Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAW Spoilers 26/01/09

• 27-01-2009 11:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

The qualifying for the Elimination Chamber begins - i'm glad Jericho is in :D

Shane O Mac is back and gunning for Orton - why do i still feel Stephanie and Orton are in league together somehow

Could we be seeing Jericho/Mickey Rourke at WM 25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Also Randy Orton=Bruce Banner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,468 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

decent show. though not great.

Shane O' Mac bit was embarrassing imho. He shud not be able to take out all of Legacy, including having Orton completely out on his feet basically. Nobody will believe it, and the lack of reaction during his attack said it all. I believe the crowd was slightly bemused quite honestly.

something indeed tells me Orton & Steph are making babies together somewhere.

HBK/JBL thing is still interesting me; building quite nicely. Still not sure if blow off will be NWO or WM.

Santino still ridiculously funny. It should be old for me by now, but I'm kind of ashamed to say its not.

One thing...anyone else getting really irritated by the very very short matches? save HBK/Cena which was given time as expected. Y2J/Punk in particular should not be that short.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Yea i was waiting for Shane to shake Orton's hand first. I did think it was a bit stupid that shane with a few jabs to Orton's face nearly knocked him out. There will def be a some sort of screw job either leading up to WM or at WM

Shanes anger over his Papi gave him a boost of strength hehe I actually enjoyed it I always enjoy Shanos in ring excursions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

poorest raw in a long time, the boring orton speech set the tone, the tag team match was stupidly short, womens tag was ok, kingston/kane was meh some nice footwork at times from kofi though, even michaels and cena failed to deliver any sort of spark in their match :eek:

jericho and punk had numerous blown spots and both men looked well off the pace of previous weeks, having punk job to jericho like that does nothing for either. the finish to raw was a complete and utter joke, shanes punches looked horrible, not one even got within 2 feet of orton or the other boys and yet we are to believe orton was so beat up he required assistance up the ramp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,468 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

yeah almost forgot about jericho/mickey rourke as my stream went down halfway through jericho's promo.

no idea what to make of it. my instinct says it would be horrible to watch at WM, but it screams $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$, what with all the hype surrounding the film.

it makes sense for Vince to try and use it to make some spondula.

Ye I have to agree that the ending to Raw was ridiculous. When I saw the HBK vs Cena match wasn't the main event I thought something big was going to happen because the Orton segment was last. I really thought Stephanie was going to say he would be stripped of his title shot and have to take on stone cold at WM but no Shane comes out and single handily takes out Orton, Rhodes and Dibiase!! ****ing joke!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

SlickRic wrote: »
    yeah almost forgot about jericho/mickey rourke as my stream went down halfway through jericho's promo.

no idea what to make of it. my instinct says it would be horrible to watch at WM, but it screams $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$, what with all the hype surrounding the film.

it makes sense for Vince to try and use it to make some spondula.

jericho WON wrestler of the year will have to job to rourke, i can't wait for that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Raw thoughts…
    The Jericho match was bad; Y2J botched a few moves which was unlike him. IL cut them some slack though as the matches him and Punk put on are normally great. Kofi in the Elimination Chamber? What the ****?The finale was borderline retarded, Shane despite being old, a part time wrestler and having the least convincing punches in the WWE somehow was able to batter Legacy? ****ing hell not even Hunter or Cena could do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Would have been good to have Shane joining the Legacy would have been a great swerve

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

was I the only one thinking that it was stupid to have Cena in a chamber elimination match when it had already been announced at the start of the show both titles were being defended at NWO in the elimination chambers, therefore Cena had to win vs HBK

Cena was in already as he is the champion HBK was competing for a spot for JBL, it wasnt like the other matches where guys were competing against each other for a spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Rjd2 wrote: »
    ****ing hell not even Hunter or Cena could do that.

Or the rest of the Rumble for that :p

Did anyone else notice that Jillian's face looked different?? Looks like shes had some work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Did anyone else notice that Jillian's face looked different?? Looks like shes had some work done.

Some more work you mean. She really ought to stop putting herself through that.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

EdK wrote: »
    Shanes anger over his Papi gave him a boost of strength hehe I actually enjoyed it I always enjoy Shanos in ring excursions

I think Il always have a soft spot for that man!

I didnt think it was as terrible as some people are making it out to be, maybe Shane should have had some help, patterson and briscoe maybe...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

I think Il always have a soft spot for that man!

I didnt think it was as terrible as some people are making it out to be, maybe Shane should have had some help, patterson and briscoe maybe...:D

Lance Storm disagrees!
    http://www.stormwrestling.com/012909.html

I don’t think I’ve ever been more flabbergasted with what I’ve seen on television, as I have been this week. I watched both RAW and TNA this week and left both shows completely shaking my head. If I were to shake my head any harder I’d probably end up with a worse neck than Kurt Angle.

While Impact was by far the worst of the two shows (it may have been the worst wrestling program ever) RAW was, perhaps more importantly, far more counter productive. Raw had a ton of momentum going into this weeks show. The heavy angle last week with Vince and Randy Orton was AWESOME. Randy was fantastic in every regard last week (as he has been since his return) and he was really coming off as the true Star in WWE. Kicking Vince in the head last week was an “Oh My God” moment like no other. It looked great, put a ton of heat on Orton, and left everyone thinking, what next. They then followed up with Orton winning the Royal Rumble and making Randy the most important player in the company.

I tuned in Monday to see what possible explanation they could come up with to justify Randy’s continued employment in WWE after almost killing the Owner. They opened the show with another AWESOME performance by Randy Orton, and even managed to deliver an out, I could accept and buy into. The promo was great and Randy came out with even more heat than he had the week before, which I didn’t think was possible. Through out the show they replayed the kick of death countless times and it just kept getting better and better.

At the end of the show when Randy threatened to file an injunction and shut down WrestleMania and actually begged Stephanie McMahon to fire him, Randy was the greatest and hottest heel I’ve seen in ages. This was so unbelievably tremendous!

Then… then… then the show fell off a cliff, crashed and burned, and died a painful miserable death. Shane McMahon came to the ring and beat the living **** out of all three members of Legacy. Yes Shane McMahon, the non-wrestling character, office working son of the boss, single handedly destroyed the newly created hottest heel in the company in a one on three situation.

You could have dropped this angle in liquid nitrogen and it wouldn’t have lost heat this fast. I genuinely like Shane, he’s a great guy and a lot of fun to be around, but there is no way in hell this man should be even a physical blip on Randy Orton’s radar screen, let a lone beating the hell out of him. The only way this could have worked is after the first time Priceless pulled Shane off Randy; Orton punted him in the head too.

And that’s not even the worst of it. Even if it had been the Undertaker (The longest standing WWE bad ass) who came out to beat up Orton, it still would have been WRONG. This angle started LAST WEEK. WrestleMania is 2 months away and Orton has only had heat for 1 week. NOBODY should be getting one up on him this early under any circumstances. My interest in this angle went from 20 out of 10 to 2 out of 10 in less than 10 minutes. That may be a new record in counter productivity, I hope they can salvage it next week but to be honest I’ve got so little interest in it now, I’m not even sure I’ll be watching next week. THUMBS DOWN.

Lance always disagrees with me,

The ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Lance is totally right... i thought Randy cut the promo of his life....and then an out of shape/non wrestler/non tough guy/owners son comes out and kicks the **** out of the 3 guys the WWE have been building for the last 3 months including the guy that they are booking in the main event of wrestlemania25, the BIGGEST wrestling event ever. FACT.

Jesus, i'm a fan of shane's... i'd love if he was involved in 'mania but this sort of self-glorificition doesn't add to his character, nor to the McMahon's, nor to Orton, nor to Wretlemania.... so what's the benifit to it???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

somebody wanna remind him its staged....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭a-hole

kane is still trying to get his statas back after his fude with shane

Hopefully tonight shane gets punted.

haha TOTALLY forgot it was Monday again already.. you sir, have made my day!:D

lol.

So did i, i was waking up after the superbowl and seen the thread and remembered too :pac:

Orton's beat down looked ridiculous alright. Unless of course...

He and legacy weren't fighting back on purpose letting Steph's guard down for what may transpire tonight should Shane take his generational self into the group. If not then it's just ridiculous what happened.

Do you reckon Shane and Orton will both be on Raw? I cant see whats gonna happen now.. will Shane whack him again? maybe Linda will punt Orton.

Yeah I was thinking that about Shane being 3rd generation.. That would be cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

somebody wanna remind him its staged....

I may have gone a bit OTT but thats the fact of it. Angles like this are just totally idiotic.

If what happened last week is what they actually want to happen then raw's title chase is dead.
    All credibility is gone.

But i have to say, wrestlemania being the one and only time where you would expect the writers to pull their fingers out and put together something good..
    They must be going somewhere.

They could have wanted to end raw with a contaversial WTF moment and guarantee that they will have the viewers they had last week trying to figure out wat happened.
    (that is, all except Lance Storm :pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I kinda felt all along Steph was in cohoots with Orton somehow but maybe its Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

JP Liz wrote: »
    I kinda felt all along Steph was in cohoots with Orton somehow but maybe its Shane

Why would it be Shane with Orton??..He beat up his Legacy and gave him a few "punches":rolleyes: to the face..Steph only gave him a slap..I still think Stephanie is working with him though..

Maybe its BOTH of them!!

Hmm.. I think Legacy could benefit from an enforcer type of character, I mean, they are this heel stable, Orton looks the part, even dibiase. For me though, cody rhodes doesnt quite cut the mustard. Too skinny or something, and hes still very bland characterwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

For me though, cody rhodes doesnt quite cut the mustard. Too skinny or something, and hes still very bland characterwise.

Indeed. I seen a side view of him standing next to Orton and he was half his size. He is getting ripped though, just not in girth. Hope he isnt tepted by the juice. He did improve in ring and on the mic though.

dancor wrote: »
    He did improve in ring and on the mic though.

oh, no question.. I think he has huge potential. Just at the moment his character is lacking the presence of his stable-mates.

dancor wrote: »
    Indeed. I seen a side view of him standing next to Orton and he was half his size. He is getting ripped though, just not in girth. Hope he isnt tepted by the juice. He did improve in ring and on the mic though.

I guarantee he will be very tempted. He can make up for it by improving his acting skills and he's made some improvement but i think he needs a lot more than some improvement to make it in any way big with the help of the writers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I can't believe people are giving out that Cody Rhodes is too small, you give out about the big man fetish that Vince has and when he is giving a smaller guy a push pretty much into the main event (Ok not on his own but he is basically in the main event) I think Cody looks more the part than Ted tbh. Ted just looks more chubby than ripped to me. I think Cody is one of the most under rated wrestlers in the WWE at the moment, everybody keeps putting him down. You can't compare him to Orton, Orton has been in the E for years had Flair and HHH to guide him at the start, Rhodes had ... Hardcore Holly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I was getting genuinely worried that Steph might fire Orton and then there would be no Wrestlemania. Could you imagine that? Edge of the seat stuff. Then when Shane came out, that was even more exciting than when Stephy threw Orton out of her office last week. Man, you just never know what will happen next on Raw.

Seriously, is this what we are being reduced to have to choose not watch? Absolute drivel. This whole PG stuff is really not for me.