Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do if you witness a theft?

• 29-01-2009 9:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭

Here's a question for ya. What do you do if you witness a theft in progress. There was one very drunken night in temple bar (around september) that I was walking up towards the porterhouse from the square and in one of side streets I spotted two tracksuit wearing individuals breaking a cable lock on a bicycle. I stopped and looked at them and one goes "nothing going on here bud, on with ya" before the metalic ping of the lock going and then the two scummers cycling off. Ok it was a cheap hack of a bike but it belong to someone. I wasn't going to challenge them (drunk as I was) on my own but what course of action do you take? Call 999? Any takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

Call 999 I'd have thought. You could also call 11850 and ask for the local Garda station, if you knew what the local one was.

Although this can be painfully slow. I called 11850 for the local station once when I saw a fight, bleedin 11850 has some sort of advertisement playing and asking if I wanted the number texted etc. Just put me through, one of the geezers is walking towards me !!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Eh, stop them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Ring 112*, it's not your job to clean up the streets, leave that to Commissioner Gordon and Batman.

*It's Jan 2009 lads, 999 pffft... I mean what are yiz like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

shot em in the face to deprive em of an open coffin at their funeral .....

joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

el tonto wrote: »
    Eh, stop them?

Ideally I would have liked to but I they had a that sweaty junkie look about them. Frankly I wasn't going to risk a needle for bike shaped object.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

surreptitious photography? and call the guards obviously.
    Eh, stop them?

Eh, how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

Eh, stop them?

[quote=niceonetom surreptitious photography? and call the guards obviously.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by el tonto viewpost.gif
    Eh, stop them?

Eh, how? [/quote]
    have you seen El tonto, arms like tree trunks and such other super hero qualities. also due to another thread he now has a crew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,231 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

neilled wrote: »
    I spotted two tracksuit wearing individuals...before the metalic ping of the lock going and then the two scummers cycling off....what course of action do you take? Call 999? Any takers?

That's so wrong. Tracksuits you say?

I suggest printing out and laminating a few copies of this in case it happens again.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

niceonetom wrote: »
    Eh, how?

It usually doesn't have to involve violence. Just make it clear that you aren't going away. They'll make all sorts of threats, but most of them will do so while walking away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,231 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

It usually doesn't have to involve violence. Just make it clear that you aren't going away. They'll make all sorts of threats, but most of them will do so while walking away.

That's a monumental bluff, since there are two of them and at least one is likely to be wielding bolt croppers.

I now pronounce you Chuck Norris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

i think these people react differently to you than they do to me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

I don't think the OP was concerned about his own use of violence!

Seriously, though: I wouldn't recommend anyone, however well built or qualified in martial arts, to take on two lads robbing a bike. Unless they're 12 years old or younger, I wouldn't assume your righteousness will be a match for their desperation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

neilled wrote: »
    Here's a question for ya. What do you do if you witness a theft in progress. There was one very drunken night in temple bar (around september) that I was walking up towards the porterhouse from the square and in one of side streets I spotted two tracksuit wearing individuals breaking a cable lock on a bicycle. I stopped and looked at them and one goes "nothing going on here bud, on with ya" before the metalic ping of the lock going and then the two scummers cycling off. Ok it was a cheap hack of a bike but it belong to someone. I wasn't going to challenge them (drunk as I was) on my own but what course of action do you take? Call 999? Any takers?

Say, "Dad, Mum is that you? "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Eoin D

Depends on the circumstances! Too many variables...

No. of them
    No. in my group
    Who I'm with
    Dodginess factor & hood up multiplier
    Armament of theives
    Their blood alcohol level
    My blood alcohol level
    lighting
    Distance to nearest hospital
    Time of night and likelyhood of Garda response
    No. of escape routes
    No. of action films seen within previous 7 days
    Price of bike
    Presence of screaming innocent woman

Ah but seriously I'd like to think I would do the good thing but I won't know till it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭MREGAN

Take the broken bike lock and beat them with it. Even if you start shouting its gonna put them off.

Scum like that are getting away with it cause they know they can. If they think they are gonna get a slap for it they wont be as confident next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭fenris

Shout, photograph them with your phone when they turn around, they may run off, if not hope that the flash confuses them them enough for you to run while forwarding the photo to someones email so that if they catch you, you will have a photo even if they kill you / your phone.

Maybe we should have a boards caught in the act section that you can send photos too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

You are also hoping that they can't run faster than you. As was mentioned before, as much as it might seem like a noble idea to take these guys on, plenty of people have ended up getting the crap beaten out of them for trying to do similar.

If you can frighten them away by shouting at them, fine. Just don't get yourself hurt trying to be a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    If you can frighten them away by shouting at them, fine.

They aren't Sand People. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Everyone knows scumbags walk in single file to hide their numbers, you'll never become a jedi with that attitude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

They are a primitive people

Lumen wrote: »
    That's a monumental bluff, since there are two of them and at least one is likely to be wielding bolt croppers.

Not really. It's worked before, both with car and bike thieves. You've got to remember that these guys are out to rob something, not get into a scrap. There are plenty of other easy targets out there, so they always back down.
    niceonetom wrote: »
    i think these people react differently to you than they do to me. :(

If you are worried about confrontation, walk away to a safe distance but still in sight, whip out the mobile and loudly call the cops. They'll call you every name under the sun, but they'll go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

MREGAN wrote: »
    Take the broken bike lock and beat them with it. Even if you start shouting its gonna put them off.

Scum like that are getting away with it cause they know they can. If they think they are gonna get a slap for it they wont be as confident next time.
    Wow I didn't see a thread going this direction, on the internet.