Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fagan Half Marathon

• 25-01-2009 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Martin Fagan ran 61.06 to win a half marathon in Heuston this morning....some running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

linky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

wow. That's some running. If he ran that he may have ran a national record. I was just looking at the men's road records on AAI http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?page_id=112 and there are 2 times listed for John Tracey. One is slightly quicker than Fagan's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭limerickleader

That's a ferocious run by Fagan. Being based in Flagstaff looks to be really paying off...Any idea if he has a spring marathon lined up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Wow that is some running, I read an interview where he said this was his best distance.. guess he's right.

The national Marathon record could be possible for him at some stage going on this form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

That's a ferocious run by Fagan. Being based in Flagstaff looks to be really paying off...Any idea if he has a spring marathon lined up?

If my memory serves me right, he said in an interview that he was indeed looking towards a spring marathon. I think he said London may be a bit too 'hot' times-wise for the stage of development he's at, so may target Rotterdam or Boston.

Rineanna wrote: »
    If my memory serves me right, he said in an interview that he was indeed looking towards a spring marathon. I think he said London may be a bit too 'hot' times-wise for the stage of development he's at, so may target Rotterdam or Boston.

Thinks its Boston in April, bring it on!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Tingle, Given that WR's are not valid from Boston, is the same true of National Records?

<lightbulb moment> just realised that's probably why there are 2 national records listed on AAI, the boston one and the real one? Pity there are no listings for ultramarathons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

report up here:

http://www.statesman.com/sports/content/sports/stories/other/01/26/0126half.html

Course record. Classy stuff all round - definite NR potential - he seems to be a born winner. 10k in 28:49 including one 4:18 mile - that must hurt like hell.

Unusual dress-sense - what's going on with those sleeve things?

mrak wrote: »
    if the temperature was low 40's F (4-5C) the arm warmers would make sense. I find I overheat very quickly if my arm-pit is covered so I try to wear singlets as much as possible, the arm warmers could balance that with keeping arm muscles warm? Mind you, I'm not moving at anything like the pace of Fagan so who knows what his reasoning is.

Fagan is a bit of a charachter. You wouldn't be surprised what he might turn out in:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I can also understand the arm warmers if it was cold, I wear a long sleeved skins top as I hate my forearms being cold but I'm way to fashion conscience to wear the warmers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Fair play to Mairtin
    Ok it is a fast point to point race but he improved his Great North Run time of 1:02:20. And got $500 bonus for breaking the course record on top of the $1,500 for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Course record. Classy stuff all round - definite NR potential - he seems to be a born winner. 10k in 28:49 including one 4:18 mile - that must hurt like hell.

Another jaw dropping stat about that race is that he passed the 5 mile mark in 22:59. The Raheny 5 mile race was won in 24:13 yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Interview here on Flotrack with Fagan after his win in Austin.

He admits the run on the weekend was downhill, but says he wants to break the Irish Half Marathon record in Lisbon at end of March. Hints at targeting the Irish marathon record in Boston but chances are he'll be running Berlin instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

I think he'd be better off running the Dublin Marathon instead of Berlin. Last year Dublin offered 10000 time bonus for a sub 2.12 ( Irish ). There's also a prize of 1500 for first Irishman on top of any prizemoney in the open category. If he had ran 2.11.59 in Dublin last year he would have won 21500 euro.
    While I realise that he would get decent appearance money in Berlin, he could possibly get a better race in Dublin. He would also have an opportunity of lining up an Irish sponsor.
    Seperately, we have 5 Irish athletes running in the Hamburg Marathon who should all go under 2.20.

If he had ran 2.11.59 in Dublin last year he would have won 21500 euro.

Makes sense financially but if he runs Berlin he has an extra 5 weeks to recover before the Euro XC in Santry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I think he'd be better off running the Dublin Marathon instead of Berlin. Last year Dublin offered 10000 time bonus for a sub 2.12 ( Irish ). There's also a prize of 1500 for first Irishman on top of any prizemoney in the open category. If he had ran 2.11.59 in Dublin last year he would have won 21500 euro.
    While I realise that he would get decent appearance money in Berlin, he could possibly get a better race in Dublin. He would also have an opportunity of lining up an Irish sponsor.
    Seperately, we have 5 Irish athletes running in the Hamburg Marathon who should all go under 2.20.
    I don't think the focus is money, Looks like he's after a sub 2:10 . In berlin there will be a lot of people around that time , but in dublin he'd need to run that from the front.

I don't think he minds running from the front though ;) Berlin is a very fast course, if you're going to give it your all, then that's the place to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Who are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

I've heard of one guy who is aiming for 2.20 in Hamburg. No idea who the other four are. It's his first marathon so saying "should all go sub 2.20" could possibly be rephrased. I'd be stunned if 5 of them do it. Isn't Vinny Mulvey meant to be running London on the same day... an Irish running boom if 6 Irish runners were to manage that in the same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

cfitz wrote: »
    Who are they?

Three entered so far: Michael O'Connor, Brian MacMahon and Gary Thornton.
    Two more awaiting final details and both of them are sub 29 minute 10K athletes.

Clum wrote: »
    Makes sense financially but if he runs Berlin he has an extra 5 weeks to recover before the Euro XC in Santry.

Yeah, a nice pay day and win in the DCM or gold in Santry in front of 5-10,000 people packed into the Demense. I'd take the glory and chance to do a John Treacy a la Limerick. How nice to have Lebid and Farah in your wake, arms in the air and bringing it home!!

When people say Berlin, do people mean the Worlds?

Michael O'Connor,

I thought he said he was retiring after Dublin 08 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Tingle wrote: »
    Yeah, a nice pay day and win in the DCM or gold in Santry in front of 5-10,000 people packed into the Demense. I'd take the glory and chance to do a John Treacy a la Limerick. How nice to have Lebid and Farah in your wake, arms in the air and bringing it home!!

what does that mean????

Tingle wrote: »

He didn't specify that in the interview unfortunately.

According to the AAI International Information Booklet qualification standards for the World Championships in Berlin this August need to be achieved between 1/1/08 and 2/8/09. They specify 2.15 for the marathon which Fagan achived in Jan 08 in Dubai and Dubai marathon is included in the IAAF qualifying events.

So, if I'm not mistaken, Fagan can do Berlin in August rather than September, and then have loads of time to recover and go on to win the Euro Cross in December....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

baza1976 wrote: »
    what does that mean????

John Treacy won the World Cross-Country Championships in Limerick back in the day. I think he means that winning a big championship race on home soil would be better than cashing in on the Dublin marathon prize fund.

yeah spot on. It's a tough call. Personally I think he would have a better chance at winning the Dublin marathon than euro cross country. In my humble opinion the euro-x is more competitive.

On reflection if I were Fagan I would target the euro-x this year though. The Dublin marathon is held every year, it's not every year the euro champs are held on home soil. Either way it would be great for an Irish athlete to do well in either of these events to help lift the profile of athletics in this country.

I'm also really looking forward to seeing these debutant Irish marathon runners who hope to go sub 2.20. I've long thought we have plenty of athletes capable of running qualifying times for major champs. I think Fagan has helped to show these lads that marathon running might be a viable alternative for making major champs and may I even say, it is a good event for an outside bet to steal a medal.

Onwards and upwards either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Dr Watson

Clum wrote: »
    Interview here on Flotrack with Fagan after his win in Austin.

He admits the run on the weekend was downhill, but says he wants to break the Irish Half Marathon record in Lisbon at end of March. Hints at targeting the Irish marathon record in Boston but chances are he'll be running Berlin instead.

The drop is more than 5m/km ( a 100m drop) over the course!