will once again be few and far between and only for rich tourists.

Drinking will not be done in pubs but imported cheaply, black market smokes and other necessities will be the order of the day.

People have to realise the standard of living is going to go down rapidly. The luxuries that were are not the luxuries of the future. For some people that luxury will actually be having a dry place to sleep and food in their belly.

"For the times they are a changing"

Bet your bottom dollar though the Dail bar will still be full and the politicians will eat a 3 course fully expensed lunch.

No one knows if they're going to have a job next week. Whats on my table today is no different luckily to what was on it last year. I doubt though i will be saying the same next year.

I never felt the joy of the good times so im not impressed about feeling the pain of the bad. Tax the rich, if there's any left to tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Simple charge all foreginers entering the country a tax, charge them more tax then standard to work here,and tax them every time they want to leave.

.........they tried it in the simpsons :pac: out of towner tax ~ Mayor Quimbie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Vote Diamond Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

A tax on how many hours we sleep when we could be awake and giving them money.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Tax the makers and watchers of reality tv. Double it if the reality tv involves "celebrities"

Tax dying.

A sh1te thread tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Some fruit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Any of those suitable who are claiming dole and have free time should be put to work in the public sector as volunteers.(I know calling them volunteers defeats the point but you know what I mean)

I reckon that'd save a fair bit of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

A tax on the number of toilet breaks you take during work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Any of those suitable who are claiming dole and have free time should be put to work in the public sector as volunteers.(I know calling them volunteers defeats the point but you know what I mean)

I reckon that'd save a fair bit of money.

I agree with you in principle but JUST as an after thought, would that not also put other paid worked out of work for something that they might have gotten paid to do.

Just a notion. I agree with you in the way your thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

loz wrote: »

Anyone unemployed for more than 6 months kick off the dole, and ship to Arran as above.

What about Prison Officers? Closing prisons would force the majority of them on the Dole, then what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Seems the Government are putting everthing on the table at the moment to make €6 billion over the next 2 years...

Cut all social welfare payments after 12 months on the dole... bunch of scroungers anyways. Then harvest their organs on the medical black market.

Sell the children of single mother skangers to other countries, reducing crime and the bad investment in attempting to educate them.

Stop locking people up for being unable to pay their debts.

This would get rid of a more primitive aspect of the Irish legal system, not to mention the cost of keeping defaulters in the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Legalise drugs and tax them.
    Plenty of money in drugs from what I hear.

Also consider storing other countries nuclear waste in Sligo for massive fees, as it's a fairly redundant county anyways.

The Revenue Commissioners should stop sending forms out to tax-payers who are registered on the ROS system. When you're on the ROS system, everything's done online and you don't need the feckin forms. :mad: Will somebody think of the trees!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

A Management Wank3r tax on phrases like 'blue sky thinking', and fining anyone who uses the word 'recession' a tenner.

As for not having meat more than twice a week soon, LOL.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

This would get rid of a more primitive aspect of the Irish legal system, not to mention the cost of keeping defaulters in the system.

This is incorrect
    People arent locked for being unable to pay their debts. They are being locked up for not meeting the terms of a court order or an installment order. An installment order takes into account an individual's circumstances and in the event the individual's personal financial situation deteriorates even worse, they are entitled to return to court to have the order amended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

What about Prison Officers? Closing prisons would force the majority of them on the Dole, then what?

Retrain them as shark and crocodile trainers and put them around the islands with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

How about a tax on tax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

How about a tax on tax?

You're already paying that if you've bought a car, it's VRT.

faceman wrote: »
    This is incorrect
    People arent locked for being unable to pay their debts. They are being locked up for not meeting the terms of a court order or an installment order. An installment order takes into account an individual's circumstances and in the event the individual's personal financial situation deteriorates even worse, they are entitled to return to court to have the order amended.

Here's a bit.

http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=ireland-qqqm=ireland-qqqa=ireland-qqqid=83274-qqqx=1.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Fúck it. Abolish health care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Tom65 wrote: »
    Fúck it. Abolish health care.

then who'll fix all our injured soldiers....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Sell the children of single mother skangers to other countries, reducing crime and the bad investment in attempting to educate them.

Why don't you just call them illegitimate bastards? Because that's what it sounds like you're trying to say :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Even the property developer ****ers that owe Anglo (now the tax payer) 800million and have said they aint going to pay it back?

There the biggest criminals imo

Even the property developer ****ers that owe Anglo (now the tax payer) 800million and have said they aint going to pay it back?

There the biggest criminals imo

They shouldn't be locked up either, just strung up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

curry chips? cos im starving:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I've been camping under a table with a tin of baked beans for the last week.

I may or may not be paranoid :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Nothing until the goverment learns to stop ****ing wasting our money first. Throwing more money at them means more money they will squander because of the pathetic way they run things.I don't want my tax money going to massive pay outs and silly high pensions for incompetent idiots who have failed to do the job they were appointed to. Get rid of the rot first. .:mad: get the house in order first so then i'll know whatever extra i have to give will actually do some good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Take away all the goverment perks.

No expenses - you make enough money you greedy *****, put your hand in your own pocket.
    No official cars - see above.
    No official resisdence - see above.
    No Garda escort/drivers - if you're unpopular enough to need one, you've probably weasled enough money to hire your own security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

loz wrote: »

I hope you lose your job, and cannot get employed for a few years. I also hope that the person who takes your job is a Nigerian/Pole.

We could fine all CEO's of the banks involved in reckless lending. No wait, that's a bad idea, we need to reward these people, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Eat the unemployed.

This would save money on welfare payments and man they taste delicious spit roasted with an apple in their mouth. I think I'd better find a job quick when I finish college or else I could end up as someones supper.