Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tasty fox

• 25-01-2009 3:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭

There was a thread on here recently where people were discussing if anyone had ever eaten fox and what it tasted like.
    Well i was at a work related party on friday night and met a bunch of guys who regularly harvest and eat all sorts of road kill:eek:
    In fairness it makes sense to use this source of protein and as they pointed out we hang gamebirds whole, so whats the difference. Larger animals are hung and gutted as soon as they get them.
    They served chilli and rice on the night which was not bad and yes it was roadkill venison. (Most people were not told:)) Anyway being a shooter i have eaten most wild game over the years so was curious how fox, badger and hedgehog tasted, lovely apparently quiet strong and gamey with that liver taste you get from most wild game being the most common comparison.
    I may be getting an invite on one of their scavaging missions soon so watch this space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Just make sure the internal organs arent used[very harmful parasites] or they havent been damaged in anyway and leak into the meat on the predator type roadkil and you should be OK.Maybe get a vet to check the badger carcasses for thrichinois[SIC] as well.
    Otherwise Bon Appetit:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

And for desert we have ????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

And for desert we have ????????????

Mink and butter pudding...MMMMMMM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

i can just see myself jumping out of the car to scrape a dead hedgehog off the road.....................NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

never leave the house without the spade !;)

roadkill.jpg

Of course when it's that flat it cuts down on the cooking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

I must admit to picking up road kill Pheasants and if they are OK, as in only hit by a car, I'll have them for the pot.

Case in fact:
    Son and I were driving on a country road and came around a bend to see a pheasant on the other side of the road, a car was stopped in front of it to let it off. As we came on it took off across in front of us and got hit. Stopped the car jumped out and into the the boot with the bird, Much to the shock tof the onlookers in the other car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

clivej wrote: »
    I must admit to picking up road kill Pheasants and if they are OK, as in only hit by a car, I'll have them for the pot.

Case in fact:
    Son and I were driving on a country road and came around a bend to see a pheasant on the other side of the road, a car was stopped in front of it to let it off. As we came on it took off across in front of us and got hit. Stopped the car jumped out and into the the boot with the bird, Much to the shock tof the onlookers in the other car.
    I was told, not sure how true it is.
    That you aren't allowed to pick up (for the purpose of eating) an animal that you hit with your car, but its ok if somebody else hit it. Somethink to do with the section of the act that says it is illegal to hunt or disturb for the purpose of hunting with a vehicle.
    Anybody know it its true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Well i know your not allowed pick a dead deer, because if someone was caught poaching then they might use this very excuse-that they found it dead

Ha:roll eyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Mellor wrote: »
    I was told, not sure how true it is.
    That you aren't allowed to pick up (for the purpose of eating) an animal that you hit with your car, but its ok if somebody else hit it. Somethink to do with the section of the act that says it is illegal to hunt or disturb for the purpose of hunting with a vehicle.
    Anybody know it its true

Then in that case I don't do it, I would never dream of doing it, and it didn't happen to me officer. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Reminds me of an occassion a few years ago. I was on the phone
    ( handsfree ) with a friend when a car in front of me clipped a hare just outside the gates of the Intel factory in Leixlip. I told him I was going to stop and pick it up. The eejit nearly puked his guts up. He lives on burgers and nuggets you see, he wouldn't recognise a fine bit of meat when a stag butted him in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

So if you fancy a bit of the ould drive through venison you would really need a mate with another vehicle and take it in turns to drive in front:)
    Im not thinking about it honestly.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Chuileog wrote: »
    So if you fancy a bit of the ould drive through venison you would really need a mate with another vehicle and take it in turns to drive in front:)
    Im not thinking about it honestly.

Well, unless you're considering some sort of Mad Max-style land trawler you probably wouldn't get very many deer before your car was destroyed.

I grew up near the Phoenix Park and saw several cars very badly damaged due to contact with deer. Any time I saw a deer carcass, the car looked like a write-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Was quite common on the Continent.They used old 4WDs [the proper old style yokes ,not these eco girlie SUVs]equipped with massive bull bars and search light bars.Blind and ram.worked very well.
    On this point of not picking up game you hit.As deer are masterless animals,how do you prove ownership or poaching on a public road??Unless it escaped from a enclosure,in which case you would have a case against the deer farmer/owner for wandering animals.But in open country???

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Like this. Had a couple of close ones myself heading down Kerry early in the morning to work a couple of years ago.

Best thing I found was to slow down, dip lights & sound horn, they scarper then.

Warning: Website depicts images of crashed cars & dead deer.

I didn't pick it up officer my passenger did! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Was quite common on the Continent.They used old 4WDs [the proper old style yokes ,not these eco girlie SUVs]equipped with massive bull bars and search light bars.Blind and ram.worked very well.
    On this point of not picking up game you hit.As deer are masterless animals,how do you prove ownership or poaching on a public road??Unless it escaped from a enclosure,in which case you would have a case against the deer farmer/owner for wandering animals.But in open country???

You're spot on Grizzly...nobody owns wild live animals untill it's appropriated that is. In case of deer for example that is until a hunter shoots it and the carcass becomes his/her property. If the hunter doesn't bother looking for the carcass or clearly is not interested in collecting ( for example : leaves it lying where it fell overnight without gutting ) it becomes ownerless again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Neo Researcher

I have been boiling fox jaws so as to remove their teeth for aging. I didnt taste any of them but as for the smell if I had to group it with any commonly eaten meats I would put it with pork. I suppose it might be something to do with foxes and pigs both being omnivourous. A few people in the lab commented on how it smelt like normal food when they came in but after doing over 100 of them lets just say I wont be looking to eat spare ribs anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Reminds me of an occassion a few years ago. I was on the phone
    ( handsfree ) with a friend when a car in front of me clipped a hare just outside the gates of the Intel factory in Leixlip. I told him I was going to stop and pick it up. The eejit nearly puked his guts up. He lives on burgers and nuggets you see, he wouldn't recognise a fine bit of meat when a stag butted him in the arse.

The sheer amount of the feckers in there, I was tempted to try for permission ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Callow Man

kowloon wrote: »
    The sheer amount of the feckers in there, I was tempted to try for permission ;).

And not just hares but rabbit's and the odd fox also. I think they know it's a gun free zone.:D

Given the title of the thread, I can't believe that some self righteous "oh moi gawd" boardsie hasn't been in shouting their mouths off! :D