Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question, need advice

• 22-01-2009 9:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭

I'm 22 and my fiance is a freelance journalist and editor. To make things run more smoothly we recently set ourselves up as a company, I do the accounts, am listed as a company director and also write and help out with editorial projects. I really just help out peripherally as I'm still in college. Will I need to extract myself fully from this if I get accepted? We're only a two person company, we don't cover news or crime reporting or anything like that. But I know that Gardai are not allowed be members of political party so just wondering if business interests, particularly in the media, is off limits too.

Thanks guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

*Moved to main ES page for more coverage*

I couldnt be sure but I would imagine you would have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I've a feeling Guards can't be company directors. Don't know why though.Someone here might look it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

deadwood wrote: »
    I've a feeling Guards can't be company directors. Don't know why though.Someone here might look it up.

think ur right on that one deadwood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

Unfortunately I think you're all right. Which is a pain. Thanks y'all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

you would need a friend to look at the Garda Code and tell you whether it is a "prohibited spare time activity" or not, I am on tomorrow night and will check if I think of it ...

vasch_ro wrote: »
    you would need a friend to look at the Garda Code and tell you whether it is a "prohibited spare time activity" or not, I am on tomorrow night and will check if I think of it ...
    As you would expect, I know the whole code by heart, but you'd gain the benefit by looking it up for yourself!:rolleyes:

I don't have a huge level of involvement, I just help out a teeny bit and by law you need to have two directors. But it may be looked at as 'outside interests' or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

i-digress wrote: »
    I don't have a huge level of involvement, I just help out a teeny bit and by law you need to have two directors. But it may be looked at as 'outside interests' or something.

Have a look to see if you can register it as a business interest. Speak to your fed rep. He/She may be able to advise.

I amn't a member yet though, but I didn't know you could register business interests. It shouldn't hinder my application though right? The worst that can happen is they'll tell me to pass on the position and disassociate myself with the company?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

The worst that can happen is they'll tell me to pass on the position and disassociate myself with the company?

That could be the worst case scenario. In the Met if you had a second income you should register it as a business interest for tax reasons. Failure to do so & getting caught might cause you a spot of bother with the Revenue and possible prosecution. I would say it is the same here but open to correction.

I think directorship was not allowed either in The Met, however, I never went down that road so I never enquired.

It would also effect where you'd be stationed.

deadwood wrote: »
    It would also effect where you'd be stationed.

Really? But the business is tiny? It literally was set up for the sole reason of regularising my fiance's career. It operates from our home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Gardai cant have personal business interests regardless of the sector its in.

(their wives can though ;))

Eru wrote: »
    Gardai cant have personal business interests regardless of the sector its in.

(their wives can though ;))

And their husbands ;)

My bad, the people I was thinking off are both male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Dubbhoy

I got a fine in the post for falling to display a current vehicle licence. But I don't drive and am not sure what to do, as I want to join ASC. Is this a Criminal record for me ? would love some feedback

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Dubbhoy wrote: »
    I got a fine in the post for falling to display a current vehicle licence. But I don't drive and am not sure what to do, as I want to join ASC. Is this a Criminal record for me ? would love some feedback

Have you been fined for no tax displayed?

You don't drive.....do you own a car?

Can you clarify :confused:

Excuse my ignorance but whats ASC?

As per Clara, more info please. Did you ever have a car? recently sell it, etc? Or allow someone to drive your car? Tickets for tax should have a date of the offence on them. Can you recall that date?

Sorry lads new to this boards also. I don't own a Car never did, It was sent on friday. I was suppose to be in the Dublin 1 area driving and I was on the south side of the city at the time of the incident at a play. :confused: I rang the office today and they said just sent it back but the civilian was not much help at all :confused:

Ment to be AGS:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Sorry lads new to this boards also. I don't own a Car never did, It was sent on friday. I was suppose to be in the Dublin 1 area driving and I was on the south side of the city at the time of the incident at a play. :confused: I rang the office today and they said just sent it back but the civilian was not much help at all :confused:

Ment to be AGS:confused:

Just send it back to them with a note telling them they have the wrong person. Nothing to be worrying about. Heck, I received an e-mail from the e-trip services company outlining my monthly invoice for toll&parking but it's for someone driving around Dublin and DunLaoghaire :pac: and Man do they spend some time travelling in their car :D I just sent an e-mail back outlining they appear to have sent it to me in error and they replied with an apology. It happens, but unless you let them know they have the wrong person, the person who is supposed to recieve it, won't!

Off the top of my head I would say your name has been given as the driver of the car at the time so check the car reg and see do you know the owner.

Apart from that, simple write back saying you dont own the vehicle and have never driven it and do not believe it was you. The office will sort it out from there (IE send it back to the checky chappy thats naminig you)

Thanks Will keep people posted :)