Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ANYONE done the E+B (car and trailer) TEST??

• 29-01-2009 1:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭

Hello all,
    I need get my full B licsence upgraded to EB.
    just wondering if anyone has done this test.

i've heard its the exact same test as B (car) without 3 point turn.

so i'm wondering if anyone has actually done the test.

1 will i need to sit a theory test in order to get an EB provisionsal
    (my current liscence predates the theory test and so i've never done one)

2 do you have to wait 6 months after recieveing provisional before
    you can sit the test?

3 are you still asked the rules of the road /signs /handsiganls before
    the practical?

4 does the car or trailer or both need L plates displayed?

5 are there any significant differences between B and EB tests

also
    6 if any of you are testers, have you ever carried out such a test??

thanks for your help with any of theese!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Everybody I know owns a trailer (I have 2 which I tow regularly) If you get this licence, I reckon you will be the only person in the country with one.
    So I dont know the answers to any of your questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

My first license got stolen on a night out. When I was filling out the form I just ticked B EB and W and they all showed up on my license despite only having got my B license last Summer.. Wicklow CC ftw! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

pred racer wrote: »
    Everybody I know owns a trailer (I have 2 which I tow regularly) If you get this licence, I reckon you will be the only person in the country with one.

You can get this license automatically with some categories of truck, so I believe a lot of people will actually have this category on their licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭leon8v

You do need to sit the theory test unfortunately.
    I was going to get this licence, as I wouldnt have been covered on fleet policy to tow a trailer without it.
    I rang the relevant office (cant remember which one as it was a few years ago) and they said I needed to apply for theory test. So I did you need to tick the box for trailers that you are applying for. I went in and got a funny look when I gave her a full drivers licence as ID. I passed the theory test but never applied for licence so cant help you with the test part but you do have to do theory test.

pred racer wrote: »

I think it is completely unnecessary to get this license. Everybody pulls trailers including myself and having this addition to the license is unheard off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭leon8v

I think it is completely unnecessary to get this license. Everybody pulls trailers including myself and having this addition to the license is unheard off.

Yes but if god forbid you had an accident while towing that trailer, would your insurance cover you?
    Is it not like driving a truck without a truck licence.
    While I agree that you shouldnt have to go through the whole driving test again, I am not so certain that insurance companies wouldnt use it as a get out clause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Well you can tow a trailer up to a certain weight without EB anyway. It's only when the trailer is above 750kg in weight that you need EB, from here

1000th post w00t:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

thanks for the replies

the trailer has a gross design weight of 3500kgs (ifor williams)
    so legally need the EB

i'm going to check with insurance company to ensure i'm insured without the liscence.

i agree that very few people (if any) have done this test,
    but if you got a narky cop i guess they could legally do you for driving without a licsence, (court,fine,penalty points! etc)

i think it'd be worth doing, you'd never know, in 10-20yrs they might start cracking down on car+trailers, as there'll be way more unlicsenced drivers in the future, as they dont hand out EB for free anymore

still interested to hear from anyone who's done the test! (not holding my breath!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

leon8v wrote: »
    Yes but if god forbid you had an accident while towing that trailer, would your insurance cover you?
    Is it not like driving a truck without a truck licence.
    While I agree that you shouldnt have to go through the whole driving test again, I am not so certain that insurance companies wouldnt use it as a get out clause.

of course your insurance covers you, before you get the policy you ask that question! on a related note anybody who tows trailers regularly, make sure your insurance covers your trailer while attached and detached (ie if it comes off the car/van for some reason) some companies do not add detached unless you ask. which a mate found out to his cost with a heavy box trailer and 3 cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

I recently did the theory test. It's easy, so don't worry about that (looked at book in car park beforehand and got 39/40). It's the same as the car test.

The reason I'm doing this is that I tow a racing car quite a bit, and I know of 1 guy who has points on his license and another guy who's been stopped several times.

Also, through my line of work, I know of 3 or 4 other guys who've been stopped.

I was also stopped towing a 750kg un-braked trailer. The garda informed me that if it was any heavier I'd have to have an E+B. He pulled me over just for this reason.

So ultimately, that is why I was interested in this thread. I'll be going for the full test soon enough, I still haven't received my provisional though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

From what i understand, its near impossible to find a test centre to actully do the test for a Car + Trailer.

imho you'd be better off do the rigid and then the artic test, and then have that category (if its covered then , you may need to check that)
    Then you'd be a lot more employable too if you need to drive a car or Van and Trailer, Rigid or Artic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

c-note wrote: »
    thanks for the replies

the trailer has a gross design weight of 3500kgs (ifor williams)
    so legally need the EB

i'm going to check with insurance company to ensure i'm insured without the liscence.

i agree that very few people (if any) have done this test,
    but if you got a narky cop i guess they could legally do you for driving without a licsence, (court,fine,penalty points! etc)

i think it'd be worth doing, you'd never know, in 10-20yrs they might start cracking down on car+trailers, as there'll be way more unlicsenced drivers in the future, as they dont hand out EB for free anymore

still interested to hear from anyone who's done the test! (not holding my breath!)

If your towing a 3.5 tonne trailer then EB is no good to you. You'll need to do the C1 test(3.5t-7.5t), but go for the C(3.5t+), then EC(1) as this is the only legal way to tow a 3.5 tonne trailer, since a B licence is only good to 3.5t. Also make sure your towing vehicle is rated to tow 3.5t.
    From what i understand, its near impossible to find a test centre to actully do the test for a Car + Trailer.

imho you'd be better off do the rigid and then the artic test, and then have that category (if its covered then , you may need to check that)
    Then you'd be a lot more employable too if you need to drive a car or Van and Trailer, Rigid or Artic!

AFAIK Naas school of motoring have a 4x4 and trailer, so I'd assume the Naas test centre does EB.

Del2005 wrote: »
    If your towing a 3.5 tonne trailer then EB is no good to you. You'll need to do the C1 test(3.5t-7.5t), but go for the C(3.5t+), then EC(1) as this is the only legal way to tow a 3.5 tonne trailer, since a B licence is only good to 3.5t. Also make sure your towing vehicle is rated to tow 3.5t.

EB goes up to AND including 3500kg

Anything OVER 3500kg needs the EC

EB goes up to AND including 3500kg

Anything OVER 3500kg needs the EC

Is that not what I've said?

yeah, as i understand it, if your car+trailer =3500kgs then B is fine provided the trailer part is 750kgs or less.

so for eg if your towing car is 3000kgs and trailer is 750kgs you need EB
    as the combination exceeds 3500, even though the trailer is only 750kgs

with E+B the car can be 3500kgs and trailer 3500kgs = 7000kgs

:rolleyes:thats as i understand it anyway.

also its the gross design weight thats important, so for eg the jeep and trailer empty weighs less than 3500kgs, but you still need the EB because the gross DESIGN weight is about 5000kgs.

i appreciate the artic liscence would be a good choice as would give me future options but the €€€'s to do it dosnt make sense as i wont be driving any truck in the forseeable!

interesting to hear people have been stopped/inspected for E+B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,612 ✭✭✭BrianD3

An E+B licence allows driving of a car + trailer combination of <7500 kg d.g.v.w. The towing vehicle must be in category B i.e. have a d.g.v.w of <3500 kg.

It is incorrect to say that the original poster requires an EC1 licence. An EC1 licence is needed if you wish to drive a vehicle in category C1 with a trailer >750 kg d.g.v.w attached.

ok i've found two answers

firstly regarding the theory test:

"The tests for categories B, C, C1, D, D1 and W also cover learner permit for these categories with a drawing vehicle without having to undergo a separate theory test."

taken from
    http://www.dtts.ie/english/driver-theory-test/test-types.php

so even though i havn't done the theory test, i'm presuming the
    full B licsense will cover this

also, a fella who knew someone who took the test said
    L plates had to be displayed on the vehicle and trailer.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    An E+B licence allows driving of a car + trailer combination of <7500 kg d.g.v.w. The towing vehicle must be in category B i.e. have a d.g.v.w of <3500 kg.

It is incorrect to say that the original poster requires an EC1 licence. An EC1 licence is needed if you wish to drive a vehicle in category C1 with a trailer >750 kg d.g.v.w attached.

I sent an email to the RSA to confirm this and they have replied there is no upper limit for weight with EB. As I wasn't sure myself and their website is as clear as mud, to me anyway.

Hi xxxxx,

For the EB category there is no maximum Design Gross Vehicle Weight. As long as the towing vehicle has the capacity to tow the laden weight of the trailer, it's ok. Details of same should be in the vehicles specification booklet.

Regards,
    Catherine M.
    Driver Licensing.

ok i've found two answers

firstly regarding the theory test:

"The tests for categories B, C, C1, D, D1 and W also cover learner permit for these categories with a drawing vehicle without having to undergo a separate theory test."

taken from
    http://www.dtts.ie/english/driver-theory-test/test-types.php

so even though i havn't done the theory test, i'm presuming the
    full B licsense will cover this

also, a fella who knew someone who took the test said
    L plates had to be displayed on the vehicle and trailer.

If you call or email the RSA they can answer all these questions for you. I've had to deal with them several times over the last few months and they have all been extremly helpfull and quick to respond. They even called me back, within 10 min, with an answer to a question I had which the person didn't know the answer to.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Is that not what I've said?

Edit, never mind.

I misread your post. That is what you said:)

Its all a bit daft really. I have moved machines that weighh up to 16000kg with a tractor and low loader. So the machine + trailer = around 19000kg and it was done perfectly legally on a W license. Yet you have to(supposed to anyway) get an EB license for towing a fairly medium sized trailer with a car or jeep!

I know what you mean there but the point of it is to ensure people towing trailers that may weigh nearly the same or more than a car can learn how it handles and prove they can deal with it/are comfortable.

I would class the tractor trailer situation differently as a tractor has a lot more weight, power and braking force and is built to deal with thoise kind of loads. Plus in general tractors will be moving at a slower speed while towing than cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

imho you'd be better off do the rigid and then the artic test!

Not if you only need the EB. It'I cost you the guts of €600 to get the licence these days, that's BEFORE you add cost of lessons, which are compulsory now. Add 12 rigid lessons to this......... madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hello all,
    I need get my full B licsence upgraded to EB.
    just wondering if anyone has done this test.

I hope you got your test. ;) Definitely a necessity if your towing anything bigger than a wheelbarrow. Don't mind any of the posters or comments on here, totally illegal otherwise and no insurance company will cover you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭dtm

i have alot of interest for this particular thing.
    i have had the E licence for ten years.
    i wanetd the EB licence so i had to sit the theory test.
    i now have a provisional and i have about another month to wait before the six month period is up before i do the trailer test.

when you do the trailer test the trailer has to cover the centre rear view (so most people borrow a horsebox or similar for the test)

i laugh hard when people say that you are insured to tow a trailer over 750kg with the regular E licence. Without the EB licence you are not. Simple.

I personally know of a few lads going to a rally (entrance fees paid and all) and both their jeeps and laden car trailers got taken off them by the guards.

and in reference to a post here yes your correct. - i cannot legally tow my small track car to mondello with my car yet i can legally tow a 60 tonne track machine on a low loader at 55mph! even a 16yr old can do this!

good luck with the test btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,612 ✭✭✭BrianD3

dtm wrote: »
    i laugh hard when people say that you are insured to tow a trailer over 750kg with the regular E licence. Without the EB licence you are not. Simple.
    You are allowed tow a trailer over 750 kg with a regular (B) licence if you meet 2 conditions
    http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Vehicles-and-Legislation/Vehicle-Standards/Trailers/
    With an ordinary category B licence, a person can

tow a trailer of up to 0.75 tonnes DGVW, with a vehicle with a DGVW of up to 3.5 tonnes and seating for up to eight passengers (apart from the driver). The combination weight cannot exceed 4.25 tonnes.

tow a trailer exceeding 0.75 tonnes DGVW, provided that the DGVW of the trailer does not exceed the un-laden weight of the towing vehicle, and the maximum combination weight does not exceed a total of 3.5 tonnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

......i laugh hard when people say that you are insured to tow a trailer over 750kg with the regular E licence. Without the EB licence you are not. Simple.......

Thats incorrect,

Taken from the RSA website.

With an ordinary category B licence, a person can
    tow a trailer exceeding 0.75 tonnes DGVW, provided that the DGVW of the trailer does not exceed the un-laden weight of the towing vehicle, and the maximum combination weight does not exceed a total of 3.5 tonnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,585 ✭✭✭✭guil

Muckit wrote: »
    Not if you only need the EB. It'I cost you the guts of €600 to get the licence these days, that's BEFORE you add cost of lessons, which are compulsory now. Add 12 rigid lessons to this......... madness
    lol the last post in this thread was before ya joined boards:eek:
    theres no compulsary lessons for trucks yet, i did mine in 08 and passed after 5 lessons, ya need to do cpc exams aswell before and during the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,585 ✭✭✭✭guil

theres no such thing as an ordinary E licence, it begins at EB
    are ya planning on putting an engine into a tralier:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭dtm

guil wrote: »
    theres no such thing as an ordinary E licence, it begins at EB
    are ya planning on putting an engine into a tralier:D

sorry it was a typo! i meant B licence.

thanks for the clear up guys.