Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scary housemate

• 26-01-2009 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I guess this is kind of half a Personal issue and half accommodation issue, Basicly I had a guy move in to my house renting a room two weeks ago. Interviewed him first, met him etc at first he seemed grand, sound. He told me he was in Collage and that’s why he was renting closer to where he was going which was fine. Unfortunatly since he has moved in I’ve seen a different side to him and to be perfectly honest he is a scary bloke. Every night since he has moved in he has been drinking at least 6 cans a night , he is OBSESSED with the Halloween movies, watchs one a night in the sitting room, he has the mask and boiler suite and everything and he sometimes walks around the house in it, (Trying to be in character) at first I thought it was funny but now it’s getting too much, this chap is 28, also turns out he’s not in collage or working so is home all the time.

I went out Saturday night with a few of the lads and my girlfriend was at home with him, one of my mates stayed back with her and he was there too, she called me at 1 to come home as he was at it again, in the suite, saying he had an 18 inch blade and sometimes he dreams of cutting people up in there sleep. I got back and tried to have a word with him but he was on Ecstasy or something and I couldn’t get a word out of him, didn’t see him yesterday.

So how do I go about this , He’s only there two weeks but I think he needs to go asap as I’m not comfortable around him and TBH I don’t know if I want to tell him he’s been kicked out, I’ve no idea what he would do.

Advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,576 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Have you tried reaching out to this guy, explaining to him that its not the done thing?

Assuming this is your property, he is a lodger, not a tenant and has fewer rights. He has right to reasonable notice to leave, not a fixed term of notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭jessbeth

I would agree with the OP. I would just tell him that you're not comfortable with his actions and what he says and that it would be better if he left. It sounds like he needs some serious counselling. If somebody told me that they fantasised about cutting someone up while they are sleeping I would be out the door in a flash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

He sounds like a complete moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Supra lover 87

Id talk to him tell him not to do it around the house.

If he dresses like michael myers with the suit mask and knife and takes Es id be very worryed you know in the movies he killed his family and any random person who got in his way.

When ya tell him to calm down lock your door from then on and have a baseball bat in the room im serious if hes taking pills he could think its real and at least if ya lock the door he has to break it down which gives ya time and ya have a chance then with the baseball.

If ya tell him to move out do it from a distance incase he goes for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭moonboy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

moonboy wrote: »

For **** sake...:eek: What a knob end...

OP, i asssume this is genuine. So I'll be very honest about it and tell him to **** off. He isn't in college, he isn't working, he's a tool. If it's your gaff, you can clear him out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Is it your house?

If so all you have to do is say 'Sorry man, my brother/sister/mate/girlfriend is moving in and we need the space. Sorry'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Wagon wrote: »
    For **** sake...:eek: What a knob end...

OP, i asssume this is genuine. So I'll be very honest about it and tell him to **** off. He isn't in college, he isn't working, he's a tool. Get the landlord involved.

Well I am the landlord, he's living in my house renting a room. I'm not in Drogheda but I know one of his mates lives there that he does be with and he drives an Audi a4 that could just be coninesdance though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Also if you think it could be this guy in Drogheda , ring your local garda and tell them about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭KikiDee

Hey OP,

If he's this guy in Drogheda or not, go to the gaurds. You shouldn't be feeling like this in your own home.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

OP, phone the guards now this minute.

Locking thread for legal reasons, waiting futher guidance.